We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel”
Review of Villa Rose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Rose Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed for a four day dancing break,the hotel is four star and it lives up to its grading.the rooms are spotless,bathrooms are bright with no signs of wear and tear,the staff are great and could not do enough for you,the food was also of top class and for a large party it was served quickly and with denationalised.i wish that more hotels would take on board the skill that the staff at this hotel show,will be bank again foe the next dance week in June,
Ps .the owner of the hotel is the most down to earth person that I have ever meet and this travels throughout the whole hotel complex,great hotel great staff and fantastic location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paintersni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    839
    192
    56
    15
    10
See reviews for
229
548
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I spent four nights at the Villa Rose on a Ballroom dance break, the Staff where excellent they where very friendly, helpful and polite. The accommodation was excellent, it was spotless and fresh. The food was excellent, wholesome and a very good choice of food. The Ballroom floor is a great size to dance on. The Spa was fantasic. My wife and I felt at home at the Villa Rose. We will be back!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

My Wife and I stayed at the Villa Rose in April it was our 3rd visit to the Hotel that excellent staff are very friendly and attentive are room was spotless and of a high standard also the food In The Restaurant is high quality the lounge has live music at Weekends plus the wee bar has got a great atmosphere we both would highly recommend the Villa Rose for a nice relaxing break.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank William A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Great greeting at reception. the reception area is bright and airy with a very good bar. The hotel is in a small town and has 2 connected parts. There is reasonable free parking. We booked at a few hours notice and got one of the last rooms. The room was very clean and well equipped with a nice shower/bath, tea/coffee facilities. However the room was much smaller than expected. This may be due to it being in the older part of the hotel. Also there were other bedroom doors close by and during the night there seemed to be a number of late-night revellers who insisted in banging their doors. Perhaps there are more modern rooms in the newer section.
We did not have dinner in the hotel but the breakfast was served in the restaurant and provided a reasonable choice in a pleasant environment.
The hotel has a spa on the ground floor, the use of which is not complimentary but can be used for a reduced fee. There is no swimming pool but the jacuzzi and steam/shower facilities were very good and the staff were excellent and there were some excellent weekend offers. I have given the 4 rating on the basis that there might be bigger rooms - otherwise a 3.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bally192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Antrim, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Im just back from a heavenly stay in the Villa Rose. From the moment you enter the reception till you leave again you are made to feel relaxed and welcome! All members of staff greet you with a smile and absolutely nothing is too much bother. The rooms are fantastic well decorated cosy and above all exceptionally clean.Infact all areas of this hotel are always clean and tidy no matter what time of day or how busy hotel is. Im already planning my next stay!!






Im already planning my next stay there simply isnt another hotel in the area a

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmccol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Villa Rose for a few days on a deal for over-50s. This is the first time we had done such and it was clearly very popular with those in their 60s/70s, with free dances etc being very popular. However for us it was more of a good base to stay whilst exploring surrounding areas. Handy for Letterkenny and especially Derry for shopping and visiting the sights etc. I couldn't recommend a tour of Derry's Walls highly enough - it was fantastic, and only £4 a head including a free cup of tea!. Back to the hotel however, it was clean and bright but its forte undoubtedly is its staff. They were brilliant in every area - reception, restaurants, accommodation and the bars. Other hotels could learn from here on how to provide an excellent customer experience - that's why I give it the full 5*s.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NI_Traveller2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We had a fantastic 3 night break in The Villa Rose last week. The room (second allocation) was an upgrade and completely beyond our expectations. The staff were extremely pleasant and courteous throughout our stay. The food was of a very high standard with large portions and lots of courses at every meal. You're in for a real treat if you decide to stay at the V R.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybofey
0.1 mi away
Jackson's Hotel
Jackson's Hotel
#2 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
13.0 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
4,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
10.5 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,110 reviews
10.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rose Hotel

Property: Villa Rose Hotel
Address: Villa Rose Hotel Main Street, Ballybofey, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Rose Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villa Rose is a 4 star, family owned, boutique style spa hotel. Located in the vibrant town of Ballybofey, Co Donegal, there is always a friendly welcome to accompany our contemporary bedrooms, award-winning restaurant & spa and our atmospheric bar with live music every weekend. We can arrange spa breaks, activity breaks, active retirement breaks and more. With fee parking, complimentary bottled water and free internet we hope you will come and enjoy a memorable break with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Villa Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rose
Villa Rose Hotel Ballybofey, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing