We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst food I have been served in many many years!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lakeside Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Virginia
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The worst food I have been served in many many years!!!!!!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We paid a visit to this hotel this sat for evening meal with our young family. Firstly the atmosphere was appalling and when I asked for a wine list 3 miniature bottles of wine were placed on the counter in front of me. We ordered meals for a total of 7 and I have to say it has to be the worst food ever served to us as family. All the burgers and burger buns were burnt to a crisp. The lasagne and garlic bread was burned so badly the lasagne was rock hard from the excessive microwaving ! We sent some back , and the burnt burger was returned in a new bun. I would honestly never eat there again and was bitterly disappointed that this hotel has gone down so badly !!!! BE WARNED !!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    152
    72
    47
    64
See reviews for
86
301
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
county down ni
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My Husband and I stayed at the hotel end of June 2014 we also took our 7 year old grandson and we were really impressed as we turn into the property and were hit with the spectacular views of the Lake and surrounding area. Lake Ramor has a small harbour and its the most relaxing place to ponder nature and its splendour. The Hotel is a bit oldie worldly but to me that was part of its charm it was there 25th anniversary and they had a barbeque for past and present staff and patrons inviting all the guests at the hotel to the festivities, i was worried that my grandson would be bored but I need not have stressed myself as he had a ball and wants to go back for a week next time. We loved the breakfasts and they were served from an upstairs room maximising the view over the lake, thanks to Meabh Barry and all the staff we had a really great weekend, and it is worth paying for a lake view as its what makes this Hotel one not to be missed.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Lakeview .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goddessCountyDownNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights from 18th June. We up graded to a lake view once we saw the lake, and would recommend you do this when booking. We read all the reviews re dark furniture etc does it really matter as long as its a good place to stay. Anna May who booked us in also ran the bar and is a real asset to the hotel. Our room 221 was beautifully clean and had everything you needed including an iron and ironing board. The breakfast was superb. Meals in the bar at night are also fantastic and the well recommended fillet of beef on a hot stone was delicious. Meabh was very helpful towards us. We have no hesitation in recommending this well positioned quaint hotel with great food and staff.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deedaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

four of us just back from a fabulous weekend at the lakeside manor hotel. we had a warm greeting as soon as we arrived, Meabh and her husband are an amazing couple they never stop running around. the rooms were very spacious and clean, beautiful old furniture in them and well the bed was real comfy too plus we had a lough view too . food was fabulous and plenty of it. also got two free bottle of wines with our deal....great entertainment on that weekend and a party on the saturday night too, a very busy night but nothing phased the staff, they also put on a bbq of sausages and chicken later that evening for their guests not many hotels do this but they really do go out of their way to ensure their guest have a great time....we will definitely be back and hope to get a lough view from the second floor this time so we can see the wonderful sunsets, the views are amazing and the weather was gorgeous so we were able to sit outside and enjoy our drinks. thanks for making our weekend a good one.

Room Tip: one can upgrade to a lough view room it cost us 10 euro for each night on the first floor there were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here last weekend, weather lovely on Friday evening looking over the lake. Food quite nice no special offers on food, but the hotel only cost us 79 euro for 2 nights b& b for 2 including a bottle of Santa Rita wine (on deals), which is hard to beat.
Hotel old fashioned but room was nice and clean. The receptionist was also the barman most of the time. But would go back because of the value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fifidIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just back form a very relaxing break in County Cavan. Meabh made us very welcome despite the adversity she had found herself in. The hotel had been hit by a huge thunder storm.
Food is first class. The only "complaint" I have is they give you too much! The fillet steak on a stone is highly recomended. E20 is great value.

Room Tip: Use the main route to this hotel as the regional roads in County Cavan are not great. Request a lake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat9361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The location of this hotel doesn't get much better . Stunning views over the lake. The Bar is nice and the staff are all very friendly. We had lunch and it wasn't the may west. Who serves tinned mushy peas with turkey and ham? Shame because the turkey and ham was lovely but mushy peas!However the evening food is way better ,the gourmet burger is amazing. I think their heart is in the right place but just needs some major TLC. The coffee was just water !again not rocket science. I have to say the owner and staff were so nice you kind of cut them some slack but little things mean a lot . if they sorted out the small things tis place would be great. Oh and I love the music playing and no tvs on thats a major plus. I wish these Guys the best because they are so nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dublin6011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia
9.8 mi away
Crover House Hotel & Golf Club
13.1 mi away
Cabra Castle Hotel
Cabra Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kingscourt
1,306 reviews
16.3 mi away
Cavan Crystal Hotel
Cavan Crystal Hotel
#2 of 4 in Cavan
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Farnham Estate Spa and Golf Resort
9.7 mi away
Headfort Arms Hotel
Headfort Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kells
618 reviews
17.1 mi away
Errigal Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Manor Hotel

Property: Lakeside Manor Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Virginia, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Cavan > Virginia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Virginia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lakeside Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lakeside Manor Hotel is beautifully located on the shores of Lough Ramor, on the outskirts of Virginia. Only 30 minutes from Dublin along the new M3 the Lakeside Manor is one of the most convenient locations in the North Eastern Region. The panoramic views of Lough Ramor, makes The Lakeside Manor an excellent retreat from the strains and stresses of everyday life. All rooms are fully equipped and furnished to an excellent standard, and this attention to detail has been carried on throughout the rest of the hotel.This busy family run hotel is suitable for weddings and all types of functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Lakeside Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing