We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ballymaloe House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Shanagarry B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
County Cork, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Even better than expected”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I was expecting a lot from this stay and it delivered so much more. The food was fantastic and the room was lovely but it was the service that impressed so much. The staff are so kind,friendly and professional at their job. They do their work in a way that makes you feel welcome and there is a fun and relaxed feeling about the place. Have stayed in other 5 star hotels but this beats them all. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you your very kind feed back , we are delighted the Wi Fi was available in the Grey Room - due to the style of the house it has been almost impossible to have Wi Fi available in all our rooms .

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    67
    42
    14
    14
See reviews for
88
221
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We loved our stay here -- lots to do on the grounds and nearby. Rode bikes (borrowed from hotel) and rode 3 miles to the Cookery School. Did the bread baking class with the chefs from the restaurant. Ran/walked around the grounds. Enjoyed dinner in the hotel. There is a pool but it felt a bit too cold for that (even in August) although some people were swimming.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hazel071, Manager at Ballymaloe House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2014
Thank you for your feed back and delighted you enjoyed your visit

Hazel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

A visit to Ballymaloe is truly a lifetime experience.

Firstly the food is really something else. High quality, well cooked proper food. Over the whole weekend I found nothing to disappoint me. The breakfasts were excellent with lots of choice. We had a kitchen picnic to take on a walk over the Ballycotton cliffs. Great sandwiches and relish with shortbread and berries. The dinner was superb every one of the five courses.

Secondly the service. Always smiling and pleasant. Never intrusive. From our welcome till the time we left first class.

The hotel itself is a true country house experience. We stayed in the main house. The rooms have everything you need and are clean with all mod cons. It is not boutique but that is not what we expected. The art work is fantastic around the house. The public rooms have
lots of space and very comfortable.

Fourthly the local area. Our first trip to Cork. We enjoyed a walk along the beach at Garryvoe in the morning. A visit to the Design centre at Shanagarry is worth a browse. Ballycotton is well worth a visit for more than just the cliff walk. There is lots to so. Make sure you visit the Ballymaloe cookery school and the gardens there.

Fifthly the Allen business. From the house to the cookery school, to the relish all the family are involved in the business. A very clever business model that works well.

As you can see we loved it and are desperate to visit again soon.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is an example of the best hotel- relaxing,welcoming,great surroundings.
We had the pleasure of staying in a family room overlooking the pool and tennis court and with our own little secluded terrace,perfect for an afternoon tea or ore dinner drink. The room was light and siry and beautifully decorated. A real home from home. Loved the exposed stonework along the staircase and the Norman tower blended in seamlessly. We enjoyed the Lazy Sunday package which included a buffet style evening meal and breakfast.

We took full advantage of the surroundings with a stroll along the riverwalk, a swim in the pool, a quick game of tennis before taking tea in the conservatory. We were offered a choice of scones,cake and biscuits and opted for biscuits knowing that supper was looming.

Reviewed the evening meal on the restaurant review but must mention the breakfast which was fabulous.Between us we tried the porridge,cooked breakfast (sausage,bacon and white pudding), crepes and hake. The local produce combined with the homemade jam and marmalade and home roasted coffee beans made this a fabulous experience. Reminiscent of the Merrion in Dublin or The Howard in Edinburgh.

However, if you are looking for TV, with modern glossy fittings, this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Family rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fi0na4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had high expectations which were exceeded at every turn. Food, people, accommodation all first rate. Not a lot in the immediate area but plenty accessible by day trips. Not a bargain but we felt worth the expense.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I love this place. I stay here when working in cork and when doing cookery courses in the cookery school. We have also been down for the two litfests. This time I brought down the whole family. We stayed in family suite 1&2 which was perfect- two adjoining, interconnecting rooms. Kids dinner was fab and brekkie devine. We all went to feed the pigs this morning and collect eggs for the restaurant. We had dinner last night with amazing wines recommended by Sasha. Daphne was a fab host. A suggestion is to offer fig compote, quince jelly & slices of fresh fruit with the cheese board. It would bring the dinner to the next level. Although it was pretty perfect! The kids love the pool and the sandpit. We don't want to leave!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maddenista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

From once you drive up the driveway you feel like your going back in time!. But in a good way. Grounds are encapsulating and encourage exploration. Attention to detail in the bedroom - small little extras that add to the experience. Dinner menu was very simple but cooked beautifully. Service was 5 star and the cheese trolley was the icing on the cake - a girl visited us and explained each of the cheeses and their flavours and origins. Highly recommended and worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanagarry
Castlemartyr Resort
#1 of 2 in Castlemartyr
1,651 reviews
Garryvoe Hotel
#1 of 1 in Garryvoe
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,464 reviews
Bayview Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballycotton
412 reviews
Fota Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Fota Island
2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballymaloe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballymaloe House Hotel

Property: Ballymaloe House Hotel
Address: Shanagarry P25 Y070, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Shanagarry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shanagarry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ballymaloe House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Also Known As:
Ballymaloe House Hotel Shanagarry
Ballymaloe Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing