We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldnt ask for more”
Review of Malin Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Malin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Malin Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Just back from stayin the malin hotel for my cousins wedding !!

I could not have asked for better... I dont usually write reviews but couldnt by pass wat a wonderful hotel!!!

Food amazing
Service- amazing!! Felt like a vip
Drinks brilliant!!

Honestly nothing was a bother to the staff and then were super... Stayed 2 nights woulda stayed the week!!

The man who served us at the top table ensured our glasses were filled on every occasion... He was brilliant and we wanted for nothing!! he pulled out our seats every time we got up and everyone was sooooo helpful!!

Would recommend this lovely, friendly hotel to everyone and will definately b bac!!

Thanks again!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmaaaaaaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago, really nice romantic place to stay. Staff were helpful and very friendly and food was beautiful. Really nice cosy bar with the best pint of draught Coors light.
If you fancy a romantic night away this is perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrendaB36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stunning property. Stunning location. Amazing food. That says it all. Can't rate this place highly enough. Sunday lunch delicious. Food excellent. Quirky hotel. Lots of character. Malin is stunning. Didn't stay but from what we seen of the place we would love to

Room Tip: We didn't stay but we would
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 928K928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Took a five night break which was at an excellent price. Hotel is in a really lovely location, all the staff were exceptional. Restaurant food was good value at 20 Euros for a 3 course meal and coffee but I found the choices rather limited and very heavy. Excellent wine selection, well priced. Bedroom was very small, and not sure what the French Boudoir twist was supposed to be! Clean and comfortable, tiny tiny tiny TV. Bathroom had no window and no ventilation, not the roll top bath I was expecting just a small shower which was more a trickle than a power shower. Lighting in both bedroom and bathroom was poor. For me what makes this hotel average rather than very good was the late night noise. Wedding on the Saturday night = music and shouting until 2.30 am. Sunday night noise and shouting together with bottles being thrown in to a skip lasted past 4 am. Expect some noise but this really was unacceptable. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shropshirelass56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Attended a wedding here in August and was very impressed with the experience. Staff were friendly and efficient, nothing was too much trouble for them. This is a help when you're trying to control two hyperactive toddlers. The function room is unique in it's French style and looked beautiful on the day. The food was delicious and of high quality. Would definitely consider returning to this fine establishment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KopGar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Booked into the Malin Hotel last week as part of a trip we were taking around the North coast of Ireland. We had booked a double room in advance using their website. On arrival at around 7pm we were advised in a matter of fact manner that the hotel had double booked our room and the hotel was full. They had booked us into an alternative hotel 7km's away. Whilst they paid for our night's stay in the alternative hotel I was extremely annoyed at the lack of apology or the courtesy of a phone call in advance of our arrival to advise us of the situation. Also, we weren't the only guests inconvenienced in this manner that evening. I wouldn't consider booking into this hotel again.

Stayed: August 2013
3  Thank Mgmurphy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Given that the Malin Hotel boasts an award for excellence from Tripadvisor we were somewhat underwhelmed.
Lighting terrible, almost dangerously low. Reading in bed impossible until lightshade removed. In breakfast room a fellow breakfaster commented that one had to be careful not to bump into people in the gloom.
Food edible but overrated and over priced.
Should a bottle of non-alc beer cost the same as a pint of full alc beer?
Service poor from under trained but perfectly pleasant young persons. Slow and inattentive to customers' needs and empty plates.
Bed reasonably comfortable - poor sleep not necessarily fault of hotel.
What is the 'French Twist' they advertise? We searched hard but couldn't find it.

Oh dear, sorry about this, but it's true - for us.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the Green. Dread to think what the others are like
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malin
5.4 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge Hotel & Spa
14 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
979 reviews
10.9 mi away
Redcastle Hotel
Redcastle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moville
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Strand Hotel
The Strand Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ballyliffin
346 reviews
3.8 mi away
McGrory's Hotel
McGrory's Hotel
#1 of 1 in Culdaff
220 reviews
19 mi away
An Grianan Hotel
An Grianan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burt
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malin Hotel

Address: Malin Hotel Main Street, Malin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Malin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malin
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Going through the door, you're greeted by the creme de la creme of local society. In the air, a distinct scent of haute cuisine and sensual traces of eau de cologne. Ah! C'est la vie in le Malin Hotel. Here we do things "la francaise" - food par excellence, rooms au courant. And a great pint, too! Boutique? We created the word! We're your little pied-de-terre and your "moulin rouge" in the midst of the beauty of Donegal. Boudoirs that'll knock your socks off, wine to blow your mind and scenery that'll make your eyes pop. Unique? You can say that again. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Malin Hotel Donegal
Malin Donegal
Malin Hotel County Donegal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing