We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly as expected, it's a Travelodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Phoenix Park
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exactly as expected, it's a Travelodge”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

You can pretty much predict what you are going to get at a Travelodge and this one is no different. Good points: Clean, comfortable, fairly modern, decent breakfast in the diner next door. Bad points: I tripped the main electric switch in my room on the Sunday morning and as it was Easter Sunday, they couldn't get a maintenance man in until Monday so I was left without electricity. They did offer to move me to a new room but as I was going to be out all day, I declined and did my ironing in the hall instead!! One window wouldn't shut properly which is a bit of a security risk. No complimentary shampoo unlike every other hotel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario C, General Manager at Travelodge Phoenix Park, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Paul O,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I would like to thank you for your kind words. As for the issues you found with the electricity and with the window it shouldn't have happened and I am truly sorry for that. As for the shampoo you are right but I would like to let you know that we are currently in the process of having that sourced from our suppliers in order to start providing it to our guests complimentary. This will be in place during this year.

Should you return to Dublin in the near future please contact me on +353 1 820 2626 or via e-mail to mario.casinhas@travelodge.ie and it will be my pleasure to give you the best available deal.

Looking forward to see you in the near future,

Best regards,

Mario Casinhas
General Manager
Travelodge Phoenix Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    233
    131
    59
    64
See reviews for
269
146
34
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Myself and 2 friends decided to go to Dublin for St Patricks Day. It was all very last minute so due to lack of availability and high prices, we decided to stay here as the description said it was close to the centre and it seemed like a bargain.

Although we weren't expecting great things, this hotel is an absolute joke. The receptionist was of no help, and anytime I approached the front desk she was nowhere to be seen. I could hear her typing on a computer, but surely common sense would tell you to put the computer at the front desk so that you can interact with customers throughout the day!

There was no shampoo or shower gel, no hair dryer, 2 towels in a triple room.

The cafe closes at 1? Or 2 I'm not entirely sure and then doesn't reopen until 6! I think this is ridiculous for a hotel when the cafe is the only place that serves drinks except for a vending machine and it's also the only area you can get free wifi in.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario C, General Manager at Travelodge Phoenix Park, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Sian M,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I regret that you have not enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel to be a joke as we work very hard to ensure that that is not the case.
Travelodge is a budget Hotel franchise and in fact we do not provide Shampoo and Shower Gel and the WIFI is payable thus allowing us to keep the overall price down comparing to other Hotel chains, however, we listen to our guests and we are in the process of having those implemented complimentary by year end. As for the hair dryer, we have them at reception on a first come first served basis to lend to our guests.
As for the receptionist being of no use, it comes as a surprise to me as the general consensus from our guests is that our staff is very helpful, professional and friendly, please do accept my apologies.
The Diner is in fact closed from 2pm to 6pm but as you stated there is vending machines in the lobby for soft drinks and at reception we do sell alcoholic drinks.

Should you return to Dublin in the near future please contact me and I will gladly ensure that you have a perfect stay. My contact details are mario.casinhas@travelodge.ie or +353 1 820 26 26

Looking forward to see you in the near future,

Best regards,

Mario Casinhas
General Manager
Travelodge Phoenix Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castleknock hotels

Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I had not originally planned to stay outside of the city but this location turned out to be not as remote as I had supposed. There is a bus stop a couple of hundred yards down the Navan Road, so, with the exception of getting to and from the airport, you can travel cheaply (EUR2.60 single) to town. Having said that, we were planning to walk in via the Royal Canal, which is a stone's throw from the hotel. However, the canal towpath was subject to extensive repair work at this location and was impossible to access. I cannot find any major fault with the hotel and would agree with the other reviewers citing the friendliness of the staff. The place is quieter than I had imagined and the beds clean and very comfortable. There was a group of (slightly raucous) young rugby players staying at the time, one of whom knocked on my door in the early hours of the morning, apologising when he realised he had got the wrong room, but on the whole it was quite tranquil. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario C, General Manager at Travelodge Phoenix Park, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Simon J,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I would like to thank you as well for your kind words about the staff and they have been passed on.

We would like to apologize for the disturbance you experienced with this other guests.

Should you return to Dublin please contact me directly on 01 820 26 26 or via e-mail to mario.casinhas@travelodge.ie

Looking forward to see you in the near future,

Best regards,

Mario Casinhas
General Manager
Travelodge Phoenix Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014

When we got into our room we discovered that the TV wasn't working. We rang reception they said they were busy checking in guests and would be back to us in 10 minutes. They didn't come back to us. We further discovered that the extractor fan in the bathroom was not working. There was no drinking glasses. there was no floor mat in the bathroom and the windows would not lock.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Seamus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario C, General Manager at Travelodge Phoenix Park, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Seamus M,

I would like to thank you for reviewing out Hotel and would like to sincerely apologize for the issues you found with the room. I would like to assure you that those will be dealt with swiftly so that other guests do not experience the same.

Should you return to Dublin in the near future please contact me directly and I will make sure you will be very well taken care of. My contact details are mario.casinhas@travelodge.ie ot 01 820 26 26.

Looking forward to hear from you,

Best regards,

Mario Casinhas
General Manager
Travelodge Phoenix Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

2nd time to stay here. Both the manager & the team are extremely helpful & friendly. Had a pleasant night's stay & great breakfast! Room was surprisingly quiet considering the location of the hotel next to a main road which makes it handy for travel in to Dublin city centre. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario C, General Manager at Travelodge Phoenix Park, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Mark F,

Many thanks for your kind words. I have passed them on to my colleagues and I can assure you that it means a lot to all of us.

Please get in touch with me in advance when staying next. My e-mail is mario.casinhas@travelodge.ie and my phone number is +353 1 820 26 26.

Looking forward to see you soon,

Best regards,

Mario Casinhas
General Manager
Travelodge Phoenix Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The beds are really comfortables and the bedroom was very clean. The bathroom could have more items like a shampoo and a better soap. I missed also a rug in the bathroom or a small towel. They put an advise instead...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Rafael6891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario C, General Manager at Travelodge Phoenix Park, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Rafael6891,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and I hope you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to Dublin. We appreciate your comments and I can assure you that we are currently working on getting a solution.

Should you return to Dublin please contact me on mario.casinhas@travelodge.ie or on +353 1 820 26 26 and I will make sure we will get you the best deal available.

Looking forward to see you in the near future,

Best regards,

Mario Casinhas
General Manager
Travelodge Phoenix Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed here 28/2, The receptionist was courteous and pleasant , the accomadation was clean, the room was warm and the bedding was clean and cosy, This hotel is located well for M50 , and is well served by buses to city center, This hotel is perfect as a place to get your head down and would be ideal for short stays at a very reasonable rate. All staff very polite and Friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rorco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario C, General Manager at Travelodge Phoenix Park, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Rorco,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. I have passed on your comments to the staff.

When visiting Dublin next, please get in touch with me on +353 1 820 2626 or via e-mail to mario.casinhas@travelodge.ie and i will ensure you will be extremely well taken care of.

Looking forward to see you in the near future,

Best regards,

Mario Casinhas
General Manager
Travelodge Phoenix Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleknock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,323 reviews
Louis Fitzgerald Hotel
#2 of 7 in Clondalkin
1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Phoenix Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Phoenix Park

Property: Travelodge Phoenix Park
Address: N 3 Navan Road, Castleknock D15EW29, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Castleknock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Phoenix Park 3*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge Phoenix Park Hotel is set in its own attractive grounds in leafy Castleknock with Dublin's famous Phoenix Park only a short stroll away. Designed to meet the needs of today's budget conscious guests be it families, corporate guests, contractors, long/short term stay customers. The Travelodge Phoenix Park Hotel in Castleknock cannot be beaten for inexpensive accommodation, special offers and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Phoenix Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Phoenix Park Hotel Castleknock
Travelodge Dublin
Travel Lodge Dublin
Dublin Travelodge
Dublin Travel Lodge
Travelodge Phoenix Park Castleknock, County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing