We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Weekend”
Review of Lorum Old Rectory

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilgreaney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lorum Old Rectory
Ranked #1 of 1 Kilgreaney B&B and Inns
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Idyllic Weekend”
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Spent an idyllic weekend at this beautiful residence where we enjoyed two peaceful nights sleep in sumptuous beds. Dinner was superb, as were the cooked breakfasts and we were well looked after by our genial host, nothing was too much trouble for Bobbie. We were attending a wedding in nearby Borris House (4 miles from Lorum). We had an absolutely superb weekend.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longisland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A Hillside In Wales
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

It's about three years since my previous review so I'm just confirming that everything is every bit as good now as it was then.

Bobbie is an excellent host who keeps her lovely, historic property spotlessly clean and her garden is a delight on warm days.

Breakfasts are delicious, leisurely and very substantial and the evening meal (which has to be booked in advance) excellent with lots of interesting things appearing on the table or between courses and the cheese board is phenominal with a great selection of Irish cheeses.

Personally, I can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank groeslongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Normally when writing reviews on this site, the purpose is to share experiences with fellow travellers. However, I am somewhat reluctant to write a review of this Guesthouse as it is one of those places that deserves to be discovered by a select few. It is one of those hidden gems that I would like to remain hidden so that it always has availablility when I want to revisit.

The house is a former rectory house and run by a very friendly and informative owner, Mrs Bobby who appears to thrive on entertaining. After a stroll to the top of nearby Mount Leinster (only completed by some of our group), Mrs Bobby had afternoon tea laid on in the drawing room with a blazing fire and delicious homemade treats.

Mrs Bobby is a great cook and served a fantastic seven course dinner in a large dining room where all guests share the dinner table.

Even though it is a former Church of Ireland Rectory House, our group consisted of members of various religous backgrounds (and none) and we were all treated to great hospitality so religious presuasion is not an issue here.

I would strongly recommend a stay at this hotel. However, given the intimate nature of the house and the fact that all diners dine together, I suggest booking the entire house for a group getaway instead of booking individual rooms for a romantic stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasheenOgRua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bamako
Level Contributor
80 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2011

This is one of the 'Hidden Ireland' locations, a small establishment (4 or 5 rooms) that is ideal for a quiet few nights away. Other guests have already pointed out all the wonderful features and all I can do is agree. Rooms are spacious, quiet, and a good night's sleep. The food is excellent, and we also had the dining room to ourselves with the candles and the warm glow of the fire. An excellent and welcoming host with whom you can settle in for a chat if you wish, but not in the least intrusive. I warmly recommend it and hope that other guests enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

What a wonderful place! Solid and comfortable; peaceful but not in the middle of nowhere; and with a host who immediately makes you feel at home. She cooks like an angel as well - the only problem is that you want to eat too much... Sadly we were only staying one night, and relaxing with books in front of the sitting room fire the next morning we were extremely reluctant to leave for Dublin airport (less than two hours' drive). Definitely a top B&B.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2010

The property owner, Bobbie Smith greeted us when we pulled into the drive. The house is beautiful and comfortable. Our room was large and nicely decorated. We chose to go running one evening and Bobbie had some reflective vests that she laid out for us to use. The full and continental breakfast was good, and the cookies she made to go with afternoon/evening tea were really good. This property is truely a hidden gem and we feel anyone would love her hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drgrasshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 8 November 2009

We've just returned from a weekend break in The Old Rectory, and I have to say that it was a very relaxing experience, and was just what my husband needed to recharge his batteries.

When we arrived we were greeted by the owner Bobbie Smith. We were shown to an amazing room with a fabulous four poster bed and garden views. After settling in we were offered tea with homemade carrot cake in the drawing room, where we sat and browsed some of the many books available detailing the history of the local area, while warming ourselves by a roaring open fire.

Dinner is served in the dining room with the other guests, which was a great experience. We met our fellow diners beforehand in the drawing room, where we chose our wine and had a pre-dinner drink. The food was amazing, and there was plenty of it.

After a drive around the picturesque countryside and a walk in the nearby Altamount gardens, we had a leisurely lunch by the fire at O'Shea's pub in the nearby village of Borris. Then back to the Rectory to relax again by the fire, and enjoy more tea and homemade cakes!

It was like a home away from home, and we will definitely be back again. Thank you for a fantastic weekend Bobbie!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilgreaney
0.0 mi away
Lyrath Estate Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Roundwood House
Roundwood House
#1 of 1 in Mountrath
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilgraney Country House
Kilgraney Country House
#2 of 3 in Bagenalstown
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices

Been to Lorum Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorum Old Rectory

Property: Lorum Old Rectory
Address: Kilgreaney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Kilgreaney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kilgreaney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing