We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
florida
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

very nice and clean and pleasant. Seemed a bit short staffed at the bar/ light eating area. Pool was beautiful but closed at 730 and you were not allowed in the pool without a bathing cap, which they sold for 3 euro in the spa shop!
If you leave early as we did, be sure they open the outer doors for you...we had to go back to the front desk and find the desk man to come unlock the doors for us,

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear mnstravel

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback.

I am happy you enjoyed your stay with u & thank you for all of your comments.

I hope we can welcome you back soon

Yours Sincerely
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    434
    176
    90
    73
See reviews for
331
499
28
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Writing this at one fifteen am. Exhausted but no sleep because of noise from wedding down below. Sounds like they are really rocking to Oasis. Shut window but now room roasting and bass thumping through floor. At least kids so tired they are sleeping through. Never staying here again lesson learned.

Room Tip: Don't stay in front rooms overlooking car park at weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margaret o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear margaret o

I am truly sorry for this inconvenience to you. This is not a common occurrence & I sincerely apologise that your night’s sleep was disrupted.

We have a one wedding a day policy, and our ballroom is located on the ground floor. On rare occasions, it can effect a small number of the bedrooms. If you decided to stay with us again in the future, please do request a room away from the ballroom or on the 2nd floor, this will be accommodated happily for you. We do try to minimise this disruption as much as possible.

Thank you again
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times before - it is a good location for Dublin or airport (by car) and has very pleasant grounds, spa and public areas. Rooms are pretty good but no heat control or air con, so can be an issue depending on weather.
It seems to do frequent wedding and family breaks trade so be prepared for lots of children and late night noise especially at weekends. Stayed last weekend and the music from the wedding on Friday went on until after 2.00am. Despite asking for a room away from the wedding function room we found ourselves above the function room- noise levels totally unacceptable I'm afraid and really ruined our stay.
When asked if we enjoyed our stay on checking out we did point the noise issue to no effect. I think I paid 160euro for the night in question and I would have got more sleep in my car! Would have to think hard before staying here again.

Room Tip: Avoid anywhere near function rooms at front of hotel due to noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kerlinso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear kerlinso

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback from your stay and for choosing to return to Castleknock Hotel. I do apologise for your inconvenience & I certainly understand your frustration. We have a one wedding a day policy and are a popular choice of wedding venue. Our wedding Ballroom is located on the ground floor. Unfortunately on some occasions, the music can effect a small number of our bedrooms. We do try to reduce disruption as much as possible.

On the weekends we welcome locals and families alike who tend to Dine in our Restaurants or enjoy the live music in the lobby. In turn we have just opened a new Kids Club for the summer months, which is open 7 days a week, to help keep the children entertained with activities and to try to reduce any inconvenience to other guest's in the Hotel.

Thank you again

Guy Thompson
Kind Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I booked the Castleknock Hotel for a 4 day business meeting earlier this month for 25 people. What a fantastic find! Beautiful scenery, lovely light and airy rooms, efficient friendly staff - nothing was too much trouble. The food was superb and the facilities were excellent. I have rarely stayed anywhere without having at least one minor problem but this was an incident-free, stress-free event thanks to the wonderful staff. Well done, I would not hesitate to use this hotel again either for business or my own personal use.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biancajuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Biancajuke

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your review, this is greatly appreciated.

It is wonderful to read your feedback as a business client, and great to know that each and every one of you were looked after throughout your meetings. We have a range of recently re-furbished meeting rooms here at Castleknock Hotel.

I hope we can welcome you back soon whether this be for business or leisure use

Thank you again

Yours Sincerely
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This is not my first time to stay at this hotel. Let me stay this,beautiful grounds and close enough to the city. Be careful staying there at the weekend because it is a wedding hotel. Knowing this we asked for a room away from the ballroom and were told we had it, not so we were right on top of it. The beat of the disco went on until well past 2 AM. There is no air conditioning in the rooms.......how can that be? So you cannot regulate the temp. No Flat sheets on the beds so when it is too hot your choice is sleep without the comforter. In June the heat was still being pumped up into the bathrooms via the floor. The showers are not more that 3 square feet in size. In our room the shower head needed to be fixed and the shower drain was not draining properly. Lot of kids and i mean lots of kids, running up and down the corridors when we were there making noise left by their parents to fend for themselves while they at the bar/wedding nonetheless a pain in the neck for other guests. 9 euros for Irish Breakfast if you book it with the desk the night /day before. 16.95 euros if you fail to do so and want it that morning. That seems a little harsh? With regards to price which was all over the place this hotel is not great value. The have become very complacent ,living off wedding traffic at the expense of ordinary leisure travelers.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a wedding on and demand a room as far away from the ballroom as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank euroflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear euroflorida

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your review. It is great to know you found the grounds beautiful and as you mention, we are only a 15 minute drive from the City Centre.

In relation to your other points, I must apologise for your inconvenience.
We, as a team of staff and managers, constantly thrive on improving our standards throughout the Hotel. This is done through constant projects and investments to try to ensure each and every guest is looked after to the highest standard.

We appreciate negative feedback as this will only help us improve even further. I am truly sorry to read about your experience & please do know that I have taken each point on board.

I would feel confident that if you returned, you would leave with a more positive opinion

Thank you again
Yours Sincerely
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King City, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We booked Castleknock the morning of our stay, as we wanted to be close to the airport for our departure the next morning. We had previously stayed at a sister hotel (Faithlegg) and loved it. The grounds and hotel at Castleknock are modern and beautiful. The room was perfect as we had lots of room for repacking all our suitcases in preparation for our trip. The beds were about the best in Ireland lovely bathroom! We had a dinner B&B package - the website said not available, but by calling we were able to book it. It was very reasonable and made our last night in Ireland very relaxing. Staff were very accommodating. There was a mixup in the dining room with one of our main courses - but the staff were exceptionally apologetic and comped a glass of wine.

Room Tip: Best to call the hotel directly to find out which rooms are available and what specials are on offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CD891950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear CD891950

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback and for choosing Castleknock Hotel for your last night in Ireland. I am delighted you found the beds so comfortable and had a nice sleep prior to your travels.

I hope we can welcome you back next time you visit Ireland

Thank you again

Yours Sincerely
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinloss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My Wife and I stayed here for 5 Nights , Wednesday through to Monday .

We arrived extremly early for check in but this was not a problem for the excellent staff at the front desk to deal with , we had a little look around ( A couple of pints of Guinness) and in no time our room was ready. The lady at the front desk could not be more helpful and even advised us on taking a room to the back of the hotel as this would be a little bit quieter as the hotel was in for a busy weekend. I mentioned just in a passing comment that it was my Birthday and our Wedding anniversary while we were staying at the hotel , a lovely little touch of a birthday card and some chocolates and an Anniversary card and some chocolates were sent up to our room on the above mentioned days. Thank you little touches make the difference.

I was expecting my room to be nice because we had stayed here 3 years prior to this visit and knew what to expect. Lovely room but attention to detail needed , marks on walls , burnt wall socket , toilet in need of some TLC , all 5 minute jobs which would have made my overall rating a five star if sorted. Our room even though lovely and quiet was overlooking the Bins and recycling area , all of this could have been easily hid away by errecting shed which is a shame because it was a bit of a mess!!!.

The room was cleaned everday to a very high standard and was always done whilst we were out seeing the sights , Thank you.

We ate in the hotel a couple of times and the food was always good and reasonable pricing too, Great pint of Guinness and lovely craft beer on offer, try them all.

The Irish staff in the restuarant were brilliant , the Eastern European not so much , which again is a shame because they totally let the side down

Used the Gym which is a great facitlity,

Overall we had a great Holiday in the Castleknock hotel , its just a shame that a few wee bits and pieces let it down .

Thanks again to all the staff , you made us feel very welcome

Room Tip: Room needs a little bit of attention
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce6854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Bruce6854

Thank you for passing on your feedback & for choosing Castleknock Hotel & Country Club to celebrate both your Birthday & Wedding Anniversary.

I am delighted to read how welcome our front office team made you both feel. Customer service and attention to detail is, and always has been, of great importance to our team of Staff and Managers. I have certainly taken note of your points about the bedroom. We constantly have projects ongoing to keep improving our standards and services even further.

I hope we can welcome you both back in the near future


Thank you again

Yours Sincerely
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleknock
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
7.5 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,351 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
3.5 mi away
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleknock Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleknock Hotel & Country Club

Property: Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
Address: 1 Porterstown Road, Castleknock Dublin 15, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Castleknock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleknock Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, the multi award winning 4 star hotel, right on the doorstep of Dublin City. Castleknock Hotel & Country Club is an award-winning modern 4 star hotel set in lush grounds with an onsite golf course, located beside the Phoenix Park, Dublin. Specialising in corporate stays, conferences, golf breaks, weekend weddings and relaxed family and leisure visits, the hotel is just 15 minutes from Dublin city centre and 20 minutes from Dublin Airport with easy access on the M50, but feels like a world away from the bustle of the city with its tranquil countryside setting. Just outside Castleknock village, the stylish but informal and relaxed Castleknock Hotel and Country Club is a spacious, modern hotel which, with its expansive views over the golf course and surrounding countryside, makes a delightfully pleasant base for both business and leisure guests. With an 18-hole golf course, a deluxe day spa, a well-equipped leisure centre, award-winning restaurants and welcoming bars, an innovative meeting and events offering, substantial sports screens, outdoor BBQ and children's playground, it's everything that could be required from a great resort hotel, all under one roof. Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, AA Ireland's Hotel of the Year 2014, has 138 guest bedrooms, most of which were recently refurbished in 2015. Some of our upgraded rooms offer amenities such as SMART TV's, Nespresso machines, premium sports channels and high speed WiFi. Bedrooms are spacious and bright, comfortably furnished, and many with charming views over the manicured greens and careful planting of the undulating 18-hole parkland course at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, one of the closest golf hotels to Dublin city. Winner of over 32 local, national and international awards since 2009, Castleknock Hotel & Country Club is a luxury property designed to meet the needs of the most discerning guest, whether staying for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castleknock Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleknock Hotel And Country Club
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing