We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent break, will definately be back”
Review of Jackson's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Jackson's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed here for a week including St Patricks Day. The staff here are excellent, they can't do enough to help, most always did what was asked with a smile and extremely efficiently, they are a credit to Jackson's. The only reason we have not given five stars is the lack of staff on what was an extremely busy time, they were rushed off their feet. We visited with a coach party and the first couple of days we were in the restaurant to eat, but as the hotel got busier we were moved to another separate dining area and this was not as pleasant as dining in the actual dining area, but as the hotel was so busy we understood why this was done. The food and drink though were great, homely food and plenty of it. Thanks for a great break and very good value too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthWalesJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,141 - 1,147 of 1,506 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2012

Stayed in Jackson's Hotel for a night on my way back from a Conference in Derry.

The gentleman on Check-In was very friendly and helpful. He allocated me a room in the new wing of the Hotel which was a bit of a trek from reception but well worth it as these rooms are well appointed and nicely decorated.

The food in their open-kitchen bistro is excellent. I had the Steak and it is one of the best cuts of meat I've experienced in a while.

The Bar was very comfortable and had an old world charm about it.

Breakfast was one of those no-frills buffet affairs and was adequate for my needs; but nothing to write home about.

The only real issues I encountered were in the Leisure Centre. It is quite outdated and really showing its age - especially in the changing areas. Some light maintenance would rectify this pretty quickly though.

Overall a good 4* hotel with friendly staff and great food!!

Room Tip: Get a room in the new wing of the hotel. They are excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelGuestIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

we stayed in Jacksons Hotel on the May Bank holiday and all I can say is it was FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!
any from the moment we arrived the staff could not be more friendly or helpful. any requsets we had were acted on immediatly,the room was spotless, the food was excellent. the staff are so friendly and helpful they are a credit to the hotel I would recommend JACKSONS HOTEL to any one wishing to visit Donegal joe and brenda

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed in a family room in old part of hotel - noise (music) right up until 2 in the morning - heat in room overbearing and couldn't open window due to fact that fan from kitchen was blowing smell into room. Don't think a family room should have been here especially with young children trying to sleep. Beautifully located hotel but next time i will ask for newer part of hotel for peace and quiet. Food enjoyable enough

Room Tip: Look for newer part of hotel - Dont stay in old part
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank undertaker64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We stayed at the hotel over the Easter holidays for two nights and we loved it!! There was a kids club in it and with 3 young boys it was brilliant. Our room was not the most updated room we ever stayed in but it was clean and big enough for all of us! We have stayed in family rooms before that you could not move around in so we where delighted with the one we got. We had breakfast in the hotel each morning paying an extra 5euro for each child, this was exceptable as the hotel has to cover it's cost. On the two evenings of our stay we eat in the bistro bar and the food was lovely. We also found the staff very helpfull and could not find any fault with the hotel, As a parent I enjoyed my stay and my 3 boys loved it 2!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I had looked on Trip Advisor to see the mixed reviews of this hotel but I always believed in giving people a chance but I should have taken my gut instinct and never have booked this hotel.
Booked 2 night midweek break given room 168, if ever offered this room refuse. Very dated, old tv probably from local charity shop, some of the tiles in the bathroom had been broken pieces which were used to fill in the gaps.
Double bed not very comfortable and there was about a 2 foot gap between bed running along the front of wardrobe.
Smell of damp in bedroom and on closer inspection found this to be beside the bed and leading into the bathroom.
If you think you are getting a nice room ask as this is not the case unless your are prepared to pay extra.
Service in the 'Bistro' canteen was stand and wait, there was no member of staff to advise you if it was table or self service. One member of staff seemed to be doing the job of 3 people. Had to wait until someone came out from the kitchen to serve hot breakfast.
To top it all off I had a bottle of perfume stolen which I had put inside my case and closed the lid over and the management are adamant that it was not any member of their staff and that maybe we left our door open and maybe another guest took it but since our room was at the end of a corridor beside the fire exit there would be no need for other residents to pass our room plus I know our door was locked when we left.
The new part of the Hotel looks beautiful but the old part could do with a good dusting and thoroughly cleaned.
It may be a good hotel for weddings but certainly not for breaks and I personally will make sure people know the real side of staying at Jacksons Hotel.
Managements attitude to my complaint took 3 weeks to get an acknowledgement after sending many emails and to say they have never had any complaints of theft from their hotel in 8 years I find very hard to believe.
Totally disgusted and sickened by the whole experience staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Its true what they say you only get what you pay for and you certainly have to pay for a 'decent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank newtravellerBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Currently on a three night stay in this hotel. Our mistake was not logging on to trip advisor first before booking this hotel. The first issue on arrival was being charged €5 per child per day for breakfast, this would be nearly acceptable if the buffet breakfast was any way good. The selection for breakfast in the Bistro yesterday was basic cereal,juice,token fruit on a plate and a hot breakfast. The sausages were processed cardboard likewise the pudding and the fried eggs were overdone. We will try the restaurant this morning and see if their is any improvement.
We are in room 333 in the attic which after an adventure to find with no lift access is just what we expected from the dated decor of the rest of the "old part" of the hotel. The television was something from 1980's and only 6 channels, the bathroom is again old with a nice hole inside the door from a previous guest and a hot tap that works with effort. The bath water starts off brown but eventually runs clear. The rest of the room is dated and on pushing our beds together we found the parts that room cleaning missed over the years. We were going to try the games room with the kids at 11am yesterday morning but decided against as their was a dirty man sprawled out on a couch for all to see with 2 half finished pint glasses in front of him. We got this deal with pigsback.com and they said it was reduced from €560 it might have been that price in 2004 but certainly not now! Definitely not a four star hotel, would barely make a lower three star. if you do want to come here try to stay in the new part of the hotel it looks much better quality but seems to be reserved for weddings only.

Room Tip: make sure you stay in the new section if you are coming to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Aidan1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybofey
0.1 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
10.5 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
10.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,294 reviews
10.7 mi away
Mcgettigan's Hotel Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson's Hotel

Address: Main Street, Ballybofey, CO Donegal, Ballybofey, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Price Range: £53 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bustling town of Ballybofey, Jacksons Hotel is an award-winning Hotel on the banks of the River Finn and Drumboe Woods. Renowned for its hospitality and great food, Jacksons is the ideal base for touring Donegal and the North West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jackson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksons Hotel Ballybofey
Jackson's Hotel Ballybofey, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing