We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes!”
Review of Highlands Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Glenties
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highlands Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glenties
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Yes!”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Considering how much I paid to stay here, this was fantastic value. You get what you pay for in life and hotels are no different. Pleasant staff, bed to sleep in and genuinely brilliant food. The steak I had on Saturday night was really delicious. Could do with a little modernising however.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBell92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    43
    17
    10
    9
See reviews for
37
58
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We have always liked this hotel for a meal and the welcome and homely atmosphere. I had not eaten here for a couple of years as the last time it was very poor. I went back reluctantly as my wife was very fond of it over many years. I had beautiful fresh fish,potatoes,chips and veg. for €10. There seemed to be a lot of older locals in for their daily meal and it is a great service and a place for them to meet. There are a lot of cafes and hotels in Donegal who provide a reasonably priced meal daily for locals. I hope and am sure they make a profit but the meeting place they supply is invaluable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel over 2 nights and it was an excellent base to explore Southwest Donegal. The staff are extremely helpful which is the standout aspect of the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable and had everything we wanted for the few days. Traditional music on a Thursday too which adds to the charm.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

...it's ok. Like others we ended up over a very wet weekend using a living social voucher. Plus points are that the hotel is in the middle of a busy little town with a couple of other bars and places to eat. Staff are friendly and the family run aspect certainly shows through. Room is ample sized if a little cold. The breakfasts were very good but only the cooked Irish breakfast on...and so close to Killybegs I would have liked to have seen some kippers! It would be unfair to comment on the dinner as it was part of the deal, and it's never going to be great, though think decent canteen food and you're somewhere close.

My biggest gripe is the bar area...it is desperately depressing, badly lit, dated and hopelessly planned. I know Donegal has been losing bars and hotels over the years, but a small investment in this area of the hotel would reap benefits.

In general, not bad. Good stop over hotel for a business traveller on the road, or a few days as a tourist.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank McFoieGras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

just back from a weekend at this hotel brill time had by myself ,husband sister and bro in-law i have nothing negative to say about this hotel the staff are brill its clean and very comfortable a little dated but it added character well done highlands

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank westlifeNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, N.Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

A Living Social two night break, Thurs/Fri, for a get away for my wife and me. The hotel is located in the middle of Donegal and, given that it could do with some improvements, it was comfortable for the cost. Furniture in the bedroom had cup marks on all units, it would not take/cost too much to improve things here.
It is family run and all the staff were excellent as to service and advice. The owner came round during our meal to see if all was ok, a definite bonus point. We ordered our 'included' evening meal on the Thurs as it was steak night! I ordered the seafood chowder to start and this was very creamy and tasty. The steaks were well prepared and served with sides; the mushrooms I was able to order cooked in butter instead of deep fried in oil. The food was very good so we also ate in the hotel on the Friday night.
There was impromptu music on the Thurs night, three fiddles, flute and guitar ... excellent, free, entertainment ...
Weather needs to be good as one needs to get out of the hotel to look around.
Overall, for the price, this was a welcome break in a wet January. There was a varied choice for evening meals and breakfasts and all well provided and served by the family staff, ably helped by some other employees.
Locals in Ardara ate here as they liked the food, scampi in their case, another bonus point as shows good local knowledge of what's available.
We enjoyed the break but I'd say this would be a better location to visit when the weather is good ... and when is that?

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I don't think iv ever stayed anywhere before where the owners their family & staff have been as welcoming as here ,everyone said hello asked how we where & what ever you needed you got,the food is unbelievable & reasonably priced ,also the local people are lovely & down to earth ,wr are already planing on going back next year

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorrainepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenties
6.5 mi away
Lake House Country Hotel
Lake House Country Hotel
#1 of 1 in Narin-Portnoo
81 reviews
5.8 mi away
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
Nesbitt Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ardara
295 reviews
11.5 mi away
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
Sandhouse Hotel
Sandhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rossnowlagh
591 reviews
11.6 mi away
Mill Park Hotel
Mill Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Donegal Town
888 reviews
12.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 7 in Donegal Town
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands Hotel

Property: Highlands Hotel
Address: Main Street, Glenties, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Glenties
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Glenties
Hotel Class:2 star — Highlands Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Highlands Hotel Glenties, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing