We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B & B we stayed at in Ireland”
Review of Lisdanar House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lisdanar House
Ranked #1 of 6 Glenties B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsborough, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best B & B we stayed at in Ireland”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Four of us from the states were bicycling for ten days in Ireland and stayed at many B & B's. We stayed at the Lisdanar House about midway through our trip. After a long day on the bicycles in the pouring down rain, Rosaleen welcomed us with open arms and let us use her washer and dryer. Note, she is the only B & B that did this for us, and since everyday we biked in the rain, we were very thankful. After we settled in and had a cup of tea and scones. She told us where the best drinks were being poured, where to get the best food and places to see. She was spot on. Following morning after a great breakfast, she wished us well. If you are in the area, you will not regret your stay here!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisireland, Owner at Lisdanar House, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank You Chad for the wonderful review.I so enjoyed having You four people stay and Conal enjoyed te drive with You to the Hotel next day.I hope You recovered from all the cycling .You were all such fun and I really enjoyed having You stay.Thats why I do this job.Its so worth it when we meet people like You .I hope we meet You all again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
56
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This is the second time we have stayed in Lisdanar, and will keep coming back. Rosaleen is very welcoming and a fountain of knowledge about the local area. Room were spotlessly clean and adequate with the bed very comfortable. Once you experience the ""Full Irish" you will not need to eat for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim0411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisireland, Owner at Lisdanar House, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank You very much for Your review .I really appreciated You coming back again this Year and hope You will return.Thanks for the positive feedbackI....always appreciate it.Hope the Irish dancing was very enjoyable for You both See You again I hope Rosaleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at Lisdanar House twice during a recent cycling trip to County Donegal. Rosaleen couldn't have been a better or more charming hostess. When we arrived soaking wet, she dried our cycle clothes and gave us tea and scones. Her recommendations for walks and dinner were spot on. Breakfast was grand with excellent coffee. Rooms are comfortable, very clean and quiet. Grounds are lovely. We couldn't ask for more. Five stars to you Rosie!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zagtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisireland, Owner at Lisdanar House, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Glad You got Home safely and Thank You for the great review always appreciated.I really enjoyed looking after You and You are both such fun to be with.We havent seen a drop of rain since you left so we are pleased about our Indian Summer.I hope You can return in the future with or without the bikes!!!!All the Best to You Both ...Rosaleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lechtenberg
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Roseleen was amazing. She caters to what you want (giving us a wide option of breakfast choices besides the traditional Irish breakfast) and sat and spoke with us about culture, things to do, and the town itself. The house is immaculate and updated with private bathrooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisireland, Owner at Lisdanar House, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank You so much for taking the time to write a review on Lisdanar .I really enjoyed having You stay and hope You have many Happy memories of your trip.Please visit us agan .It was our pleasure looking after You .Rosaleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Roseleen makes a B&B stay more than a knotch above the rest. My sister and I arrived late and tired after a long day of biking from Glencolmcille. Roseleen would not even hear of us putting our bikes away but took that on herself. She had prepared fresh scones for us and even chilled our wine. The room was very large, spotless and exceptionally appointed. Her breakfast room is a welcoming solarium and the meal most certainly does not disappoint with everything fresh and homemade. She even spoiled us with a made to order fresh fruit salad. Thank you Roseleen for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenDuplanONT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisireland, Owner at Lisdanar House, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank You so much for taking the time to review Lisdanar and for the positive comments...always appreciated at Lisdanar where we strive to make everyone feel at home Hope we see You back agai in the future where the kettle will be on the boil and the wine in the chiller !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We visit Glenties every year for a set dance weekend. The first booking we make each year is Lisdanar. Rosaleen is the best host ever, accommodating every requirement. The breakfasts beat me and I can eat for Scotland and "The wee surprise in your your room tonight" was a muffin which was home baked and delicious after an evening dancing. From the welcome to the farewell everything is first class.

Room Tip: We get the same room every year so don't know about the others. I'm willing to bet they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisireland, Owner at Lisdanar House, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank You so much for your kind words about Lisdanar and the surprises within!!!! Always a pleasure having You both stay and I hope to meet You again very soon.Its very encouraging getting positive feedback like Yours very much appreciated .Thank You both again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the 2013 MacGill summer school. Really lovely B and B. just outside town, parking, great breakfasts and an ideal location for touring this part of Donegal. Guest facilities top-class and Rosaleen good hostess

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mairead N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisireland, Owner at Lisdanar House, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thanks a million for taking time out to review your experience in Lisdanar.It was a pleasure having you stay and hope You will visit again in the near future.We strive to make our guests stay an enjoyable one and have lots of fun with them .Really appreciate Your kind words..Rosaleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenties
11.3 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
815 reviews
11.3 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Highlands Hotel
Highlands Hotel
#2 of 2 in Glenties
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Lake House Country Hotel
Lake House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narin-Portnoo
73 reviews
4.5 mi away
Gort Na Mona B & B
Gort Na Mona B & B
#2 of 9 in Ardara
128 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brennan's B&B
Brennan's B&B
#2 of 6 in Glenties
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisdanar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisdanar House

Property: Lisdanar House
Address: Lisdanar House Mill Road, Glenties, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Glenties
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Glenties
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lisdanar is centrally located for touring South West Donegal.Its a beautiful property set in its own grounds with ample private parking yet only two minutes walk to the village.All the bedrooms are very spacious with private toilet and shower facilities.All are nicely decorated with loads of extras ...hospitality trays, tvs etc...Lisdanar is half way between the Slieve Cliffs and Glencolmcille village where there is the famine cottages and on the other hand theres Glenveagh National Park and the Poisined Glen.Glenties has numerous beautiful beaches nearby and also lake and river fishing.Theres several Great Golf Clubs within driving distance...Horseriding and bike hire can also be arranged.Rosaleen enjoys helping visitors plan their day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lisdanar House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisdanar House Glenties, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing