We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family break”
Review of Castleknock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Castleknock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family break”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Stayed here on 13th july for 2 nights, lovely hotel and friendly staff. Downside was price , noise and heat. Room was small for family of 4 and not 4 star standard, have stayed in better 3 stars and alot cheaper. Breakfast standard . Rooms noisy and hotel very busy and noisy not somewhere I would return with the kids.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clou14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear clou14

Thank you for staying in Castleknock Hotel for your family break and for taking the time to pass on your feedback. I am however, very disappointed reading your comments. We are a very popular choice of family hotel in Dublin due to our kids club, kiddies pool & outdoor playground.
We always try our best to remain a family friendly Hotel. I am very sorry you did not feel this way and left feeling unsatisfied.

I am delighted you found the staff friendly. Please know I completely appreciate your feedback and have taken all points on board.

Thank you again
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    597
    444
    182
    92
    75
See reviews for
343
519
32
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leitrim, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights with my mother and my sister. We were on a spa break. The hotel is lovely, looks very nice, big, spacious and modern when you walk in and the reception staff and welcoming, friendly and efficient. The rooms are lovely again standard enough 4 star hotel had all the usual bits and bobs, clean and comfortable, no complains at all little bonus is the proper sizes mugs in the room instead of the silly tiny tea cup and saucer ones you usually get! The room was very very very hot, I don't know if there was heating on or if it was just the very humid weather outside but none of us slept the first night it was so hot. the second night we got a fan from reception and sheets instead of duvets from housekeeping and everyone slept much better.

We ate from the bar menu on the first night and oh dear it took so so long. We waited nearly 50 minutes for the chicken wing starters after ordering them. The waiter apologies and we received a complimentary drink. He said there was a mix up in the kitchen, this was fine. When they did come out they were lovely very tasty, it was just a shame about the delay. thankfully we were relaxed and laid back because they then tried to take the wings off us asking if we were finished despite the fact we were clearly still eating them! We ended up putting all the wings into one bowl because he really really seemed to want to take some dishes off us! When we did finish our mains came out very quickly so I imagine these were ready and that is why he was so eager to take the wings off us! Main dish was lovely no complains. The next morning we went for the buffet breakfast, I wouldn't eat a big breakfast so I ordered two poached eggs (which are on offer on the menu) the girls just got the full buffet breakfasts. 30 minutes later.... no eggs!! So again said it to them and the eggs finally came out but everyone else had finished theirs so it wasn't the nicest experience again we said nothing and moved on. That afternoon we went down the spa and it was just lovely, the relaxation room was warm, dark, candle lit with fresh fruit, herbal tea, water, juice etc... big beds with fully towels and slippers etc. The treatments were also fab, really enjoyed them and again the relaxation room after again. We also went to the pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna in the leisure centre after again everything was perfect. Lunch was included as part of our spa package so we went up stairs to "try" and get some lunch after. The package included soup and a sandwich so after waiting 15 minutes in a quite bar for a waiter we all ordered the soup and were told to order any sandwich of the menu or whatever we wanted, we all ordered different sandwiches (a Ham and Chicken, a Ham and Cheese, and a ploughmans). We asked for the prosecco, soup and sandwiches and a jug of water to come down together. The prosecco came first which was lovely. The soup followed surprising quickly but with no plate under the soup bowl and no side plate for the bread rolls, we had to butter them on a napkin! Half way through the soup we were told by the waiter to give the go ahead when we wanted the sandwiches to be made up! At this stage we only had to laugh as the "any sandwich on the menu or whatever you wanted" turned out to all be Ham, Cheese and Onion!! We didn't know to laugh or cry and the waiter which may I add seemed like a lovely lad maybe just thrown in to the job or not trained I don't know asked did he get everything right, we didn't have the heart to tell him no so just told him everything was lovely to which he seem relieved. Again the sandwiches were lovely but that was now 3 out of 3 times breakfast, lunch and dinner there was a huge delay and or mix up in the kitchen.

So overall lovely stay, hotel and spa really really nice and will def return again but I wouldn't order as much as a coffee there!!!

Room Tip: A room to the front of the hotel might be quieter, there was some sort of a fan running outside our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma1012013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

we were meeting a few friends in the hotel and decided to stay over which was easy to book a few hours before, there are 2 resturants and bar food which we decided to go for as it was very busy in the resturants. We had a few drinks before in the bar and it was busy with a wedding and various parties but the service was still good, we found a nice couch area the bar food menu had a good choice and service was quick and food was good and even though the staff were rushed of there feet our waitress was very friendly as were all staff .
There was live music but couldnt really hear as so busy in bar, unfortunately it was raining and we couldnt use the terrace seating area which looked very nice. Fair play to Paul in the residence bar for keeping us topped up with our Sambuca as it got really busy later on
The hotel upgraded us with our room which was good as it was very busy on the night, we found it nice and quiet, the bed was huge and had a choice of different pillows which were lovely. All n all our room was very clean and comfortable but because we were only staying one night we didnt get to appreciate it. Himself had great intention to get up before breakfast and have a swim but the residence bar the night before put a big stop to it.
We stayed there 2 years ago in between moving house and the hotel and staff then and now were very freindly and professional. we must make a return visit so himself can have a swim and i will get to the spa.

Room Tip: for us we were in rooms around 140s seemed quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sambuca46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear sambuca46

Thank you for taking time to pass on your feedback and for choosing Castleknock Hotel for your night away. I really appreciate the comments about our staff & I will ensure to pass this onto the relevant team members.

I do hope we can welcome you both back soon and that you have time to use the full leisure centre & swimming pool on your next visit.

Thank you again

Yours Sincerely
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights recently and had a great time. had 2 adjoining rooms, very clean and plenty big. All the staff were very nice and helpful (although everything at the front desk did seem to take an age to do) the food was fantastic, the pool and play ground went down very well with the kids too. the only down side was on the last night when a wedding was on and the noise levels were almost unbearable. so if staying here ask for a room on the top floor towards the back.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor or as far away from the function rooms as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank furry_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear furry_007

Thank you for choosing Castleknock Hotel for your family break away. I am delighted your children enjoyed use of the kiddies pool and outdoor playground. We always try to be a very family friendly hotel, so it is wonderful to read that you all had a great time.

I am sorry about the noise level, as you mention, if you return please do ask for a quiet room and we will be delighted to assist you with this request. The main ballroom is on the ground floor; when possible we tend to locate the wedding guests close together for their own convenience and to help avoid disruption to all of our other guests.

Thank you again & I hope to welcome you and your family back soon

Yours Sincerely
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

As my title states, I had a 7 night stay with little or no sleep. The hotel noise level was quite high & two weddings at either end of the week did not help this. As the wedding guests made their way back to their rooms in the early hours, I was treated to several hours of doors slamming, loud conversations in the corridor and other interruptions that made a good sleep very difficult. Also, this hotel offers family deals so there can be a lot of screaming children in corridors and in the open/bar area through out the day. There is little or no variation in the bar food menu also and going elsewhere means a car journey or long walk. The location of the hotel is good, but they need to really think about better sound proofing or ensuring that guests who have early starts are kept in a different area to wedding and leisure break guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear Dawn032

Thank you for passing on your review.

I am very disappointed with your experience & I would like to apologise.

We have a one wedding a day policy and we are a popular choice of wedding venue in Dublin. Our main ballroom is located on the ground floor, we do always try our best to ensure each of our wedding guests are located above the ballroom and close together for their own convenience & to avoid any disruption to our other guests. I am sorry this did not seem to be the case during your stay.

We are also a popular choice of Family Hotel and are very family friendly, especially throughout the summer months due to our kiddies pool and outdoor playground. We have in fact, just opened up a new Kids Club to help keep the children entertained during their time with us and also help avoid inconvenience to our other guests in the Lobby & Bar areas.

If you did return to us please request a quiet room at time of booking, we would be delighted to offer this to you.

Thank you again

Yours sincerely
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We visited Tonic Health & Day Spa a few weeks ago for one of their spa packages. The entrance to the Spa and leisure facilities are in the main reception area. Which was a little off putting, however once you pass by the leisure facilities and enter the relaxation room you are in a different zone, its peaceful and so calm in here with lovely lighting creating the perfect atmosphere.
My sister had the hot stone massage and a facial; I had a facial and a massage, due the booking only that morning, they could not accommodate the two of us at the same time, so one of us spent time in the relaxation room whilst the other had her treatments which were amazing, the young lady was a really great therapist.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublinblueeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Dublinblueeyes

Thank you for choosing Tonic Health & Day Spa to enjoy a relaxing afternoon. I am delighted that our relaxation room had a calming effect on you both, which is what we aim for.

It is really good to know you left feeling fully satisfied with your treatments.

Thank you again & I hope we can welcome you back soon

Yours Sincerely
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle West, Limerick, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here last July for our second wedding anniversary and we came back again this year for our third anniversary. We booked the "suite treat" package and it's worth every penny. Everything from check-in, to dinner in The Park Restaurant, to the bar staff was absolutely excellent. Have to give a special mention to Caroline and Keith in the restaurant, they were a pleasure. Our suite was fab, overlooking the golf course. A bottle of prosecco and chocolates in the room along with a "Happy Anniversary" card. Nice touch!! Oh, I was also definitely recommend a Strawberry Daiquiri cocktail in the bar, delicious!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Tracey F

Thank you for choosing to come back and stay in Casteknock Hotel again for such a special occasion. It is wonderful to know you left feeling so positive about the package you chose. I will certainly pass on your feedback to the relevant staff members. Happy Anniversary to you both.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back

Yours Sincerely
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleknock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,368 reviews
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,965 reviews
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleknock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleknock Hotel

Property: Castleknock Hotel
Address: 1 Porterstown Road, Castleknock Dublin 15, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Castleknock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleknock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castleknock Hotel, an award winning 4 star hotel is located right on the doorstep of Dublin City, set in lush grounds with an onsite golf course, beside the Phoenix Park. Specialising in corporate stays, conferences, golf breaks, weekend weddings and relaxed family and leisure visits, the hotel is just 15 minutes from Dublin city centre and 20 minutes from Dublin Airport with easy access on the M50, but feels like a world away from the bustle of the city with its tranquil countryside setting. Just outside Castleknock village, this stylish but informal and relaxed hotel is a spacious, modern hotel which, with its expansive views over the golf course and surrounding countryside, makes a delightfully pleasant base for both business and leisure guests. With an 18-hole golf course, award-winning restaurants and welcoming bars, an innovative meeting and events offering, substantial sports screens, outdoor patio and children's playground, there is something for everyone to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Castleknock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleknock Hotel And Country Club
Castleknock Hotel Country
Castleknock Hotel County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing