We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY FRIENDLY AND OBLIGING HOTEL”
Review of Jackson's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Jackson's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“VERY FRIENDLY AND OBLIGING HOTEL”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We arrived on a Friday with a deal, it was my birthday and had asked the receptionist to put us in the new part of the hotel but we were sent to a dark dismal room with very little lighting, it was in need of renovation and the bed was dreadful, clean but the mattress was so old. I went to reception and the girl was very obliging and friendly and sent us to the new part of the hotel, it is a long walk but worth it to us as we got a lovely room with a nice mattress newly done up and a view of the river. The shower was clean and modern. The spa was included in the deal but I personally think its a waste as they gave 25 euro and I had to put 40 euro to it and the girl was lovely but she was exhausted as they seem very under pressure. The meal was lovely and the restaurant surroundings were very nice. Breakfast was okay, the first morning they were serving hundreds of guests with one small cooking facility. The next morning they changed to another bigger room and it was more organised. My husband used the swimming pool and it was fine. I have to say I have never stayed in a friendlier hotel and the staff were second to none.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is absolutely wonderful for our staff to receive such fantastic praise, they will certainly be delighted by your kind comments. I am thrilled that you enjoyed our deluxe rooms with river views and garden restaurant overlooking our beautiful walled garden. The spa voucher included in the deal is for €25 off treatments over 60minutes as outlined in the term & conditions, I apologise if you felt this was a waste.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jacksons Hotel again very soon.
Kindest Regards,
Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    304
    241
    227
    259
See reviews for
427
617
21
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Spent a weekend at Jackson's with a voucher deal. Had a very warm welcome at reception, unfortunately our room was less warm. It was a bit like a hospital ward with three double beds but it was the temperature we noticed most. After enquiring at reception we were told the heating would be cranked up. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant with very efficient service. Unfortunately our room turned out to be directly over the bar and it was after 2.30a.m. before it was quiet. Next morning we asked if we could be moved and we were treated very courteously by the receptionist and given a new room which was great. It was obviously one of the better rooms with a huge super king bed and a massage chair. I had pre-booked a spa treatment to take advantage of the discount and it was very relaxing. The therapist was very friendly. Our meal in the evening was also very good although there was a wait for the main course. The restaurant was very busy and I heard some diners complaining but there were plenty of staff, and the restaurant manager never stopped trying to keep things running smoothly. It wasn't a problem for us as we enjoyed just relaxing over dinner. We spent a little while in the bar after enjoying the music, as our new room was lovely and peaceful. Breakfast on Sunday was very busy and was transferred to the function room..again the staff were very attentive and never stopped serving tea and coffee. There was plenty of food while we were there although it took three goes to get colour on the toast! All in all it was a very good value weekend, and we would go back.. All our issues were very competently dealt with and nothing seemed too much trouble.

Room Tip: Worth paying for room in quieter side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maysiemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to review Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am absolutely delighted that you had a great weekend stay with us. It is wonderful to hear that you raised any issues with a member of our reception team who dealt with them accordingly, allowing you have an enjoyable weekend with us.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Jacksons Hotel again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limavady
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife ( who had just an operation) and I had a short post Christmas break on the 3rd.January and had a superb break .Barry the owner spent a lot of time out with the guests seeing everything was well (and it was )We must say how kind the young girl in reception was in getting us a beautiful room looking onto the river.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LimavadyBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to read your fantastic review of Jacksons Hotel and thank you for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you had a superb stay with us and that you enjoyed our beautiful rooms overlooking the River Finn. Barry and our reception staff will be thrilled with your kind comments and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jacksons Hotel again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

great hotel with swimming pool good for short break, staff very helpfull when your there. Staff in the spa not so helpfull oh well you can't have everything. Good for shopping and excellent for relaxing. Had a great time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 626sylvia11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments of your recent stay at Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor. It is wonderful to hear that you found our hotel to be great and our staff to be very helpful. Our spa is operated independently and I sincerely apologise if you found their staff to be unhelpful.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Jacksons Hotel again in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast, ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We were on a treatticket deal which was £101 for 2 nights b&b and an evening meal with 25 euro of a Spa treatment, We arrived and were checked in immediately in the old part of the hotel and as we have stayed in the new part last year we could compare the two rooms and we can honestly say we could not find fault in either room both were up to standard breakfast is one of the nicest we have had in a hotel and more than plenty to keep you going, The leisure centre is fantastic with pool,sauna and jacuzzi and the massage in the Spa just perfect, The first night the entertainment was a group in the bar who were fine and the second night was for more an older crowd than us ( five couples in there early 40's) The evening meal was excellent and could not be faulted, The town of Ballybofey is a beautiful town with the river running behind the hotel and a beautiful walkway along it, all in all we will definitely be back in Jacksons sooner rather than later we hope.

Room Tip: it can be a longer walk to the new part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcilduff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that you have experienced both our Standard and Deluxe rooms and enjoyed your stay in them both. Our breakfast team will certainly be delighted that you rate us as having one of the nicest. I am thrilled that you found our leisure facilities to be excellent, that you enjoyed your massage and found the beautiful walkways surrounding our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Jacksons Hotel again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We booked Jackson's on the internet and by looking at the photos thought it would be a lovely place to stay and spend new year. How wrong we were!!

We paid a premium for a family room where there wasn't even a toilet roll holder in the toilet. The beds were old and smelled musty and I'm not sure when the linen was last changed. We had to call reception for more towels 6 times before they were delivered- we were made to feel like criminals for asking. There was a couch in the room that should have been retired years ago and there was hair and other dirt all over the carpet. It rained during the night and the skylight window leaked all over my son. To top it all off breakfast was like feeding time at the zoo- breakfast was served out of a hot box after having to line up for cereal etc and slip on spilled milk on the floor. Very disappointing!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Blossom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you taking the time to review Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am very disappointed that you didn’t have an enjoyable stay with us. I would greatly appreciate if you could email me your room number so I can investigate these issues further marketing@jacksons-hotel.ie

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ballybofey hotels

Ballymoney, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Just back from a two night stay at Jackson's Hotel, was a bit scared after reading some of the more negative reviews as to what to expect, however I was extremely pleased to discover that everything was perfect, from the room temperature, the warm welcome and helpful staff and the gorgeous food!! Would definitely recommend this hotel to my family and friends and will definitely be making a return visit soon.

Room Tip: Level 3 room very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise8534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksons H, Manager at Jackson's Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Jacksons Hotel on Trip Advisor. I am absolutely delighted that previous reviews didn’t deter you from staying with us and that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Looking forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Jennie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybofey
0.1 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
10.5 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
12.9 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson's Hotel

Property: Jackson's Hotel
Address: Main Street, Ballybofey, CO Donegal, Ballybofey, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bustling town of Ballybofey, Jacksons Hotel is an award-winning Hotel on the banks of the River Finn and Drumboe Woods. Renowned for its hospitality and great food, Jacksons is the ideal base for touring Donegal and the North West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Jackson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksons Hotel Ballybofey
Jackson's Hotel Ballybofey, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing