We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply, the best!”
Review of Fergus View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Corofin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Fergus View
Ranked #1 of 5 Corofin B&B and Inns
Corofin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply, the best!”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

When I arrived, Mary was out in her beautiful garden among the towering sunflowers, pruning back marigolds among bunches of lavender, rosemary and all kinds of late summer flowers and herbs. The hothouse was full of thriving, fruiting cherry tomato plants which you'll find on your 5 star, world class breakfast in the morning! The breakfast menu is just marvelous - some of the offerings are: homemade yogurt and muesli, fresh squeezed juice, fruit salad, home baked scones and bread, porridge, crepes, Irish breakfast,with plates often garnished with a sprig of herb or a dash of chive. And of course, piping hot tea and french press coffee.
My single room was impeccably clean and fresh, pleasant and comfortable. Great shower - hot water on demand. A wonderful location for exploring the western Burren, loaded with excellent trails and hikes.
Best to have a car to get around as it is a bit remote but that is a great part of the charm, being out in the country. Oh and it's right across the road from the old Kilnaboy church ruin.
Fabulous value!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfreeland2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
33
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Mary and Declan are great hosts who genuinely make you feel very welcome. The accommodation is great as are the breakfasts. We would highly recommend Fergus View to anyone wishing to stay in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We spent a few days in KiIlnaboy at the Fergus View with Mary and Declan Kelleher. They are both gracious hosts and wonderful people who helped make our visit to the area a remarkable one. I was tracing back some family history and memories having spent the summer in Glanquin (Glanquin House) with my family in 1976. The Kellehers made us feel both welcome and special in so many ways. We enjoyed the accomodations, the wonderful food and the exceptional care bestowed upon us. This is a great spot when touring the area. Thanks Declan for the maps, suggestions and all the help in assiting me to revisit my Irish roots. The two of you are wonderful. The location and the views from your place are remarkable. Best wishes for continued success.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forbsie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Fergus View epitomizes the best in Irish B&B's and has perhaps the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on! From the fresh flowers and apples in the room to the crisply ironed bed and table linens, to the wild flower garnish on delicious homemade breakfast crepes, Mary and Declan make their home your home for the duration of your visit. Mary greeted us with tea and cake and then gave us a map and walking sticks to hike the nearby rugged beauty of the Burrens that afternoon. Since the Cliffs of Moher were fogged in during our brief stay, we will happily return to this B&B to have another go at seeing them and staying at Fergus View.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
842 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 678 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This was a very nice Bed & Breakfast and a great base to see The Burren and surrounds. Mary greeted us with coffee/tea and had a long chat with us about what to see and do. She also provided a map with pointers for sightseeing, walks and points of interest that she marked on it, including recommendations for meals and even a laundrette.
The room was great - very pretty and a reasonable (but not huge) size. The bathroom was a little on the small size, but functional. The shower was a little small too, but also functional, and we had no difficulty with water pressure or temperature. Short of knocking down walls, you make the best of the space you have. Ours might best be described as the green double room. The bed was comfy and we slept well. Negotiating the stairs and the corridor with luggage was a little tight but not a detraction to the overall B&B. There was no TV - perhaps a blessing! - but fast Wi-Fi in the sitting room, which had a lovely ambiance at night, especially with the fire stoked by the always smiling Declan.
There's plenty of car parking, and the gardens and the view from our room were really lovely.
What lifts this B&B to excellent status, though, is Mary's breakfast. It is outstanding. There's a menu with choices and an ability to do a little swapping and mix and match. Presentation is exceptional, with edible garnish such as chive flowers on the hot food. The freshly squeezed pink grapefruit juice, the home-made yoghurt, the pin-head porridge (according to my wife) ... just gorgeous. Mary is an exceptional cook and justly proud of what she presents to her guests.
Mary and Declan were terrific hosts and we greatly enjoyed our time at Fergus View. Strongly recommended for a nice, clean, tidy, comfortable B&B with exceptional breakfasts.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seagullrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Mary Kelleher proved to be a lovely hostess during our three nights at Fergus View this past May. She welcomed us like friends or relatives and continued to treat us this way during our stay. We were greeted with tea made from her garden-fresh herbs and homemade cake, along with excellent advice on how to get the most of our stay, where to have dinner, even some of the best places to book outings for the subsequent stops on our trip. This degree of personal attention was unique among the five B&B's at which we stayed during our trip. A lovely, elegant sitting room was available to us during our stay, and when we arrived home each evening after dinner, Mary or her husband, Declan, made sure the fire was going in the fireplace. She was always interested in where we had been and how we enjoyed the attractions.

The house is beautiful, and I regret that we were on the go so much that I never really sat down to relax in the lovely enclosed porch overlooking the Kelleher's gardens. We stayed on the third floor in a room with one double and two twin beds, a drop-dead beautiful view of the surrounding countryside, and a very comfortable bathroom. It was very clean, very nicely decorated in pastels, and let in a lot of light. The breakfasts were every bit as delightful as people have described, with choices such as porridge which had been precooked the night before and left to absorb the liquids, homemade yoghurt, bread, cookies and jams. Eggs were free range, cheeses were local, and meats came from the best butcher Mary could find.

While here, we enjoyed the truly rural setting, just a mile from the Burren, visited the Burren Perfumery, the Burren Center, took a terrific guided walk with a guide named Tony Kirby of Heart of Burren Walks, and visited Dysert O'Dea, a medieval castle and grounds.

With its warmth, character and beautiful furnishings, along with the Kelleher's hospitality, this B&B is a destination in itself and would be great for famiies, friends, single travelers and couples.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hudsonval2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We had just an overnight here before departing from Shannon the next day to come home, but Mary and Declan were so wonderful we wished we could have stayed longer. Our room was tidy and the beds comfortable, and the breakfast was quite good. Of all the B&B's we stayed in during our trip, this was the only one where there was no TV in the room -- WHICH we liked! Made it seem homier, less "plugged in" and less "hotel-ish." Yes our bathroom shower was a bit small -- my husband is 6 foot 2 -- but who cares? It was more than adequate and the towels were plush. A great value for the dollar, or should I say euro?!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katmiles55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corofin
8.2 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
13.6 mi away
Aran View Country House
10.1 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
13.3 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
11.4 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fergus View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fergus View

Property: Fergus View
Address: Kilnaboy, Corofin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Corofin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Corofin
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing