We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't rush back !”

The Heron's Cove Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Goleen
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
west cork
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Won't rush back !”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Have been to 'Herons cove ' on many occasions and each time hoping it will have improved but Alas ! no . We were a party of four and all feel the same way . One member had the crab cakes one was cold , one tepid . The steak was served with what can only be described as a rancid butter instead of what was supposed to be 'Bernaise' . The Plaice were barely slips . Pity as it is the only place to eat for miles but they are only playing restaurant . Have to say the staff were lovely and the wines good but pricey .

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ohsuzannaWestCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    24
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waverly, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“two,one,several”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

two very good breakfasts.....one exceptional dinner....and several glasses of wine from the bar over a two day period! This place is definitely one to remember and REVISIT!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BagsRpacked4Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corcaigh, Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service, food and place”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Sent my parents here for anniversary dinner tonight. They have nothing but good things to say about the place. Food was excellent, extra effort put in for the occasion, staff amazing! 5*

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie-Wren-Layla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Trading on its old reputation”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

This place profits from the fact that it is about the only half decent place to eat within 30 minutes of Mizen. It gets a strong local (as in Cork punters who have holiday homes in the area) following and tourists who don't know any better. The food is just good home cooked fare but where the place really lets itself down is on service. The staff there work very hard to be fair and the senior lady who runs the show is excellent but they are so under-staffed they are not able to cope when the place is full. They could badly do with someone at the door who looks after seating guests, sorting bills etc. When they are busy the place is a nightmare. It took us five separate requests to get our bill so we could pay and leave and in the end we had to walk up to the door to pay! We saw others waiting for a table for over 30 minutes and they were not happy. The food was fine but it is expensive for what you get. Dessert was a disaster - we ordered the summer pudding and it was very tart - it was if someone made a complete hames of the recipe! We have been a few times but it will be our last visit. Our recommendation is to have a big lunch in Schull instead and have a nice supper at home or a picnic by the beach for tea!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bradley056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First Class with great views.”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

Read up on the area pre coming on holiday to Schull, and the Herons Cove sounded very good, so we gave it a try.
Wow, what a lovely spot and excellent food, we both had turbot, it was outstanding!
Staff and service were first class, made us very welcome, a wonderful evening, I would love to return! Thank you.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Heron's Cove Restaurant also viewed

Crookhaven, County Cork
Crookhaven, County Cork
 
Crookhaven, County Cork
Goleen, County Cork
 

Been to The Heron's Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing