We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and over rated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballymaloe House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Shanagarry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Over priced and over rated”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

For €90 b&b pps I would have expected more from Ballymaloe! Breakfast was poor, as was the service....very unprofessional.....with staff members talking about fellow work colleagues while cleaning up around guests, as if they were on their break! Dinner at €70 per person definitely wasn't worth it.... no wow factor here! Stopped off in the Cliff House Hotel in Ardmore, Co Waterford on the way back to Dublin from Ballymaloe and got the real taste of how professional restaurant staff deal with the public!!! Won't be hurrying back to Ballymaloe House in the near future and certainly won't be recommending it to others after this experience!!!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
13 Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your comments - we liked your comment on having no TV -

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    66
    41
    14
    14
See reviews for
85
218
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,326 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed recently at Ballymaloe and had a really enjoyable break. We 'lived' there for about six months in 1979, but haven't stayed there again since the early1990s. We wondered whether things would still be the same - or would they be better or worse.

We were not disappointed. The things that really matter were essentially the same as they always were - a warm welcome, a warm and cosy ambiance with excellent food and excellent service. A few things had changed - like the disappearance of the help-yourself honesty bar [which commenced when Mr Allen (Ivan) wanted an early night] and the appearance of a reception desk.

It was great to meet Hazel, Joe, Rory, Jim and Ann again - all looking so young and so well; it brought back so many happy memories. It was also lovely to visit our old haunts including Ballycotton and Cobh - East Cork is such a lovely 'un-touristy' place to visit.

We've promised ourselves that we won't leave it so long before we return again.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the courtyard rooms - beautiful room on the ground floor, but our sleep was cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank glitteringprize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks - we were delighted to see you again , we hope you won't leave it so long before your next visit as we are all getting older - Joe keeps telling us is going to retire .

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Perfect, cosy stay in the Winter. We had eaten here on my occasions but this was our first stay.
Attention to detail is excellent. Our room was in the main house. Really lovely but sound proofing is minimum between adjoining rooms. If you don't want to hear your neighbours book an outside room.
Dinner was terrific served by an International Staff with all the same excellent, friendly service.
Drinks in the drawing room were accompanied by a couple of traditional musicians - great fun!
Breakfast was healthy and then a Cliff Walk around Ballycotten completed a lovely break.
Go raibh mile maith agat!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DundonsDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks and so sorry for delay in responding .

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We just went down for a one night stay and had a lovely walk around when we got down there, the shop is fabulous for gifts then we had dinner in the restaurant. The starters were just amazing, laid out buffet style and the staff member in the room was extremely helpful. The main courses were a little disappointing, I wasn't asked for a choice on how my lamb was cooked so I guessed it would be medium but it was over cooked and my partners sauce with his beef was very watery. The cheese selection was also a little poor and the deserts came out on a trolley which I would have expected a much higher standard. The wine is amazing value and the staff more than made up for the disappointing dinner, they were very very friendly and professional, we had a lovely drink by the fire in the Drawing Room afterwards. Would definitely go back and recommend.

Room Tip: We were in one of the cottages, it was stunning and we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SecretbeautyCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Ballymaloe , we hope next time you can stay a little longer and settle into the cottage , we can lend you our bicycles to explore the area.

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tramore, Ireland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My wife and I stayed and dined at Ballymaloe on December 30 for our wedding anniversary. It was our second time eating here but our first time staying and we absolutely loved it. We stayed in the Courtyard in the Fuchsia Room and it was wonderful. Really cosy and comfortable and loved the fact that there was no TV.

When you book to stay here you are automatically booked in for dinner and you can arrive any time you wish up to 9.30pm which is nice. Having eaten here before we were really looking forward to our dinner and once again we were not disappointed. Even though it was between Christmas and the New Year and the weather was bad, the menu of fresh and seasonal food was exceptional.

Every course that we had was absolutely beautiful and as usual the dessert trolley was a major hit, and all this was washed down beautifully by some lovely wine. We proceeded to the drawing room for a few drinks and the service, as during the meal was top class.

The next morning we enjoyed one of the nicest breakfasts we ever had and again the staff were outstanding.

Bottom line is that if you are looking for somewhere to go for a special treat or special occasion then this is the place for you. The staff are great, the atmosphere is hugely welcoming and the food is magnificent. It's not cheap but it's worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RealMagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you . We are delighted you enjoyed your visit

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Everything about Ballymaloe is perfect - the house, bedrooms, lovely gardens and food but I particularly want to mention the staff who are so well trained that they perform their tasks with utter professionalism without losing warmth. I also loved the beautiful art collection. Great attention to detail is evident everywhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrelandJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you , we are delighted you enjoyed your visit and our collection of paintings

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We just arrived back in Chicago after celebrating our daughter's wedding reception at Ballymaloe House January 4, 2014.

I must tell you that I think this is the IDEAL location for a wedding reception. My daughter who lives in Cork wanted a real "Irish" feel to her wedding as many of her friends and family came from the U.S. The entire wedding group booked rooms in the house, all rooms beautifully decorated and appointed. After and during the check in process we had a drinks reception in the main house. The fires were going, the champagne flowing, tea, coffee and shortbread in another cozy room. Our guests were free to use any of the main rooms for chatting which made the experience feel more like we were in our own home and everyone was relaxed and not being rushed.

We then had dinner in the Grainstore which is in another building, used for larger parties. By carefully coordinating our visions with the absolutely pleasant and talented Leila, we were really pleased how the decorations, lighting, flowers (by Ina McCarthy Florists) all came together to make the rather large room look cozy and elegant. The food was outstanding and the service was over the top.

While I retired at a rather early hour of midnight, I found out the next morning that some of the younger guests kept the staff up until the wee hours of the morning and for that I sincerely apologize, although not one person at Ballymaloe mentioned how late they had to stay up.

To recap, PERFECT wedding venue, fabulous staff, fabulous food, beautiful rooms, fabulous and patient Leila. I highly recommend, Ballymaloe if you are looking for an elegant, cozy, intimate wedding reception.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fullman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you , we loved having you and your American friends at Ballymaloe

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanagarry
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,622 reviews
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,413 reviews
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballycotton
404 reviews
Midleton Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Midleton
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballymaloe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymaloe House Hotel

Property: Ballymaloe House Hotel
Address: Shanagarry P25 Y070, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Shanagarry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shanagarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ballymaloe House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Ballymaloe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballymaloe House Hotel Shanagarry
Ballymaloe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing