We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bright cheery welcome and time spent helping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkineely
Certificate of Excellence
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bright cheery welcome and time spent helping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I called to this hotel on spec and because of the fantastic view out to sea. I needed a twin room and as there was none available, I needed to find somewhere else. The lady at reception went to great lengths to find me an alternative with a reassuring smile and calm search. A lovely place with lovely people. Hopefully I can return here someday.

Room Tip: Book early and seek room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    32
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
34
172
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Ok, so the weather might not always be the best, but you are on the west coast of Ireland.
The views across McSwynnes Bay help if it is a bit dreach.
Whatever the weather, sitting supping a pint of the black stuff while snuggled down on one of the nice new comfy sofas taking in said view is pure bliss.
As regarding the food - don't start me!
Although the menu has changed over the years, you are still guaranteed a good choice of fish and shellfish dishes - not surprising really bearing in mind the hotel's proximity to the sea and the fishing port of Killybegs.
Surprising then that so many people (mainly men?) order steak!
After a delicious meal, what better way to further wind down than by sitting with a big glass of red in your jammies once more taking in the ever changing view from your bedroom window (I don't think me in my jammies would go down to well in the bar!)
But as I say...don't tell anyone about this little gem tucked away on the west coast or we'll never get a booking!


Visited July 2014

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Went here for lunch a few days ago. The seafood platter was fantastic - the prawns were so succulent, there was a good portion of lobster, the smoked salmon was unique: never had peat smoked salmon before. The service was excellent, and the price of the meal was good value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessieJDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The good - location and breakfast. Nice view from the room, and the drive out is pretty. Breakfast was tasty and good fish option.

The ok - service. Meet and greet was good, if a bit over the top. Breakfast service was a bit disorganised and inattentive, but they got there in the end.
The dinner options were limited, only offering set two or five courses at high prices.

The average - wifi. Reception not great, had to connect at the door of our room then hope it stayed connected when we went to the bed/desk.

The poor - small bathroom. Looks alright, but had to sit on the toilet at an angle because of the heating rack. Shower cubicle was so small my face was pressed up against the screen the whole time.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Hippiepuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Deserves every accolade for superb food: prawn/scallop signature starter sublime from French chef who's been there 20 years. Backed by wonderful outlook across bay. Each bedroom different decor: some you will like, some not so much; depends on personal taste but all clean and very comfortable and backed by service from staff who can't do enough to help. Fantastic stopover on Irish tour.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maurice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Superb food with very friendly staff. we stayed overnight and the rooms were more than adequate..
Great views of the bay . Would recommend a drive to St Johns point and walk along the shore before dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Murleog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic from start to finish. I cannot recommend this place enough. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Gerry. Natural conversationalist and extremely helpful. The room had perfect views of the herb garden and the coastline. The bed was so comfortable and a pleasure to sleep in.
The food in particular was exceptional. We had the prawn and monkfish starter, steak for me and lobster for him for mains and Belgian choc cake and trio of strawberry for dessert. If you even just go for the food you are in for a huge treat. Extremely thought out selection of wine and their house Sauvignon blanc is clean, crisp and very drinkable :) The restaurant team were attentive but not overly so. We had a laugh with Mikel and,as with Gerry, he is also a natural people person.
We found the whole experience very relaxing and are making a point of heading back up there before the end of the summer.
As before cannot recommend highly enough!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avabranton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunkineely
8.1 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
13.2 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
2.9 mi away
Bay View Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Harvey's Point
Harvey's Point
#1 of 7 in Donegal Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,950 reviews
10.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
13.1 mi away
Donegal Manor
Donegal Manor
#4 of 7 in Donegal Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: St Johns Point, Dunkineely, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Dunkineely
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunkineely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury family owned boutique bed & breakfast with magnificent sea views over looking the ruins of Mc Swynes Castle an the Slieve League cliffs the highest in Europe. Amazing breakfast using local sourced ingredients, homemade preserves, breads, cakes and granola. As well as our cooked breakfasts like our in-house smoked mackerel with scrambled egg or the farm to fork full Irish. Relax with a drink in our honesty bar and enjoy the sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Murray House Hotel And Restaurant
Castle Murray House Hotel & Restaurant County Donegal/Dunkineely, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing