We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday night stay 9/3/2014”
Review of Villa Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Rose Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Stay 9/3/2014 and attended " The Greats of Country Tribute Show" within the hotel. As usual the hotel was spotless and well worthy of a 5* review. We ate in the small bar and the food was beautiful as always. Could recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meercat58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

779 - 785 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the villa rose in December! It was a last minute night away and we found the hotel to be nice with lovely food and lovely room.

The location is nice in the busy skirts of ballybofey. It was a bonus it was quite close to McElhinneys.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gennyg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Being mid term break and after consulting TripAdvisor reviews, I booked a two night stay at the Villa Rose Hotel & V-Spa in Ballybofey including B&B plus one evening meal. The rooms I was told upon booking were of 4* quality.
We booked in mid afternoon and promptly left reception to relax in our room. As I unpacked,my wife tried the bed for comfort. For her it was too firm. A call to reception resulted in two staff remaking our bed and placing two quilts atop the firm mattress. This was a poor substitute for a double bed memory foam bed topper. I haven't frequented many 4* rated rooms that lacked a fridge although ours did had a safe, bottled water, an iron and ironing board plus tea and coffee facilities.The screen was tiny and it's reception quite poor. Our room had a nice wooden floor, but lacked a mat to soften footsteps. In the bath/shower the soap is bottle dispensed from a fixed bracket. Every time you need soap you have to rise from the bath and step forward to this dispenser. It is not only inconvenient but hazardous. Management could solve this health and safety issue by providing soap bars.

Time for tea so we descended the stairs for the recommended Wee Bar which fronts Main Street Ballybofey. The evening menu choice in the Wee bar was limited to one page although you can order from the restaurant menu to eat in the Wee bar, but the seats provide a low sitting position to the table which may be ok for a bar snack but not recommended for a 3 course fayre. Our bar snack was nice but overall the Wee bar lacked charm and a homely feel.Inside it has a wall mounted plasma hanging above the open fire and some paintings to add to the nice decor.Breakfast both mornings was lovely with a choice of hot and cold meals available. Equally so was our evening meal. No complaints here. The staff are really helpful and always smiling.
Venture beyond the bar and explore the multi-room hotel and V Spa. My wife booked a hot stone massage which was enjoyable but not remarkable.
The decor throughout the Villa Rose is nice with neutral coloured walls, mixed with deep pile carpets, amtico and tiled floors. The entrance to the main reception should have automatic or at least revolving doors. Navigating two sets of double doors with luggage is absurd.


The hotel car park entrance is easily missed which is located to the left side of the hotel accessed through a narrow arch.

On a lighter note was the sign which greeted us in our room.
Dear Guest, only food and alcohol purchased in the hotel can be consumed on the hotel premises.
Any evidence of the above will incur a €50 charge. Thank you for your cooperation.
Good luck enforcing that one,lol..

Room Tip: I wouldn't upgrade to the suites above main reception and expect nice views. You will see gable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just spent 1 night at this hotel and its beautiful. A drilling noise started early the next morning and was really loud. However, this didnt spoil what was a very pleasent experience in a beautiful room. We dined in Faras restaurant and it was exceptional. Free water with the meal, excellent service and the food which was to die for was the highlight. The staff were attentive but not over bearing, which was perfect. The price of the excellent meal was also great, 30 euro for the most amazing seafood chowder and fish and chips with all the usual trimmings for 2, superb value for great food. A beautiful hotel. We didnt know the area well and were surprised with the lack of shops etc.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main building not across the walkway into what appears to be the original...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Have been here soo often I feel its a second home. The staff are really friendly and helpful
What is more the rooms are well heated in winter soo welcoming we have stayed in a hotel on its doorstep a few months back and honestly there is no comparison.

Rooms are well appointed and have tea and coffee making facilities. Moreso they go the extra and put a complementary bottle of still and sparkling water in your room every day.

It was certainly the most restful sleep I have had in ages the beds are really comfy so are the pillows.

Breakfasts are always well enjoyed tea coffee and toast served to tables only problem is coffee and toast go cold very quick but no doubt they would get you new if you asked personally it doesnt bother me. I love the breakfast room its soo well laid out and is reached via a long corridor on the first floor.

Only one slight problem the free internet kept cutting out on me its soo slow I did put a comment on facebook but it seemed to be deleted right away. I appreciated the free access though and was using wifi. Would have absolutely no probleming recommend this hotel to anyone which we do. We love it PS the main function room is lovely i can see why wedding are popular here. Although there is no pool there is spa access to hot and cold at a charge very restful although we didnt use this time. The V spa is very relaxing we have used it in the past and there are offers worth checking out.

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAMck003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My wife and I travelled for a valentines night treat, We found the reception staff great, very friendly and professional. The room was very clean and had everything for our over night stay, nice bathroom layout, tea, coffee making facilities and bottled water. Tea was in the restaurant of the hotel and was a great dinning experience. Very tasty food, cooked perfectly and served with a smile, what else could you ask for. The only down side to the experience was a wedding party, which spilled into an adjoining room,

Room Tip: Free car parking is available at the hotel, spa facilities are also on offer and as a treat would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harry140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed here as a group of friends and really enjoyed it. Used the spa in the afternoon after arriving, and had dinner in the restaurant before a few drinks in the 'wee bar'.

Really enjoyed the spa, triple jacuzzi, steam room, tropical shower (which froze the bejeezus outta ye) and foot bath, for one hour.

The rooms were very modern and had everything you need. There is a policy in the hotel where you can only consume food and drink bought on the premises, and if any evidence of breaking the policy is found then a €50 charge is liable. This is the first time ive seen this is a hotel, and to be honest i seen it as a challenge, which i won! (i ate a bag of jelly tots that i smuggled across the border).

The food in the restaurant was fine, nothing to complain about, but nothing to write home about either. The service was very good though. Sandra was very attentive and friendly the whole evening. Margaret the next morning at breakfast was excellent too. Well done you two!

We love you Margaret & Sandra!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spongebobBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybofey
0.1 mi away
Jackson's Hotel
Jackson's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,505 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
10.5 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,242 reviews
13.8 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
10.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rose Hotel

Address: Villa Rose Hotel Main Street, Ballybofey, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Price Range: £59 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Rose Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Rose is a 4 star, family owned, boutique style spa hotel. Located in the vibrant town of Ballybofey, Co Donegal, there is always a friendly welcome to accompany our contemporary bedrooms, award-winning restaurant & spa and our atmospheric bar with live music every weekend. We can arrange spa breaks, activity breaks, active retirement breaks and more. With fee parking, complimentary bottled water and free internet we hope you will come and enjoy a memorable break with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rose
Villa Rose Hotel Ballybofey, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing