We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff and top notch food. We will definitely be back.”
Review of Jackson's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Jackson's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Reviewed 6 September 2011

My partner and I travelled to ballybofey for a family wedding on 2nd September 2011. from the moment we arrived to the day we left I have notthing but plesant and happy memories. The wedding reception was amazing, the service and the food was fantastic and the staff, although very busy were friendly, courteous and always polite and accomodating.

The room we stayed in on the first night was in the old part of the hotel, although it wasn't what we expected for what we paid,(it could do with a little modernising) there was no problem in getting moved into the newer part wth the modern rooms and also closer to the rest of my family and wedding party. (If you are booking online, indicate that you'd like to stay in the new part of the hotel). The receptionists we always very polite and were a pleasure to deal with. The waiting staff were always well dressed, polite and friendly and the bar staff were also very polite and helpful.

While at Jackson's we had some trouble with our car and the receptionist, I wish I remembered her name, got us in touch with a mechanic who repaired our car within a few hours and he didn't charge a fortune either.

Overall my stay was memorable, the food was lovely although I thought some items were a little on the pricey side, but at the end of the day you do pay for quality. In saying that, the breakfasts, included in the room price were lovely, with a choice of cooked breakfasts, cereals, toaasts, breads or combination of all if you wished. The serving staff in the mornings were also very friendly and helpful.

If anyone is travelling to Donegal for a few days or longer I would definitely recommend jackson's as a base, it is very central and is close to several attractions. Average room prive is arounfd55euro per person per night and that includes breakfast, average price of a pint of is about 4euro and the meal would be around 30euro per person including a starter and drink.

As we had such a great time and because the staff made our stay a plesant and memorable one we will definitely return. Well done and thanks to all at Jacksons for providing such a great service.

Room Tip: When booking, state that you'd like a room in the new part of the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraRivero, Sales & Marketing Executive at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2011

On behalf of Jackson's Hotel, thank you for taking the time to review your stay, it gives us great pleasure and it is fantastic to receive feedback such as your experience here with us at Jackson's Hotel. Thanks for your positive comments about all staff and food, and for recommending us if travelling in Donegal County.

We are so proud of having guests like you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jackson's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,497)
There are newer reviews for Jackson's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,221 - 1,227 of 1,497 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

We sayed in this hotel 2 weeks ago with 2 young chilren and I have to say it was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, when we arrived we thought it wasnt too bad just a little old fashioned, but when we got to our room it was like a grubby youth hostel, 4 white beds lined up, white walls, no pictures up, loose tiles in the bathroom, an old curtain type thing wrapped round the t.v stand, creaky beds, old sunken mattresses. Also the breakfast very basic and thrown at you by a not very friendly 'gentleman' . How this is a 3 star hotel I do not know. Apparently the 'new bit' is much better but when we asked if we could stay in it there was nothing available so we had to have the grotty bit for the same money.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sporkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraRivero, Sales & Marketing Executive at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

On behalf of Jackson's Hotel, we are sorry to hear about this. We have taken your response on board and will be taking necessary action.

Kind regards,

Jackson's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

swiming pool was great i turned up not knowing there was one and without trunks not a problem a pair was supplied in seconds by the pool guy steam room great

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraRivero, Sales & Marketing Executive at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

On behalf of Jackson's Hotel, thank you kindly for posting a review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Jackson's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Seen a two-night stay on Groupon, my boyfriend and I liked the sound of the hotel and decided to try it. On arrival female receptionists were efficient and friendly. We were made aware of an upgrade for the newer rooms, fee was reasonable so we opted for this. Quite a trek to our room 521, but we knew this couldn’t be helped. Decor was nice throughout the hotel; our room was the best though.
Only disappointment was the room was only being serviced when we arrived late afternoon. Had a view to die for, over the lake/river. Also, we loved the viewing gallery on our corridor with reclined chairs. The bed was AMAZING, quality I have never known in a hotel before, and we both work in one! Bathroom was spotless and very modern. When serviced, bed sheets were all changed and condiments and towels replenished. Had an evening meal in the bistro, (weren't told that our voucher for an evening meal could have been used in the 'Garden Restaurant'.) Great food at evening meal in the Bistro, however not much choice for lunch.
Both nights enjoyed drinks in Joe's Bar and on the second night 'Jeet' was on the bar. He was very friendly, could not do enough for us and made us feel very welcome. Both made use of health facilities, having massages, beauty therapist made us feel very comfortable.
Overall, had a great experience and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Upgrade to more modern room, definitely worth the money!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraRivero, Sales & Marketing Executive at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

On behalf of Jackson's Hotel, thank you kindly for your response and for all your positive comments about the accommodation, food, Leisure Centre and staff. We love to hear guests that fully enjoyed their stay. Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Jackson's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

My Girlfriend and I decided to stay at the Jackson hotel, taking advantage of one of their many weekend offers of two nights bed and breakfast plus one evening meal.

Upon arriving at the hotel it immediately became apparent that this was a place of stark contradictions. As a hotel that has been adorned as "the best Wedding venue in Donegal" could look so forcibly unattractive and dilapidated. Be it not for the modern extension that was pasted onto the rear of the old building, I would have questioned their sanity at this statement.

At check-in we were greeted by friendly and efficient staff who explained the various facilities that the hotel offered. We were handed our keys and given directions to our room, we certainly needed them. Creaking along the hall way towards our room number, I had the sinking feeling that this wasnt going to be clean modern room I was hoping for.

The room was like something out of a pre war B&B. The room looked drab and smelt just as worse. The carpet was stained, the window sill was dirty, the sheets were stained and the TV sat on a small stand on the floor making it impossible to see from the decrepit bed. The bathroom was small and dark without a hint of luxury or class. Personally I would not have given this place two stars based on this room.

So we decided to move to another room, maybe something in the more modern end of the hotel. After complaining to the still efficient but uninterested staff members, we were informed that they had rooms available in the new end, but only as an upgrade. I viewed the room in the modern end, which was geographically and visually miles apart from our current hovel. The room was large, well lit and was very modern overall.

After changing to the new room, at a sizeable cost, we were handed the keys and sent on our way. When we got to the room it became obvious to me that they had given me the wrong keys as this was not the room I had viewed. It was similar to the room, but not the same as the previous room I had viewed, as it was larger. We also noted that the toilet had not been cleaned in this room, as faeces was clinging to the bowl. After another quick change of room we found ourselves feeling decidedly drawn and let down by the standards of the hotel.

Following on from a more or less sleepless night, due to the wedding party going on down below, we left the room to be serviced around 2pm. We even left the "Please service this room" sign on the door. The room was never serviced.

The food in the hotel was of a good standard, but it was the little things that let them down a bucket load. On the first night we ordered food but they did not offer a drinks order. On the second night my Girlfriend ordered a coke, we did not receive it, but when settling the bill they tried to charge us for it. My Girlfriend asked for her steak to be cooked "well done", it came to the table "rare". At breakfast we both got up to get some of the warm food that was on offer, when we returned to our table, we found it had been cleared.

We did use the leisure facilities and we found them to be in keeping with the rest of the hotel, tired and unimaginative.

On our departure we were not asked by the staff member that served us if we had enjoyed our trip because it had probably become quite apparent to her what the answer was.

To Sum up, the Jackson Hotel was probably once a pleasant hotel serving its faithful residence that would come year after year. But its hard to comprehend how anyone could enjoy this level of service and come away feeling like they have had value for money. The Jackson Hotel have been getting it too easy, for too long!

P.S. they also tried to charge 60 Euro extra for a meal that we didn't have. Nothing could redeem this place in my eyes.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraRivero, Sales & Marketing Executive at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

On behalf of Jackson's Hotel, we are sorry to hear that you didn't like the hotel neither your stay with us. Jackson's Hotel hosts more than 100 weddings every year that's why it's known for being an excellent wedding venue. The rest of your comments have been taken on board and will be processed accordingly.

Kind regards,

Jackson's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Service in bistro was terrible,55 minute wait for main order and with 2 children who were rather irritable after waiting that long for food,if there are starters for adults then the kids meal should be served with the adult starters.Food was unimpressive,I had Oriental beef strips which had no flavour(No Garlic,Ginger,or Chiilies,all of which were advertised on menu),My wife had Chicken Burger which had the breadcrumb coating burnt,the 2 children had burgers that would not be served in any well known American fast food chain.We only ate them as we were hungry and did not want to waste more time waiting for orders to be re-made
We had a family room ( 137 ) which was adequate but was rater cold at night and as for the TV all we had was 4 channels which the children when in room had no kids programmes to watch.Room was over bar - restaurant area which was very noisy could hear all chair movements on restaurant floor and bar band noise.
The breafast hall was too small for the amount of guests staying,again food was unimpressive

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shanedoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraRivero, Sales & Marketing Executive at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

On behalf of Jackson's Hotel, we are sorry to hear about these comments related to the food in our Bistro and Dining Room. We have taken your response on board and will be taking necessary action.

Kind regards,

Jackson's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

For the novelty of going on holiday with both children and two dogs this holiday was excellent value. All the staff were terrific with our children and we felt relaxed the entire time. T Bone steaks were fantastic ... We will be rebooking for half term.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scuwba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraRivero, Sales & Marketing Executive at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

On behalf of Jackson's Hotel, thank you so much for your review. We love to hear guests that fully enjoyed their stay. We are proud of being a child friendly and pet friendly hotel and we I'm glad to hear all your family enjoyed the holidays. Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Jackson's Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybofey
0.1 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,150 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
10.5 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
13.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
16.5 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson's Hotel

Address: Main Street, Ballybofey, CO Donegal, Ballybofey, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Price Range: £52 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bustling town of Ballybofey, Jacksons Hotel is an award-winning Hotel on the banks of the River Finn and Drumboe Woods. Renowned for its hospitality and great food, Jacksons is the ideal base for touring Donegal and the North West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jackson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksons Hotel Ballybofey
Jackson's Hotel Ballybofey, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing