We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy & relaxing”
Review of Castleknock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Castleknock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfy & relaxing”
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband for a weekend, thought it was a great hotel.
Good points:
1) under floor heating in the bathroom
2) separate bath & shower but bath also had shower head
3) roomy & comfortable bed
4) good sized room
5) recycling encouraged & recycling rubbish bag provided
6) room was a nice temperature, not too hot as most hotel rooms are
7) staff were nice
8) the hotel was quiet, lot of people staying there but not noisy.
9) swimming pool & spa facilities
10) room & hotel very clean

Bad points:
Docking half a point due to the food, it was ok but not wow.
Another half point as I thought the water in the bath & shower could've been hotter but then I like really hot showers.

Overall very enjoyable stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StephWalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear StephWalsh

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your review and for listing the points you found positive during your stay. I am delighted to know you enjoyed your relaxing break, and that you found the time to make use of the complimentary leisure facilities.

All of our double size beds are in fact either queen or king size, as our guests comfort is extremely important to us.

I hope we can welcome you both back again for another enjoyable break

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    444
    182
    92
    75
See reviews for
343
519
32
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed here the night of justin timberlake at pheonix park in july 2013. Such a beautiful hotel, brilliant food and comfortable room. You couldnt ask for more, and to top it off was getting midnight sandwiches which were great!.

Room Tip: Every room is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmett c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear emmett c

Thank you for choosing Castleknock Hotel to complete your night after attending the concert.

I am delighted to read that you found our bedrooms comfortable, this is extremely important to us.

I hope we can welcome you back again soon

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Some of my family stayed here for 4 nights whilst my daughter, husband ,toddler and baby and myself joined for New Year's Eve stay. Good rooms, helpful staff and excellent meal and very child friendly. All enjoyed pool and gym.also very quiet...presence of security staff excellent

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Barbara K

Thank you for passing on your feedback and for choosing Castleknock Hotel for your family break. We do aim to be a very family friendly Hotel. I hope the kids enjoyed use of the kiddies pool, we also have an outdoor playground on our south facing terrace.

I hope we can welcome you and your family back in the future.

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. The staff could not have been any more friendly, in all the areas (restaurant, check in, spa, housekeeping). There were nice touches with fresh milk delivered to the room for our tea, or a pillow menu for different types of pillows.

We had lunch in the lobby/ bar area. It was carvery (and an expensive one at that, nearly €14), and was barely warm.

The spa was lovely, although my poor mother was booked for two treatments back to back and the second therapist clearly forgot about her as she was left lying on the bed a half hour waiting.

The restaurant is gorgeous, really nice décor and the staff were so attentive. It is so expensive though, the drinks were so dear, even the cheapest bottle of wine was almost €24!

Breakfast was nice, and they do a self service and a menu for kippers, salmon, pancakes etc. but they charge a fee (€3) for the menu items. I have never had to pay a surcharge on these items in any other hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LydiaEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
DeaR LydiaEmma

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your review. I am delighted that our friendly team of staff added to the enjoyment of your stay. Attention to detail has always been a necessity to us throughout the Hotel so again, it is great for me to know these details added to your overall satisfaction.

I have taken all of your points on board in relation to our pricing, however I want to assure you that we review our prices on a regular basis and also complete frequent competitor analysis reports, where we compare our prices against similar hotels and product offerings.

Thank you again & I hope we can welcome you back

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

1 business guest.

Had feedback from colleagues that this was the hotel to stay in when in Dublin. I was a bit disappionted, as the hotel felt quite tired and in need of a refurb. The detail was sorely lacking in most areas although the high points were: service & gym/spa facilities.

Food was okay, but the restaurant & bar area felt distinctly 3 star. Rooms were very large, but again just lacking in detail.

Its a shame as the location and facilities suggest what could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redhotrobert1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear redhotrobert1979

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback.

Firstly I am delighted to had the time to make use of the complimentary Leisure and Gym facilities during your stay and I do hope you enjoyed this.

We have 2 restaurants in the Hotel, one being the AA Rosette Award winning Park Restaurant and the second being our Brasserie Restaurant. In fact, the Brasserie Restaurant is currently being completely re-furnished and updated, we are aiming to have this project completed in the coming months.

Our team of staff & managers constantly aim to improve all aspects of the Hotel on an on-going basis. Internal decor & attention to detail is, and has always has been, extremely important to us throughout all departments.

Due to the current ongoing projects, I would be confident that if you stayed again you would leave with a more positive opinion.

Thank you again & Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed here with our 3 year old toddler, and had a lovely stay here. It is an extremely family friendly hotel, all the staff were very accommodating. The rooms were lovely and clean and the bar food was great. It was very busy when we stayed there, during mid term break, but the service didn't suffer. We used the pool once while we were there, the changing areas were a bit small but it was also very busy the day we were there, so it felt a bit cramped. Breakfast was great each morning too. It was a bit of drive from the city, but close enough to the Zoo.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharonM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear SharonM8

Thank you for passing on your feedback, this is greatly appreciated.

We do aim to be a family friendly Hotel with our Kiddies pool and outdoor playground for the children to use. I am thrilled you had the time to use the leisure facilities during your stay.
.
We are a 15 minute drive into Dublin City Centre and just a 5 minute drive to The Phoenix Park, which is where Dublin Zoo is located.

Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your family break & I hope we can welcome you back soon

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wATERFORD CITY
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This hotel has been awarded hotel of the year .Stayed there for 2 nights last week end . Has a meal in the Brazier restaurant on the Saturday evening .Must say the quality ,presentation and taste of the food was excellent. Classic delivery of cuisine in every sense .Well done to all .

Room Tip: Great hotel for couples or families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berlitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Berlitz

Thank you for your review. As you mention Castleknock Hotel has been named Hotel of the Year for 2013/14. This is an achievement we are all immensely proud of.

I am delighted you enjoyed your meal in our Brasserie Restaurant & I hope we can welcome you back again soon

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleknock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,369 reviews
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,965 reviews
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleknock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleknock Hotel

Property: Castleknock Hotel
Address: 1 Porterstown Road, Castleknock Dublin 15, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Castleknock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleknock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castleknock Hotel, an award winning 4 star hotel is located right on the doorstep of Dublin City, set in lush grounds with an onsite golf course, beside the Phoenix Park. Specialising in corporate stays, conferences, golf breaks, weekend weddings and relaxed family and leisure visits, the hotel is just 15 minutes from Dublin city centre and 20 minutes from Dublin Airport with easy access on the M50, but feels like a world away from the bustle of the city with its tranquil countryside setting. Just outside Castleknock village, this stylish but informal and relaxed hotel is a spacious, modern hotel which, with its expansive views over the golf course and surrounding countryside, makes a delightfully pleasant base for both business and leisure guests. With an 18-hole golf course, award-winning restaurants and welcoming bars, an innovative meeting and events offering, substantial sports screens, outdoor patio and children's playground, there is something for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Castleknock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleknock Hotel And Country Club
Castleknock Hotel Country
Castleknock Hotel County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing