We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite restaurant”

The Heron's Cove Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Goleen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stewkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My favourite restaurant”
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Herons Cove is just wonderful. Excellent food, and amazing location and friendly helpful staff.
Have been here a number of times over the years and like to go whenever we are on holiday in the area.
Not to be missed if you like good food :)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaD999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    20
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
208 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Gone downhill since previous visits”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Having dined here before we returned with anticipation.

When we sought to book a table for 8pm we were asked if we could take a table at 7pm instead. This didn't suit us but assumed the request was due to heavy bookings. However, as it turned out, there were few customers on the night and we suspected they simply wanted to finish early.... Also, there was a festival in the village on the night. So one would have assumed a higher demand for tables; not so...

We were a party of 8 and ordered a range of dishes from both set and al a carte menus. Staff were very friendly and attentive and we had no complaints in this regard. However, there was nobody at reception to show is to our table.


The consensus among our party was that the food was ok at best. Nothing stood out and some dishes were overdone. The monkfish tempura did not have a tempura batter as per menu and was quite dry. The red and white wines we chose were very agreeable.

After desserts we waited to order coffees (having flagged in advance that we would be ordering so) but were presented with the bill before the opportunity arose. It then transpired that the coffee machine had been "switched off for the night". We were offered cafetiere instead. We declined.

Won't be returning. We've had much better meals in various small cafés, restaurants and pubs in the area. Pity, as the location is really picturesque... Only redeeming feature unfortunately.



Helpful?
1 Thank Diarmuidog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I went with eight friends to this restaurant for dinner in early August, fantastic location, very good menu. The service was dreadful, when we finally got served my lobster was overlooked. The person on my right, his fish was over cooked and my friend on my left ordered lamb cutlets med. they were also over cooked.
The wine selection is very good you can choose your bottle from shelves in a corner and take it to the bar to be opened, so no wine list.
There is a shortage of good restaurants in this part of Ireland, I think some of them just charge high prices and careless about service as they are full in August anyway.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maccrann a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lunch for 14 people”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Restaurant open just for us! Beautiful food and wine. View gorgeous despite the rain. Lovely service and children well catered for. Great

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just Average”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

The food was a little disappointing, just average. Staff were very good.
Very expensive for what you get. Over 100 euro for 3 with just a soft drink each!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Heron's Cove Restaurant also viewed

Crookhaven, County Cork
Crookhaven, County Cork
 
Goleen, County Cork
Crookhaven, County Cork
 
Schull, County Cork
Ballydehob, County Cork
 

Been to The Heron's Cove Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing