We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More a family pension than a B&B”
Review of Teac Campbell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Teac Campbell
Ranked #2 of 6 Bunbeg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2011

My review of this B&B isn't easy, because I struggle with 2 points-of-view.
Considering the most B&B's, I have visited the past years, this B&B has an average value. It's not the kind of B&B's I prefer, this B&B is more a family pension or a "logie de france-hotel" or a lodge. In that range of hotels, this B&B is surely above level.
Although Charlie Campbell isn't that young, she worked so hard in the morning for our breakfast.
The white cat at the stairs was really cute.

My overall rating is somewhere between average and very good.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
Thank postiljon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2011

beautiful house, lovely hosts, great location. with its walls dripping with history and culture, the tea and biscuits welcome, and proximity to an awesome piece of coast, my son and i were very pleased to have stayed at teac campbell this summer.

we only stayed one night but had time for a great meal in a pub 2 minutes walk away, and a good few hours fooling about on the beaches and the headland a very short drive away. very comfortable beds, clean and spacious, it is a also very close to the beautiful landscape of glenveigh national park. breakfast was hearty as you would expect and filled us both up until well into the day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnyjlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

This place is great. We came to Bunbeg for peace and quiet, and found it with the added bonus of stunning beaches and friendly craic. Rooms lovely, some with stunning views. Breakfast was incendiary, with the chance to look around the dining room which was an Irish history lesson in itself. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank lacrimosa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Amazing views ,very helpful with local advice-walks etc. Breakfast excellent in a room with fascinating memorabilia of Ireland

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachcomber51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Good guesthouse we had a lovely view of the sea, good welcome an offered tea, room really cold for a while I couldnt wait until the heating came on got big blanket out of wardrobe but there were a good few white cat hairs on it ewww. Good big car park alot of Irish stuff on walls which I liked.Great area to go out to a bar or for something to eat or even a walk down to a lovely beach .Breakfast was good but we waited an hour before we were served on the second morning its well we wern't in a hurry lol ,lovely an quiet if thats what your looking , mrs campbell was really nice .

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArmaghRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

It was a dreich, drizzly night when we arrived in Bunbeg but our welcome could not have been warmer. Although some people may think of the house's decor as dated, it gives the place a "homely" feel, and that combined with the hospitality makes it a special place to stay. I was initially a little disappointed in the bedroom's decor, but was won over by it's charm and comfort. Slept like a log. Breakfast in the morning was a treat. Perfect bacon, sausage and eggs (from the owner's own hens), toast done as it should be and I take my hat off to Mrs Campbell for serving everyone by herself, she was running about like a dervish - her legs were a blur! Great craic with both Mr & Mrs Campbell. Look forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fantasticplace04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

We stayed here while at a wedding in the area. this is quite a big bed and breakfast and the walls arer covered in photos of olden times and portraits of literary figures - all very interesting especially to visitors from abroad. We were met by the owner who was extremely friendly and offered us tea on arrival. We continued to the wedding and arrived back at some time after midnight -not quite sure when! . The room was clean, the shower worked and the bed was comfy - the cost very reasonable so what else is needed. We awoke in the morning to the sound of hens outside the window and had breakfast, consisting of the freshest, brightest, yellow eggs imaginable. Of course they were from Mrs Campbells hens ouside. Wow. Highly recommend this B&B and will stay again when in this lovely part of Ireland.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goodtime4us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunbeg
3.4 mi away
An Chuirt, Gweedore Court Hotel
3.6 mi away
Caisleain Oir Hotel
Caisleain Oir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Annagry
434 reviews
5.7 mi away
Carey's Viking House Hotel
Carey's Viking House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kincasslagh
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Teac Jack
Teac Jack
#1 of 6 in Bunbeg
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bunbeg Lodge B & B
Bunbeg Lodge B & B
#3 of 6 in Bunbeg
44 reviews
8.7 mi away
The River House
The River House
#2 of 9 in Dungloe
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Teac Campbell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Teac Campbell

Address: Bunbeg, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Bunbeg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bunbeg
Price Range: £60 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Teac Campbell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Teac Campbell Bunbeg, County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing