We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best bed and breakfast in donegal”
Review of Brennan's B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brennan's B&B
Ranked #2 of 6 Glenties B&B and Inns
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best bed and breakfast in donegal”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

made to feel very welcome,with a pot of coffee and fresh scones and jam on arrival.very large room great bed and large bathroom. much better than most 4 star hotels we have stayed in.the breakfast in brennans has to be the best on offer anywhere in ireland.cant wait for are next trip to donegal.

Room Tip: the highland hotel right next door good food, nice bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 86liam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
45
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2013

A very lovely welcome with homemade scones, very nice and clean rooms and a superior breakfast (much more than full irish). The house is central and next to pub, resraurant and shops (carpark behind the house and wifi available).
This night and morning is much more worth than we payed.
Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ErikVoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We have been fortunate to stay in Kathleen and Francis Brennan's wonderful B&B in Glenties during the annual MacGill Summer School in July. The bedrooms and the dining room are very comfortable and the breakfasts are superb.But that is not all, the quality and friendliness of the welcome from Kathleen, Francis and their sons is remarkable and every request is immediately responded to with a smile and enthusiasm. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
265 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Of course, there aren't a lot of streets in Glenties, but still. Nice little B&B that adds all the little extras that make your stay enjoyable. Nice room, well decorated, friendly welcome and THE best breakfast we had in 2 weeks in Ireland. Only downsides - could hear talking through the walls and a small bit of street noise (not much traffic in Glenties).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Myself, my mother and my teenage daughter stayed here for 3 nights. We were meant to be staying elsewhere but due to unforeseen circumstances, we ended up here instead. What a blessing that we did. We stayed in the self catering apartment, which had 2 bedrooms, and 2 huge bathrooms. It also had a lovely modern kitchen with every home comfort you could ask for, and a lovely sitting room with modern furniture and fittings. When we arrived, we were greeted by Kathleen and Francis who brought us scones and jam. There was tea, coffee, sugar and milk for us as well, which was a lovely touch.
Everywhere was immaculate, and the beds were really comfy with electric blankets provided as well. Nothing was too much trouble, and i have to say this is by far the best B & B I have ever stayed in.
Breakfast was amazing. There was a huge choice from full cooked Irish to porridge, fresh fruit, cereals and juices, tea and coffee.
We will definitely be returning here in the future.
Thank you Kathleen and Francis for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkglobetrotter23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here 2 years ago - in feb 2011 - at the time of my grandmother's funeral and I've been meaning to post a review since! Although our visit was a sad one for being in Brennan's B and B was really memorable for all the right reasons. Our room was small but perfectly formed and breakfast was just delicious and I will definitely go back - even for that alone. The presentation would tempt anyone who has never tried porridge to eat it and my daughter was delighted with the fruit salad.
Francis and Kathleen were so lovely, considerate and helpful.
If I were to open my own B and B it would be modelled on this one.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkDoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
215 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I stumbled into / onto Brennan's B & B - after Sat Nav directions to a local Youth Hostel were wrong, very wrong .....

What a find !! Friendly, welcoming hosts ....... and I am so glad that I had a late start the next morning and was able to enjoy the breakfast - a complete surprise !!

Not necessarily, 'gourmet' but absolutely gorgeous and exquisite !!

Porridge, with a little tray of honey pot and twirler, cream, and sugar.

Fresh fruit salad, and then a cooked breakfast .......
The butter was even presented in little balls ....... aaaaaah ............ absolutely delightful !!! a real joy !!!! So wonderful - I took a photo !!

Thoroughly recommend this B & B !!! I hope I have the opportunity to go back and enjoy the breakfast again !!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Almostgreynomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenties
5.8 mi away
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lake House Country Hotel
Lake House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narin-Portnoo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Guest House
Avalon Guest House
#1 of 2 in Glenties
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marguerite's Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Brook Lodge B&B
Brook Lodge B&B
#1 of 2 in Glenties
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lisdanar House
Lisdanar House
#1 of 6 in Glenties
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brennan's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brennan's B&B

Property: Brennan's B&B
Address: Main Street, Glenties, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Glenties
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenties
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Brennan's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brennan's B&B Glenties, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing