We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good but a few let downs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bracken Court Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balbriggan
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very Good but a few let downs”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel great, food even better but wifi no good in rooms or in reception.. Need to improve on this. Also quality of tv channels in some rooms are poor. Beware. I stayed in 317 and no wifi and very limited channels on tv

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Belfast-trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    391
    242
    92
    27
    30
See reviews for
175
363
27
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We took a midweek break here for an anniversary and they could not have been nicer. They had a welcome note with balloons attached for us in the room - nice touch. Really good spacious room and bathroom, clean and tidy. TV remote as in a lot of hotels was very dodgy. Very friendly staff and a great breakfast with freshly cooked soft eggs, just the way I like them. We had a meal as part of the deal and what we ordered was really not up to their usual standard. I have stayed here before and had a really good steak. My wife's monk fish and prawn kebab was totally overcooked and really rubbery with not very nice sweet potato strips which were soggy and to be honest - rotten. She was given just plain fish and chips as requested and it wasnt great either. The seafood in my gumbo was also overcooked and rubbery - all in all it was disappointing. I know they can do much better. Balbriggan really is very quiet through the week and offers little in the form of entertainment but it is an easy commute in the train into Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I arrived here with my aunt on the 12th August. We were told 7-10mins from airport infact was good 20mins and cost €35. We stayed in a twin room. The Bedroom and bathroom were very spacious. But- rooms are dated. We had no remote in our room. TV didn't work properly and the channels on the TV were stuck didn't work. We requested a new one never got it. As this was a twin room we assumed we'd have 2 of everything. We only had one bath towel and one hand towel. With only one shampoo and shower gel.
The food wasn't great. Not a great variety. Menues were stuck together by staple and on a clip board. Could only barely read them was like as if they were photocopied too many times. Following morning breakfast was edible. Furniture was torn and looked dirty. Our opinion is this hotel is a bare 2&1/2 stars. Although staff were plesant enough we Would not stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Churchview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockrory, General Manager at Bracken Court Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Bracken Court Hotel. I was disappointed to read of some of the experiences detailed in your review.

I would like to invite you to contact me directly to further investigate some of the issues raised. If you could please provide me with your reservation and stay details, that would be much appreciated.

I will look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards

Rory Keogh
General Manager

Email: rorykeogh@brackencourt.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Tipperary, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Today I popped into the Bracken Court Hotel to wait for friends. I sat and ordered a glass of white wine from an idle pub staff member. What I was eventually presented with was the SMALLEST glass of white wine I have ever seen in all my 29 years. The bar man then had the audacity to charge me €5.50 for what can only be described by myself as a 'shot-glass' measure worth of Sauvignon Blanc. I was appalled. I shall NOT be returning to this hotel until they take a good hard look at their location ( ahem.. you're situated in Balbriggan not Paris!!) and adjust their bar pricing accordingly.!!!

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockrory, General Manager at Bracken Court Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of the hotel on your recent stay and for providing us with this feedback. I was disappointed to hear of your experience and I apologise for any inconvenience caused. I would like to investigate this matter further and trace back the issue. I am surprised as we use industry standard measures for all our pouring.

I would urge you to contact me at your earliest convenience. My email is rorykeogh@brackencourt.ie

I look forward to speaking with you and I hope to have the opportunity to restore your faith in The Bracken Court Hotel.

Kind regards,
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The other day myself and two of my friends had dinner in this hotel. Everything was delicious, and cooked to perfection. I would highly recommend eating at this hotel for dinner, all the portions were a big decent size, everything was tasty. I can especially recommend ordering the calamari or duck spring rolls for starter and the sea bass for mains. Thanks to the two brilliant chefs on the night Mark and Noel.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I've tried hard to look at the positives with Bracken Court and there are good things with this hotel. Free car parking, free wifi and friendly staff are all on the plus side. Receptionist, Lisa Mooney, is a total gem, very friendly and pleasant. Our room was big with a large bathroom, the room was clean and overlooked the Main Street of Balbriggan. The bar is welcoming and comfortable to sit in to enjoy a drink. Despite the good points there are a number of negatives I can't get past. The windows of the hotel were filthy and did not keep noise out, the decor is tired looking and the breakfast experience was poor. In the breakfast lounge the seats were torn and frayed, there were no bowls or milk available for cereal and there wasn't enough staff available to cope with breakfast service. Although the staff were very friendly all their hard work does not appear to be supported by management, there just wasn't enough staff available to cope with the number of guests at breakfast and the place could do with a facelift, I'm not sure that Bracken Court really attracts 4 stars.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockrory, General Manager at Bracken Court Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Bracken Court Hotel. I was disappointed to read of some of the experiences detailed in your review.

I would like to invite you to contact me directly to further investigate some of the issues raised. If you could please provide me with your reservation and stay details, that would be much appreciated.

I will look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards

Rory Keogh
General Manager

Email: rorykeogh@brackencourt.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner arrived for an evening function with his work colleagues, it was a 40th birthday. On arrival Lisa on the reception was helpful and extremely polite. After that it went down hill, we arrived to our room to no water working in the sink!! An iron service that didn't work, a tea and coffee facilities that didn't work! The next morning we checked out and discovered we were giving fake money in our chance at the function in the hotel. We returned to the hotel to tell them , where they admitted that there was numerous fake notes in circulation in the hotel an that no they would no change them for us! I am disgusted with the hotel and would advise others to not stay. If you decide to I would check your money!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Balbriggan
3.7 mi away
CityNorth Hotel & Conference Centre
9.9 mi away
The d Hotel Drogheda
The d Hotel Drogheda
#2 of 5 in Drogheda
1,190 reviews
8.7 mi away
Boyne Valley Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Portmarnock Hotel and Golf Links
11.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Malahide
Grand Hotel Malahide
#1 of 2 in Malahide
1,534 reviews
10.2 mi away
Westcourt Hotel
Westcourt Hotel
#3 of 5 in Drogheda
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bracken Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bracken Court Hotel

Property: Bracken Court Hotel
Address: Bracken Court Hotel Bridge Street, Balbriggan, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Balbriggan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balbriggan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bracken Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Each of our 68 five star quality bedrooms and suites is professionally and meticulously designed to make your stay comfortable and relaxing. In designing the Bracken Court Hotel we have placed an important emphasis on in-room facilities and all rooms have cable TV, Direct dial telephones, ISDN Connection Port, tea and coffee making facilities, room safe and trouser press. Smoking rooms and disabled access are also available. Bedrooms vary in size from standard rooms to large family suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Bracken Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Balbriggan
Bracken Court Hotel Balbriggan, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing