We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Night Away”
Review of Jackson's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Jackson's Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Night Away”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed at the Jackson hotel on 1st August 2014. Upon arrival at 2pm we were told check in was at 4pm, having read reviews here beforehand I was expecting this so we headed off for our walk along the river which was very enjoyable. We returned at 3.30pm wanting to be early as they could not guarantee a room in the new section as it was 'upgrade' only on availability?? So we waited in reception until 4pm, they seem to be very strict on this check-in time. Our room in the new section was a long way from reception area but the room was lovely and spacious and clean. Overall found staff very friendly and food was good in bistro but Saturday morning breakfast was very busy so instead of queuing in the bistro I asked staff if we could get breakfast in the restaurant which was not advised to us as we waited, they said we could try which we did and found the selection of food a lot better than the bistro. If you are considering staying in Jacksons Hotel I would advise that you find out beforehand if there is any weddings or functions on as we didn't get to sleep until 2am with the music and also we were awakened at 4am with a group of young men banging at the door! Next time I might consider the older side for quietness!

Room Tip: Request new section for clean and modern but be prepared for noise as function room is on this side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMeally76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    311
    243
    228
    261
See reviews for
432
624
21
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

After reading some poor reviews before going to this hotel, I am left wondering is there another hotel in Ballybofey called Jacksons. We could find no fault with this one. All the staff from reception right throughout the hotel couldn't have been better. We were on a 60+ midweek special and certainly got value for money. Our room was first class - although it was at the front of the hotel, our sleep was not disturbed by traffic noise. Will probably go back again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

On our visit to Jackson's hotel, there were at least 2 coach loads of visitors, the place was hiving with people which made check-in a nightmare, however when we eventually got our key cards and headed for our room we were absolutely delighted to find that we had been given a suite(maybe a honeymoon room) with a vibrating chair and a jacuzzi bath. The room was enormous, but we were
just staying overnight so we didn't really know the benefit of it.A week would have been ideal.
We went down to dinner which was delicious,and served by very friendly staff. After a good nights sleep we went down to breakfast(good selection). TIP; Go down early to avoid the rush.I would recommend this hotel if in the area. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 402Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I and my family stayed at the Jackson’s hotel for one night on the Sunday 13th of July. The hotel has a beautiful river and forest walk for those who love long walks, the hotel’s interior was nice with a nice swimming pool and sauna. On arrival we were told that check in was not till 4pm, however the day before I was told we can arrive any time from 12pm. Eventually when we were able to check in we were extremely disappointed with our rooms. This hotel has a pet friendly policy, however the rooms where we had to stay with our dog, were in need of some repair and I did not expect to find carpets on the floor!!! The bedding was clean, but you could see stains on the cover, no hot water in the shower and tiles were all coming off the floor. It was an awful smell in my mum’s room, and when we complained the rest of my family got moved to the delux rooms, where pets are not allowed. I have to say those rooms looked lovely, while me and my husband had to say in the same room.
We had to wait for over an hour to get seated for dinner that night and we had not been informed to pre-book the table. We waited for 45min to get our starters and an hour for the main course. We were also told that we were only getting two course menu instead of the three, which we had paid for, when the food eventually did arrive it was nice.
The receptionist at the front desk was extremely rude to my sister in law on the first day.
Overall we went to Jackson’s hotel for the relaxing one night family break with our family pet, but we were extremely disappointed with the pet friendly rooms, the service and a long wait for our dinner. Therefore we did not enjoy our stay as we found ourselves very stressed and complaining all the time!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guoda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ballybofey hotels

Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

A large hotel with 2 parts, the old original hotel and the modern new extension. On arrival we were met by a busy reception but a very friendly and efficient receptionist. When we arrived at our room it wasn't suitable for 4 of us (2 adults & 2 children). We were moved to the room next door without any hassle at all.

We stayed in the old section. On entering both rooms, there was a stale musty smell in the rooms. As the room was over the kitchens, the smell of deep fried food was very overpowering when we opened the windows. The rooms were old fashioned, the TV was tiny but it was spotlessly clean.

There was a wedding in the old part of the hotel and the noise (loud music & karaoke) went on until the early hours of Sunday morning. When the occupants of the room above us moved around, we thought they were going to come down on top of us with the noise of the floorboards!

Despite all that, every member of staff was extremely friendly & helpful, that includes the restaurant. If I was to stay in this hotel again, it would definitely be in the new part!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here and booked for the midweek offer 178 euro for 2 nights with breakfast and a 3 course meal each so the value was excellent. We had our meal in the Bistro and the starters were nice but wasn't too impressed with the main's (mainly the chicken carbonara) but the desert was nice. The beef Stroganoff wasn't very creamy and tasted more like a beef casserole but the beef was tender. The chicken Carbonara's chicken was just chicken breast and lacked sauce. All in all it wasn't terrible as I said before everything else was good. We also attended a wedding and the food was top class so maybe it was just those dishes we personally didn't like. The hotel has some great facilitates on offer and its very nearby a lovely wee forest with stunning scenery. We were in the old part and just did not like the decore at all as it was really dated. The room also only had one socket in the corner of the room though it had an adapter it was still not good enough to have only 1 socket and none near the bed. The shower was the worst I have ever seen in a room as It took ages to heat up and I nearly slipped a few times as it was those annoying shower over a bath things. Staff was friendly and we did enjoy our stay but the old part definitely needs a facelift in my opinion. They were excellent hosts to the wedding we attended and staff were very friendly and are a credit to Jacksons. Final thing to add was the wifi was awful and could not use so maybe a wee upgrade in this too :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiarmuidMcCann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newry
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Usually I try to be positive in my reviews but I was very disappointed at the standard of this hotel from the first moment of setting foot in it. To say the place is dated is an understatement, from the gloomy reception to the dark corridors not to mention the 1960's style room. Old flowery wallpaper, dark brown wood, small TV with a tube in it, dark, dull bathroom with a shower that lacked power!!!
Next to the Leisure Center, grumpy staff, cold pool, old worn out feeling....need I go on. The noise level at night was abnormal most of which seemed to come from an adjoining room which lasted till 2.30 in the morning. Breakfast traffic in the corridors and door banging began again at 7.30am, so not much sleep that night.
There seem to be better rooms in the new wing, but we didn't experience them. We didn't eat in the hotel either so I can't comment.

Room Tip: Try and get a newer room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patreflex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballybofey
0.1 mi away
Villa Rose Hotel
Villa Rose Hotel
#1 of 2 in Ballybofey
1,115 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kee's Hotel, Leisure & Wellness Centre
10.5 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
10.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
10.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jackson's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jackson's Hotel

Property: Jackson's Hotel
Address: Main Street, Ballybofey, CO Donegal, Ballybofey, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Ballybofey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Ballybofey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Jackson's Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the bustling town of Ballybofey, Jacksons Hotel is an award-winning Hotel on the banks of the River Finn and Drumboe Woods. Renowned for its hospitality and great food, Jacksons is the ideal base for touring Donegal and the North West of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Jackson's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jacksons Hotel Ballybofey
Jackson's Hotel Ballybofey, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing