We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good home, great view, comprehensive breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Corofin Country House
Ranked #2 of 5 Corofin B&B and Inns
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good home, great view, comprehensive breakfast.”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed here for one night, and it was a good stay. The home is surrounded by pasture with excellent views of the town of Corofin. It's on a quiet street, well within a 5- 10 minute walk across a single stone bridge to the town.
The house itself is clean, welcome and inviting. The room has an "instant water heater" which may be confusing to Americans to operate (and maintain the hot water), but the bathrooms are open and well stocked. The stairwell up is steep, but adds a lovely flavor to the house and entryway. There are many books and maps on the area spread out around the house. Mary, the owner, was very helpful and even got us through the crowds at the pub later in the night.

While the mattresses appear older and "bouncy", it is a good place for a quiet nights rest after a visit to the town of Corofin.

Breakfast was a traditional irish breakfast with *lots* of extra choices, and Mary was congenial and flexible on breakfast times and foods.

An excellent place to spend a night, highly recommended if you are in Corofin.

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs rooms for a great view of the pastures and towns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mildmanneredreporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
10
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Comfortable, carefully decorated room. Not right in the town so peaceful and quiet. Close enough to walk to pubs for dinner. Very friendly hosts and lovely breakfasts.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzTrippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Our room was clean and spacious with a view of horses in the field. It was the best location for visiting the Burren, Gort, and many castles. Our breakfasts were great and we had dinner in Corofin. The owners were very friendly and the rates very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CelticNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

Beautiful location with accommodations to match. I found this bread and breakfast more than adequate in size. The rooms were spacious with nice baths and showers. This is what you look for in an Irish bed and breakfast. No unwelcome surprises here. And by the way, the Irish breakfast was fresh and delicious.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sully1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2011

I stayed at Mary Shannon's B&B. Large room, plenty of hot water any time of day and an excellent breakfast. It is within walking distance of the town. It is situated well off the road and there isn't any noise. It is a very nice and quiet house. They are kind and helpful. Corofin has a great music session.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SailingJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsfield, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

I really object to B&B's that claim to be smoke free and once you get settled in the stench starts to permeate your room. At first we were not quite sure, couldn't be cigarette smoke but it was! We ended the night placing pillows at the door cracks to keep the smell out. We left early without even bothering to have breakfast.
I found the room to be somewhat unclean. The bathroom sink held a used piece of soap and I thought perhaps someone had been preparing for a colonoscopy when I found the prep sitting on the sink. What? Had the bathroom been cleaned? Not sure.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank anniebee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

One of the best B&Bs I stayed in. Quiet but close to the village (walking distance to pubs and restaurants), spacious rooms, clean and comfortable, good breakfast, owners friendly to humans and dogs. Will surely return when working in the area again.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroadagain11-51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corofin
7.5 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,536 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
404 reviews
9.7 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Lahinch Golf & Leisure Hotel
11.5 mi away
Vaughan Lodge
Vaughan Lodge
#1 of 5 in Lahinch
347 reviews
10.8 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corofin Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corofin Country House

Property: Corofin Country House
Address: Corofin Country House Station Road, Corofin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Corofin
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Corofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing