We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of River Finn Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mature Woodland Gardens Front of Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Mature Woodland Gardens
Front of Cottage
Bedroom 1
The River Finn,
Kitchen / Dining area
Kitchen
Mature Garden
Living Room
BBQ area
Modern Bathroom.
Bedroom 3, Triple Bunk.
Kids play area
Gortletteragh Waterfall
Ballybofey
Drumboe Woods,
Donegal Town
Donegal Water Bus in Donegal Town
Ballybofey and Stranorlar Golf Course
The Balor Theater, Ballybofey
Killybegs Harbour.
Living Room
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 7
Ballybofey, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
timmii81
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in September 2015

When we arrived we got a worm welcome. Worm is a good word because the house was heated when we got there. Perfect location, just off the main street in the quiet area. Kids loved the bunk beds and we loved whole house. Marion, the owner of the property, is lovely lady and very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Thank you for the lovely review, I like to make sure the Cottage is warm and cosy on Guest arrival, nothing worse than waiting for a house to heat up. So glad you and the Children enjoyed your stay, I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Marion,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noreen M
Athlone, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 19 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Such a spacious, clean and very inviting cottage to stay at. Beautifully decorated with ample space to sleep up to 7 people. Will most definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How spacious it was
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2015
Thank you for the lovely review and I look forward to your return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STho2212
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great layout, perfect for family”
Reviewed 8 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This house was great for our stay with our young family. Safe and secure with all the facilities that you might need. We felt that there was a lot of room for everyone to have their own space. Having internet and netflix was a bonus.

Marion was easy to deal with and communication was always prompt and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Thank you for reviewing the Cottage, I am delighted that you all had such a good time, I hope to welcome you back in the future.
Best Regards
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen E
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm welcome and great place to stay”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My family(3 x adults and 2 x kids) recently had a really enjoyable stay here. Marion was very welcoming and went the extra mile to check that we had everything we needed. The house was immaculate, very well presented and provided a home from home with plenty of space. The location is beautiful and secluded with several beautiful beached within 30 mins drive and Londonderry about 30-40 mins drive. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
Thank you for choosing River Finn Cottage for your Holiday and for the lovely review, I am delighted you and your Family enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back any time in the future.
Kindest regards
Marion Noonan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie M
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful & relaxing”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed here twice this year and loved it each time. The owners are warm friendly people and the surroundings are beautiful. There is everything you need and more provided for your stay. The cottage is so warm and welcoming. We didn't want to leave. There are fantastic woodland walks close to the cottage and plenty to see and do in both Stranorlar and Ballybofey. We cannot wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Hi Annie, thank you so much for your lovely review and for returning to the Cottage with your Family, I'm so happy you enjoyed it as much the second time around and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Thanks again.
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catie1977
1 review
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We only stayed here for one night but it was enough for us to decide that we will be returning back at some stage and plan to stay longet .. Fantastic place and our hostess was an amazing lady.. Everything we needed (and more) was in the cottage.. Thanks again Marion for you wonderful hospitality and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.. Barry and Catherine Feeney.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for the lovely review, I am so glad you had such a great time during your stay, I look forward to your return visit.
Best regards
Marion
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan1010...
1 review
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Delighted with the accommodation, spotless, luxurious, cozy, spacious and had everything you could possibly need, honestly couldn't find one fault. Stayed for a weekend with my partner and 2 kids, enjoyed it so much I've just booked to return in April.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Feb 2015
Thank you so much for staying at River Finn Cottage and for your lovely review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I am looking forward to seeing you all again when you return at Easter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing