We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but beware the time machine”
Review of Highlands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highlands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glenties
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stopped for a meal in the Highlands and the food was good, staff were friendly but on entering you go through a time machine back in to the 70s! Don't like the way you have to walk to reception to pay your food bill but the hotel is a pleasant diversion for an hour.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattlanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

Stayed here for one night with my mum and daughter .3 generations .
The hotel offered excellant service as usual - before our meal we were given fresh wheaten bread ,straight out of the oven !!! We were almost full after that alone !
My mum took a fish dish which had seafood chowder with prawns ,salmon ,mussels and makerel !!! Could hardly Finnish .
Thanks forvyourvgreat hospitality from all..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolineonecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Had a very nice night in the Hotel.
The staff were exceptionally good, very friendly and helpful throughout.
We enjoyed our stay because of the service received.
Breakfast was lovely and the food was very good.
The hotel had a real family run feel to it and this adds to its charm.
The rooms are basic but clean, tidy and comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

called in with my partner for lunch on may bank holiday monday and it was a total disaster - all the food we had ordered was not served, additional food we had not ordered was served and we were overcharged. worse, a surly member of staff refused to acknowledge this to the point where i left in complete frustration without even seeking my change (above the overcharged amount).
after complaining to the hotel once i got home, the overcharging was acknowledged and i was offered an unspecified voucher as an apology. i declined this since it would seem obvious a customer with this experience would not wish to return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The staff were very friendly which is a very important part of any holiday. The hotel is just a wee bit run down. The breakfast was ok. The beds were not that comfortable. Hopefully things will improve with time.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RicerDromore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

This is a family owned / run hotel on the main street. The external decor is nice and inviting. The staff are very friendly and mostly family members. The rooms are basic but are clean and functional. The evening meals , served in the bar area, are very good. The Thursday evening stake special is mouthwatering. Breakfast is listed as 'full irish' on the menu, but variations to suit your needs are available.There is an impromptu sing song in the bar which makes the night very relaxing. Bar staff and drinks are enjoyable. While some areas in the inside could do with a make over to brighten up (too much brown), overall our visit was enjoyable and the friendly / chatty staff made the visit enjoyable

Room Tip: Some rooms face onto the rear yard and the view of the area is a little drab
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I had booked a Groupon deal to Ostan nan Rosann in sweet Dungloe for the week-end. Arrived at dusk, and couldn't immediately find it, so stopped at a Filling Station, to ask the lads there. "That's it there", they said, pointing across the road, "but, it's closed down!" Had had a look on Trip Advisor, and was neither really surprised, nor disappointed!! What next tho'? The answer was the Highlands Hotel in Glenties, not too far away. I had a Livingsocial deal, booked with them for next month. So, we trolled up at 5.30, no booking, but I explained the problem, and the very nice staff at reception, booked us in, transferred our Livingsocial voucher, and showed us to a room, at the back of the hotel - no view, but very quiet, so slept like a log!! The room was cosy, comfy beds, nice shower en-suite - all you need, really. The food was excellent - mussels on a bed of shredded cabbage, with bacon and a creamy sauce - yummy!! King Prawns with lots of chilli and garlic, and great chips!! Breakfast was cooked to order, and was good - some potato and soda bread would have made it great!!! We've booked again for February, and are looking forward to it!! Oh, and Groupon refunded their voucher, so am not out of pocket!!!!!!!!!! A win, win, all in all!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have no view, but are really quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenties
5.7 mi away
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardara
313 reviews
11.5 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
12.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
614 reviews
6.5 mi away
Lake House Country Hotel
Lake House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narin-Portnoo
86 reviews
11.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Hotel

Address: Main Street, Glenties, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Glenties
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glenties
Price Range: £96 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Highlands Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Highlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highlands Hotel Glenties, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing