We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Irish hospitality in one of Ireland's best B&Bs”
Review of Lorum Old Rectory

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilgreaney
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lorum Old Rectory
Ranked #1 of 1 Kilgreaney B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed at Lorum for a night while attending a wedding locally in June 2012.

Bobbie the owner is not only a great cook but a real traditional Irish hostess who went out of her way to make us feel welcome (including driving us to the wedding reception!). We rarely stay in guesthouses in Ireland these days because of the number and choice of hotels around the country but this place far surpasses any recent hotel stay. Sleeping soundly in a 16th century four-poster bed in a room with double aspect views and chocolates on your pillow is a real treat you don’t get in any hotel. Breakfast is a feast too where you can sit together with some of the other guests (7 rooms in total) at a massive old dinning table in a beautiful dining room. Lots of things to see and do locally and only a short hop from Dublin. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for the master bedroom with four poster bed in order to step back in time!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portofella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Lorum Old Rectory
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

As a previous reviewer noted- perhaps this place really should be kept an exclusive secret!
Bobbie makes you feel more like you are a treasured good friend who has come to visit rather than a paying guest. In the evening she settles you down in the sitting room with a drink while she prepares dinner - served in an impressive dining room with fire lit and silver shining.
The breakfasts were also wonderful - loved that you could see the raspberries you were eating growing in the garden - can't get fresher than that!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rabaulmeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Now don’t get me wrong, we had the best time of our lives on this Ireland vacation and the rest of the Bed and Breakfast(s) that we stayed at were wonderful and we made new found friends but after staying at the Lorum Old Rectory at the tail end of our vacation, we could have stayed there the whole time if distance was not an issue. I cannot even begin to describe the wonderful experience that we had with staying at this lovely classic countryside English estate home hosted by our new found friend, Bobby (Hostess). Bobby felt more like family (in a good family) than a proprietor. Her gentle smile and soft spoken voice made you feel right at home. The process of reservation making was followed by kind e-mails to make sure that we had great suggestions for site seeing. We followed our GPS to this lovely home (or Bobby will give you directions). It was built by the Church of Ireland with large windows to look out onto the peaceful landscape. When we knocked on the front door, Bobby gave us a warm greeting and showed us to our large bedroom upstairs (more like an owner’s suite) where we found heated towel racks and four poster beds. We stayed in the “blue room” as I would describe it as it had a large four poster bed draped in blue fabric. A large chocolate bar would to be found on each of our pillows when she turned down our bed. I felt like royalty when turning off the lights over our bed when I pulled on the tassel hanging down. She then showed us to the two large drawing rooms filled with treasured antiques and the best homemade Almond cookies and a selection of teas were served on beautiful plates beside the peat fire. After asking about places to eat, she then directed us to this foodie’s paradise (Step House) which was located in the cute town of Borris which is located 3 miles down the road. The menu is inspired by the trained chef in the kitchen. Local ingredients make up the goat cheese salad and other items on the menu. Even though there may have been one other person staying, the feast the next morning was fit for a king with the largest selection of fresh fruits and “just out of the oven” breads along with a large selection of hot dishes. The next day was filled with site seeing the Dunbrody Famine Ship and Hook Head Lighthouse (The oldest working lighthouse in the world). On our last morning, Bobby unknowingly gave us a going away present by suggesting a tour of Altamont Gardens which we considered our favorite gardens that we have ever walked through. Our last memory of the stay was Bobby waving from the front door with well wishes for our safe return. Please take it from us; this is the best Bed and Breakfast in all of Ireland. Take a moment from your vacation and just relax and breathe in the fresh country air and stay at this lovely home hosted by our new found friend.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the four poster bed draped in blue fablic at the front of the house.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BRSIMPSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Spent an idyllic weekend at this beautiful residence where we enjoyed two peaceful nights sleep in sumptuous beds. Dinner was superb, as were the cooked breakfasts and we were well looked after by our genial host, nothing was too much trouble for Bobbie. We were attending a wedding in nearby Borris House (4 miles from Lorum). We had an absolutely superb weekend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longisland2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

It's about three years since my previous review so I'm just confirming that everything is every bit as good now as it was then.

Bobbie is an excellent host who keeps her lovely, historic property spotlessly clean and her garden is a delight on warm days.

Breakfasts are delicious, leisurely and very substantial and the evening meal (which has to be booked in advance) excellent with lots of interesting things appearing on the table or between courses and the cheese board is phenominal with a great selection of Irish cheeses.

Personally, I can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank groeslongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Normally when writing reviews on this site, the purpose is to share experiences with fellow travellers. However, I am somewhat reluctant to write a review of this Guesthouse as it is one of those places that deserves to be discovered by a select few. It is one of those hidden gems that I would like to remain hidden so that it always has availablility when I want to revisit.

The house is a former rectory house and run by a very friendly and informative owner, Mrs Bobby who appears to thrive on entertaining. After a stroll to the top of nearby Mount Leinster (only completed by some of our group), Mrs Bobby had afternoon tea laid on in the drawing room with a blazing fire and delicious homemade treats.

Mrs Bobby is a great cook and served a fantastic seven course dinner in a large dining room where all guests share the dinner table.

Even though it is a former Church of Ireland Rectory House, our group consisted of members of various religous backgrounds (and none) and we were all treated to great hospitality so religious presuasion is not an issue here.

I would strongly recommend a stay at this hotel. However, given the intimate nature of the house and the fact that all diners dine together, I suggest booking the entire house for a group getaway instead of booking individual rooms for a romantic stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasheenOgRua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

This is one of the 'Hidden Ireland' locations, a small establishment (4 or 5 rooms) that is ideal for a quiet few nights away. Other guests have already pointed out all the wonderful features and all I can do is agree. Rooms are spacious, quiet, and a good night's sleep. The food is excellent, and we also had the dining room to ourselves with the candles and the warm glow of the fire. An excellent and welcoming host with whom you can settle in for a chat if you wish, but not in the least intrusive. I warmly recommend it and hope that other guests enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeliya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Lorum Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorum Old Rectory

Address: Kilgreaney, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Kilgreaney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kilgreaney
Price Range: £70 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing