We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable”
Review of Castleknock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castleknock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here on Good Friday night, excellent check in, beautiful room with lovely view. We were upgraded due to problems with our online reservation. We then went to the bar for food to be told by 3 different staff that we couldn't order alcoholic drinks, we didn't even ask about drink but just wanted to get our 2 yr old fed. I ordered a baby bowl to include mash potatoes and veg with a little soup instead I got a spoonful of cold mash with veg that I couldn't eat not to mind my son, and all topped off with gloppy salty gravy, because my son was so hungry I just fed him with the excuse for a baby dinner. We ordered a starter to share and 2 x fish and chips that eventually came all together after almost an hour, starter and main course together, out of sheer frustration we just accepted it but couldn't eat the starter as it was cold and sent it back, fish and chips were seriously disappointing and tiny portions. Dinner came to a total of 42 euro, I was shocked to see that i was charged 3euro for baby bowel and 3.50 for a scoop of ice cream for my son!
When we got back to our room it was so hot, like other reviewers we couldn't open window due to the loud noise coming from motor/boiler outside that continued until 12am.
Breakfast I thought was very good, tasty, not greasy and plenty of choice, and I did like the fact that people with small children dined in a separate area.
We thoroughly enjoyed the pool, clean and lifeguard on duty at all times.
It's a beautiful hotel, we will be back but we will definitely not be having dinner or bar food. The waiting staff seriously need a good shake up and/or training as one waiter in particular seriously frustrated us.

Room Tip: Ask for one as far away from the boiler as possible even if it means sacrificing a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fadono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Fadono

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments. I am extremely disappointed reading your experience with the Bar Food Menu. Over the Easter Weekend, we were very busy and we must admit, slightly overwhelmed. Rest assured, this will not be an issue next year as we will take every action to be over prepared so that none of our guest's dining experience will be impacted. I do sincerely apologise.

I am glad you and your family enjoyed use of the pool, our pool is heated so ideal for smaller children to enjoy.

I am delighted you said you will return and we look forward to welcoming you and your family.

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

738 - 744 of 1,405 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Second visit, having been here in July 13. Hotel facilities are good with nice pool and play ground out the back. In 9 months the service and quality of food have deteriorated badly. Expect to at least be given cutlery at dinner. Seen lots of unhappy people waiting for ages with unsettled kids. Breakfast was poor and dinner a big let down. Won't be back.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank CSA1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear CSA1978

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your review & choosing to return to Castleknock Hotel.
I am sorry to read about your experience; this is by no means our usual standard. Over the recent Easter Weekend break, we were extremely busy and unfortunately this did cause some slight delays to our ground floor service. Please note, action will be taken to ensure this does not happen again

Thank you again for your feedback

Kind Regards
Guy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We had booked for two nights, when we arrived the girl at reception told us we were in Room 153, so we headed up only to find out key did not work. Luckily there was a cleaner in the corridor who let us in, my wife and two girls got settled in while I got our suitcase. I then went back to reception and told them my keys were not operating, she then informed me that our room was in fact 156! I headed back up to 153 and had to tell the girls to tidy up and move as they were in wrong room. Room 156 was at the rear of hotel and not large enough to be a family room,with a cot squeezed in, it had a very poor and limited view with numerous air conditioning units for other parts of the hotel located outside our window which were very noisy when we opened windows. I ensured that the radiator was turned off when we arrived, the weather was fantastic and with the sun beaming all day at rear off hotel, when we got back to our to our room after dinner around 6pm the room was absolutely boiling. We could not open the windows as the noise from the air con units was very irritating, my young girls could not sleep and were very agitated all night! There was a fan but it was pointless as it only moved hot air about the room. Needless to say we checked out a night early, they did not offer a refund or discount but they did say that my name is on the computer and if I book again they will locate us at a room not near any air con units????

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulD12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear PaulD12345

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments. I am sorry for the slight mix up upon check in and we will be carrying out re-training with the staff concerned to ensure that this does not happen again.

The family room you stayed in, as you know, consists of a double bed and double sofa bed. We recommend this room for a maximum of 2 adults & 2 children sharing under 8 years of age. The majority of feedback in relation to the standard family room has been very positive so I am sorry you felt otherwise. We do have a larger family room option consisting of two adjoining rooms which provides more space and larger beds.

Unfortunately these interconnecting rooms are very popular so we recommend booking these well in advance.

In relation to the noise you mention, as part of our environmental plan we have a CHP unit located at the rear of the Hotel, which can from time to time, unfortunately affect a small number of our 138 bedrooms. We do monitor the operating times of this unit are carefully in order to reduce the potential level of disruption to our guests as much as possible. During the Summer Months the hours of operation are significantly reduced to allow guests to open the bedroom windows during the warm weather without any disturbance.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide a review of the hotel.

Yours Sincerely,
Guy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Booked into the hotel Easter Saturday for three nights we had dinner in the package. we ate dinner on the 1st night, in an area which was like a cafe and service was terrible. We waited too long almost 1hr...kids got bored ...our waitress was not attentive, very slow and never asked us if everything was ok with our food. Breakfast is also served in the cafe area especially
for those who have young kids!! Unfortunately guests with young children seem to be excluded from the more elaborate area of the restaurant! Breakfast buffet was poorly presented with cheap looking plastic covers over hot food....very basic....certainly not in keeping with a 4* hotel more like a roadside cafe. Overall the standard of food was poor, so much so that we drove to other restaurants in the region to have dinner on the 2nd & 3rd nights. During our stay, we witnessed many guests complaining about the waiting time & poor quality of food.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tillie2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Tillie2008

Many thanks for your review. I appreciate the time you have taken to pass on your comments and I am of course extremely disappointed reading your words. This is, by no means, our usual standard and I sincerely apologise for your overall experience.

Over the Easter Weekend we were extremely busy which unfortunately led to a some minor delays in service on our ground floor, but rest assured we are taking action to ensure this does not happen again.

Our breakfast is served in our popular Brasserie Restaurant and I apologies if you felt you were excluded in any way as this was certainly not our intention. We open the AA Rosette Award winning Park Restaurant for breakfast service when that extra space is needed to have each guest seated comfortably.

The feedback in relation to our breakfast buffet is normally very positive but we will certainly take your comments on board and review our offering going forward.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Yours Sincerely,
Guy Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Great layout and leisure centre is excellent. Not enough staff means that ordering a meal can be a slow and hit and miss affair. Missed drinks and forgotten meals means that the whole family could not get eating at the same time, Leisure centre staff were just excellent when dealing with my handicapped son - full marks on that score

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Colm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Colm M

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your review. I am delighted to know the Tonic Staff members looked after you and your son during your time at the Leisure Centre.

In relation to the slow service you mention, over the Easter Weekend we were extremely busy. This, unfortunately, led to some minor delays in service on our ground floor. I do apologise for the inconvenience to you and your family. Rest assured we are taking action to ensure this does not happen again.


Many thanks
Yours Sincerely
Guy Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Beautiful location, minutes from Phoenix Park & yet a countryside setting. Reception staff helpful & polite. Restaurant staff pleasant & polite. Food average and a 60 minute wait for a burger on night one, 70 minute wait for chicken wings on night two. Neither night was particularly busy. On check out two groups of guests complained re restaurant wait and incorrect order served. Reception staff, to my surprise, offered no compensation or adequate apology. Breakfast was poor for a hotel of such calibre. Gym is small, 7/8 aerobic machines, min weights, one deflated gym ball. Room was clean and bathroom products fantastic. Poor to no Internet connection in room. No fridge/minibar in room. Room overlooked car park, to front of hotel, and traffic was noticeable from 5am.

Room Tip: Request room to back of hotel, not overlooking car park as main road is busy and bus arrivals during...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank everella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear everella

Thank you for your review. As you mention, we are very close to the Phoenix Park and yet just 15 minutes drive from the City Centre. I am delighted to read our reception and restaurant team were polite and friendly towards you as Customer Service is, and always has been, extremely important to us.

I am sorry to read about the delay on your meals being served, I understand this can be frustrating so I do sincerely apologise. In regards to the Gym, we have all the necessary equipment to suit the needs of our Target Market and Clients, however I do sincerely appreciate your comments.

Thank you again

Yours Sincerely
Guy Thompson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My wife, daughter and I spent a great week at this hotel over the St. Patrick's Day week. The property is absolutely beautiful, and the staff were top notch. My daughter caught a stomach bug while we were there and the staff went above and beyond to make her comfortable, offering free peppermint tea to settle her stomach and constantly asking how she was doing. When in the Dublin area we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank centexhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear centexhotel

Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback.

I am very sorry to read that your daughter caught a stomach bug while on her break away, It is great to know our team of staff helped you as much as they could.

I do hope to welcome you all back soon.

Thank you again

Yours Sincerely
Guy Thompson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleknock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,606 reviews
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,104 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#70 of 150 in Dublin
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleknock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleknock Hotel

Address: 1 Porterstown Road, Castleknock Dublin 15, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Castleknock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Price Range: £69 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleknock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castleknock Hotel, an award winning 4 star hotel is located right on the doorstep of Dublin City, set in lush grounds with an onsite golf course, beside the Phoenix Park. Specialising in corporate stays, conferences, golf breaks, weekend weddings and relaxed family and leisure visits, the hotel is just 15 minutes from Dublin city centre and 20 minutes from Dublin Airport with easy access on the M50, but feels like a world away from the bustle of the city with its tranquil countryside setting. Just outside Castleknock village, this stylish but informal and relaxed hotel is a spacious, modern hotel which, with its expansive views over the golf course and surrounding countryside, makes a delightfully pleasant base for both business and leisure guests. With an 18-hole golf course, award-winning restaurants and welcoming bars, an innovative meeting and events offering, substantial sports screens, outdoor patio and children's playground, there is something for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castleknock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleknock Hotel And Country Club
Castleknock Hotel Country
Castleknock Hotel County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing