We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Heron's Cove

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goleen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Heron's Cove
Ranked #1 of 2 Goleen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waverly, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had called to say we would be late and were asked if we wanted the kitchen to remain open ...they normally close at 9 I think but they said they would wait for us. We told them not to bother. When we did arrive we were shown to a lovely large room, number 4, and then invited down to the small lounge to join other guests if we wished. So we joined the others, ordered a glass of house red (yummy!) and enjoyed the fire and some interesting conversation.

Breakfast was the best.....and the brown bread ( one of my favorites anyway) was especially good. It is relaxing to sit over coffee and watch the heron in the cove hunt for his breakfast while the fishing boats bobble around on the tide.

Later after a long day out doing the touristy things we joined the "night before gang" for dinner. Hubby and I shared smoked salmon on brown bread as a starter, he had fish in cream and white wine as his entrée and I had baked salmon for mine and I ended my meal with Sticky Toffee pudding. Then all six of us sat around until midnight talking and laughing as if we had known one another for eons.

Breakfast again was very nice...I had a cheese and fruit plate and oatmeal just to be different.

All in all the place was first rate, from the room to the staff to the food to the views! And I asked hubby if we would like it as much if we had not met the other couples and hadn't had such a good time with them...and he though for a moment and said he certainly would come back! I would too...the place is enchanting!

Room Tip: ....ask for a room with a cove view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BagsRpacked4Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    25
    9
    9
    3
See reviews for
23
72
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cork
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights n room3, the location is just fab looking over the harbour and great for trips to mizen head and crookhaven, the staff were so friendly and hannah was great advising us what to see in the area. We had dinner on both nights, we were planning to eat out on the second night but the food was just superb the first night we were not dissapointed. The home made desserts were mouth watering. I am a fussy veggie but irene the chef was very accomdating. The wine rack is a novelty idea and there was a great selection of wines, something to suit all budgets. After a great nites sleep the selection at breakfast was very impressive, thanks to all the team, will definately b back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clara33Clara33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tekamah, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Based on others' reviews on Tripadvisor, we choose Heron's Cove in Goleen as the third stop on our trip around the coast of Ireland. First off, let me say, we are not difficult people. We have stayed in many B&B's and we realize they all have their little quirks and inconveniences. But this place was a real disappointment. When we arrived, the person there to greet us was not the host but a restaurant staff member who just opened the room door, pointed out the tea pot, and gave us a key. The room décor was worn and dated, the kind you'd find in a '70s motel back in the States. We'd asked for Room #3 which others has reviewed as the best and it did indeed have a view of the tiny harbor - which we saw through dingy windows. But we were tired after a long days' drive and decided to make the best of it. We never did get the television to work. That evening we went downstairs for dinner in the restaurant, reputed to be one of the best in the area. The food was okay, but the servers were not warm or friendly, just "doing their job." Once again, we are not people who expect a lot, but a smile would have been nice.
We had reserved two nights at the this place, but we left the next day, forfeiting our second-night voucher. It was worth leaving behind.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bev L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markgroeningen, Germany
Level Contributor
126 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had an overnight stay in Room no. 4 with a nice view over the cove.
Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Bathroom quite small.
Breakfast was good, according to Irish standards.
We had also dinner in the B&B restaurant, unfortunately no lobsters available, we went for 21 days beef, we both asked for medium rare, unfortunately one of them was (well) done. Good dessert selection. The wine list is also interesting : no list but an open rack in the restaurant where you can have a look at all wines available and choose the one you prefer., smart !
From the check-in to the check out through dinner and breakfast we were served by all family generations, they all were very attentive and polite. All in all a good place to stay, if you want to have a peaceful rest with a nice view, for 70€ (2 people) a good deal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ompile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Just back from spending 3 heavenly nights in the perfect location for a mini moon. We decided, it being the year of the gathering and our economy needing staycations we would explore more of our own beautiful country. Our researched choice turned out to be tailor made for us. Our bright spacious room No. 3 looked directly out to sea compliments of large french windows. A doors giving access to a balcony also looked on to the ever changing waters below.Beds had electric blankets and proper adjustable reading lights. While we did love our room we set out on our folding bikes and cycled through spectaculary colourful countryside ending up in Durrus in a cookery school which served the best fish soup we ever had. We did 55km that day then back to a scrumptious dinner in the downstairs restaurant. Katie served a delicious meal in a professional and yet ever so friendly manner. Katie was serving breakfast again efficiently on the following 2 mornings and her non weavering attention to detail was laudable. We booked dinner for the third night and after climbing Mount Gabriel, again found the experience a delight. Irene is a marvellous cook and Hannah was so kind to organised a drink on the house when she heard we were just married.
We reluctantly had to leave this idyllic place promising Vicki we will be back

Room Tip: Room no 3 has it all + a lovely sized bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We arrived very late on a scorching July evening having just started our Mizen Head to Malin Head cycle. Unfortunately no rooms but the owner and staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful. We were allowed to use toilet facilities and camped in an adjacent field and had breakfast in Heron's Cove. Not sure they would want as a regular occurance!
The purpose of my review is to illustrate the character of this place - many such quality establishments would not have entertained this. Cannot comment on sleep quality but breakfast was excellent in an inspiring location. Very genuine people. Thank-you.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mahestephane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
workington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the first night of our cycle tour from Mizen Head to Malin Head and it was perfect. A friendly welcome, Room 3 had everything you wanted including a great view and the evening meal could'nt have been better- turbot fresh caught that morning off Mizen Head. Even the cove's resident heron looked envious. The breakfast the next morning kept up the same high standard.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bandbWorkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goleen
15.0 mi away
Casey's of Baltimore, Hotel
16.7 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,068 reviews
13.6 mi away
Beara Coast Hotel
Beara Coast Hotel
#1 of 2 in Castletownbere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Carbery Cottage Guest Lodge
7.1 mi away
Rock Hill House
Rock Hill House
#3 of 10 in Schull
5.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
5.9 mi away
Bridge View House B&B
Bridge View House B&B
#1 of 2 in Kilcrohane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heron's Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heron's Cove

Property: The Heron's Cove
Address: The Harbour | Goleen, West Cork, Goleen, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Goleen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Goleen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Heron's Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heron's Cove B&B and Restaurant, Goleen, West Cork has been presented with the AA Hospitality Award Guest Accommodation of the Year 2012-13 for Ireland, AA1 Rosette for culinary excellence and AA Breakfast Award. Near Mizen Head, Ireland's most southwesterly point. 5 cosy comfortable en-suite bedrooms (4 sea view, 4 shower, 1 shower/bath) with DD TV, Tea/Coffee tray, Mini HiFi & Electric Blanket. Failte Ireland 4 stars, B&B Ireland, AA ****. Seaside Restaurant serving best local produce. Friendly local staff. Member: RAI, BIM Seafood Circle, Eurotoques, Slow Food. Recommended: AA, Lonely Planet, Lets Go, Frommers, Fodors, Alastair Sawday's, Georgina Campbell. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Heron's Cove Ireland/Goleen, County Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing