We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Mary.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Corofin Country House
Ranked #2 of 5 Corofin B&B and Inns
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Thank you Mary.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed for a few weeks when working in the area and was always well looked after and very well fed. My room was spotlessly clean, warm, nicely furnished and had all the facilities I could possibly want. There was a nice en-suite bathroom with an excellent shower and endless hot water. Tv, wifi and tea/coffee making facilities were appreciated after a long day.
It is nice to stay in a well appointed B&B, but what really makes the difference is when your hosts take an interest in their guests well being and comfort and Mary and James were always attentive and willing to help in any way possible.
Breakfasts were always fantastic and were perfect for setting me up for the day ahead.
I work away from home a lot and have stayed in many places at this price (or more expensive) and few come anywhere near to the quality and service you get here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    4
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
10
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed here 4 nights. Family research holiday with local sightseeing trips. Mary and Jim were wonderful hosts and were able to point us in the right direction for contacts re. research. Their hospitable service and general helpfulness was much appreciated. Originally we had no hire car but quickly realised that the bus service to Ennis and back to Corofin was daily. Transport is a must in this part of Ireland. We intend to return to Co. Clare and would hope to stay with Jim and Mary again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afreemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton,NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

If you are on your way to Doolin, the Cliffs of Moher, Lahinch, the Burren, Spanish Point, Miltown Malby, then, by all means, stay with Mary and James Shannon! Their home is about a mile outside of Corofin and about fifteen minutes from Ennis. It is also about 25 minutes from the Shannon Airport so you could stay in Corofin on your first day or your last day in Ireland. The rooms are just plain lovely, clean, spacious, well decorated. The breakfast room is just a perfect sun room. Here is where it gets really good: location and people. Location: you will be a short drive to Lahinch, Liscannor, St. Bridget's Holy Well, Doolin, Lisdoonvarna, Ennis, Spanish Point, Poulnabrone Dolman, the Burren, the round tower and church grave yard near Gort, many, many ruins, and the wonderful visitor's interpretive center in Kilfenora. I have been to Ireland many times, and for me, every one of the places I have mentioned is a "must see". The coast road from Doolin to Balleyvaughan is not to be missed no matter what the weather is. Always take the coast road and the back roads. Maybe most important of all is your time with James and Mary Shannon. There is a real good chance that they will invite you into the kitchen or the television room. If you are real lucky, you will meet their son Michael and he is great company as well. Maybe if you get good luck, you will be invited to where the music is and you will see Mary dance as well as any Irish person can ever dance. This is just a great spot: farm country, near so much, great welcome, wonderful room, super breakfast, terrific family. If you are real lucky, James may invite you to see a cow calve! Stay with the Shannon family! You will be glad you did!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank caseyboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed here for one night, and it was a good stay. The home is surrounded by pasture with excellent views of the town of Corofin. It's on a quiet street, well within a 5- 10 minute walk across a single stone bridge to the town.
The house itself is clean, welcome and inviting. The room has an "instant water heater" which may be confusing to Americans to operate (and maintain the hot water), but the bathrooms are open and well stocked. The stairwell up is steep, but adds a lovely flavor to the house and entryway. There are many books and maps on the area spread out around the house. Mary, the owner, was very helpful and even got us through the crowds at the pub later in the night.

While the mattresses appear older and "bouncy", it is a good place for a quiet nights rest after a visit to the town of Corofin.

Breakfast was a traditional irish breakfast with *lots* of extra choices, and Mary was congenial and flexible on breakfast times and foods.

An excellent place to spend a night, highly recommended if you are in Corofin.

Room Tip: Ask for the upstairs rooms for a great view of the pastures and towns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mildmanneredreporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Comfortable, carefully decorated room. Not right in the town so peaceful and quiet. Close enough to walk to pubs for dinner. Very friendly hosts and lovely breakfasts.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzTrippa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Our room was clean and spacious with a view of horses in the field. It was the best location for visiting the Burren, Gort, and many castles. Our breakfasts were great and we had dinner in Corofin. The owners were very friendly and the rates very reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CelticNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

Beautiful location with accommodations to match. I found this bread and breakfast more than adequate in size. The rooms were spacious with nice baths and showers. This is what you look for in an Irish bed and breakfast. No unwelcome surprises here. And by the way, the Irish breakfast was fresh and delicious.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sully1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Corofin
7.5 mi away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
10.8 mi away
Gregans Castle Hotel
Gregans Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballyvaughan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Falls Hotel & Spa
Falls Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ennistymon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
12.7 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
7.4 mi away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Corofin Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Corofin Country House

Property: Corofin Country House
Address: Corofin Country House Station Road, Corofin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > The Burren > Corofin
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Corofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing