We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old School Hotel - but has a certain charm!”
Review of Seaview Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bunbeg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Seaview Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bunbeg
dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Old School Hotel - but has a certain charm!”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Given the reviews of this hotel I was expecting to be disappointed as I tend to prefer modern hotels. The rooms are dated, the hotel is probably from an era gone by. But the staff are excellent, friendly. It is clean, the rooms are a good size, the food in the bar is good and the price is very reasonable. It is hard to fault it really, it is what it is!

The only gripe i had was the breakfast. i do like my buffet Irish breakfast and good coffee. Think more of a B&B breakfast. The coffee aint great either, nescafe instant, but that seems to be the staple in most places around. Somebody needs to invest in a coffee machine in Bunbeg/Gweedore!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryCrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    28
    22
    10
    20
See reviews for
22
36
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Well impressed with this family run hotel,nothing was a problem during our stay,food and service excellent,comfortable and clean a true Donegal gem! Dont be expecting Dublin or Belfast chic but just good old Donegal hospitality and ambience

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank carriers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I tried to contact this hotel by email twice to discuss our stay but no reply so here is my review.

We stayed one night at the hotel 9th August. It is probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in.

So first the positives.

The showers worked well.

The breakfast room and breakfast were very good.

What was wrong?

Ok so on arrival it did look a bit run down from the outside but we thought no give it a chance. Inside the public areas looked nicer.

We were given room 112. It looked a bit unwelcoming and cold. Tried to lie on the bed but it seemed a bit damp and musty in the room and it was cold despite it being August.

The receptionist moved us to room 117. It didn't smell musty but then it did smell of takeaway food so perhaps that just masked the smell. It was equally unwelcoming. As we were told we could not get our money back we had no choice but to stay.

The bath tap did not work.

We went out and returned later that night.

The covers on the bed looked a bit grubby and smelled - maybe of body odour or maybe of mould I could not be sure. When we tried to go to sleep I felt a bit wheezy. I haven't had asthma symptoms for years. It has in the past been brought on by mould. I tried to sleep but started to cough and knew I could not sleep there.

Middle of the night I decided I had to go sleep in the car.

The very nice night porter offered us another room. This was also a bit drab but on walking in I could tell instantly that the air was breathable. Perhaps the rooms in one part of the hotel are more prone to cold and damp.

Didn't get much sleep and missed the event we came for as well as having to take an earlier night - so missed most of the stuff we came to Gweedore for due to lack of sleep.

So we wasted our money and a lot of time that we will never get back.

I've stayed in a lot of accomodation from hostels to top hotels and even the cheap hostels were less drab and more clean and cosy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bunbeg hotels

mallorca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We had our dinner here and had to say it was one of the best meals in the area! I had steak and Guinness pie and it was delicious and a big plate! The kids ate too and loved it! Thanks for a great night

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nenamallorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malahide, Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I stayed here with three walking companions for two weekend nights. One of my friends, searching for a suitable place to stay in the area of the walk, searched Tripadvisor for a recommendation. We were more than pleased with the result. The hotel is clean, the food is excellent, with a choice from the Bar menu or that of the Gola restaurant. What really made the difference, however, was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, who are equally comfortable in Irish, the native tongue of the region, or English. In deference to our age, the receptionist ensured that we were not close to the Disco, which was scheduled to take place on our second night! Breakfast was excellent and set us up for what turned out to be a tough mountain walk. If you are looking for a good, reasonably priced hotel central to the delights that Donegal has to offer, look no further.

Room Tip: Ask for a front room. The views are better and the disco is at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smackdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

A random 4hour drive ended at this location! Price for 2 to stay in a double room was more than expected @ €70 for the room, the food was basic enough, but it was nice with a bit of variety, could so with more vegetarian options though, drinks were cheap though which made up for room price ;), breakfast was basic with very little in the way of options, choice of 3 cereals and fried breakfast there was only option of eggs being either fried poached or scrambled, no hot vegetarian option available.

Even at that though I would recommend the place as somewhere to stay if up in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevecrow74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This hotel is in a very central location with Bunbeg beach and harbour just minutes away by foot. Wonderful coastline with magical inlets and scenery. Peaceful and uplifting. The Seaview has this on its doorstep and this is its appeal. It is not far from Dunlewy and Errigal, Glenveagh and Glebe house and gallery. The décor is very tired but the rooms are very spacious and great for a short stay. Everything needs a total makeover and refurb. The breakfast is par for the course and very filling. Some yoghurt would have been welcome but otherwise great fayre. The meals we had in the evening were brilliant! Forget any diet you may be on!!! The portions are huge and totally delicious and fantastic value. Try the homemade burger...fab! The staff are friendly and very helpful and cheerful. If you aren't looking for the Hilton, this is a great wee place to base your stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemary n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunbeg
7.2 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
2.0 mi away
Great Northern Hotel
Great Northern Hotel
#4 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
12.3 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Dorrian's Imperial
Dorrian's Imperial
#2 of 4 in Ballyshannon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Glasshouse
The Glasshouse
#4 of 8 in Sligo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Holyrood Hotel
The Holyrood Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bundoran
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview Hotel

Property: Seaview Hotel
Address: Seaview Hotel Seaview Hotel Seaview Hotel Main Road, Bunbeg, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bunbeg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bunbeg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 41
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Bunbeg, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing