We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family break”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

No complaints at all, staff all very professional and very friendly, the hotel was was brilliant,the grounds outstanding, food excellent, visited the golf course as well, the pro was very nice. Course was excellent, Can't wait to go back had a brilliant relaxing 4days, thankyou castleknock.

Paul Linda and wee Joel.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear paul m

I really appreciate the time taken to pass on your review.
I am delighted you & your family enjoyed your 4 day break with us. It is great to know you had time to use the facilities on-site and found our team of staff friendly & professional.

Thank you again & we look forward to welcoming you all back soon

Yours Sincerely
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    438
    179
    91
    75
See reviews for
334
508
30
184
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

No complaints here.... Lively... Good golf... Patient staff and lovely tonic spa... Perhaps better selection on menu in restaurant but overall good and I will hopefully use again and would recommend to friends...

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mummylonglegs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Mummylonglegs2014

Thank you for your comments and for the recommendation.
This is greatly appreciated & I hope we can welcome you back soon

Yours Sincerely
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Castleknock to attend a friends wedding and stayed for 2 nights. The hotel and grounds are amazing, the staff are very professional and efficient. My husband lost his jacket - well left it in the wedding reception function room. The next day the housekeeping and front of house staff went above and beyond to try to locate the jacket for him. The food was wonderful and the spa is just out of this world. It is a little pricey, however, if you are looking for 5* treatment then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaC502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear PaulaC502014

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am very grateful for the time taken to pass on your review. I am delighted you found the staff excellent and that this added to your overall enjoyment.

I hope you enjoyed your friend’s special day.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Yours Sincerely
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

Booked 15 double rooms in this hotel for golf society captains day outing last feburary.The rooms were costing 186 euro each this was for b+b and evening meal not a bad deal you would think.when we rang last week to finalise datails they informed us they had no record of the bookings which we had made by e mail.To cut a long story short they said they still had 15 rooms available but at a cost of 256 euro for the same deal we booked in feburary at 186 euro. Rip off merchants or what.so not only did they miss out on 15 double rooms been booked we would have had 30 thirsty golfers drinking in bar all night.They must not need the money in castleknock.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear David M,

As a hotel we acknowledge that we don't always get things perfectly correct all of the time despite our best efforts and we do try to respond in the correct manner on these occasions to put things right. However, having investigated your review thoroughly and reading the various logs and emails, I must say that it appears that your version of events is at best inaccurate and at worst an attempt to place unfair blame on the hotel and my team for a booking that was never confirmed by your group.

An initial enquiry was made on the 17th February for a quote for your group. We promptly emailed this person that day with rates and stated that we were not presently holding any space for you until the booking was confirmed by your group but that the rate was valid for 7 days from the initial enquiry. On the 19th February, you called again looking for a new quote based on new numbers. Again, we promptly emailed you with a new rate and informed you of the same terms and conditions as previously stated for the initial enquiry.

We didn't hear from this group again for almost five months on the 22nd July 2014 when a man claiming to be the son of the initial enquirer rang and claimed that he had the booking confirmed. As per our terms, we informed him that we had no confirmed booking. The man was unable to show us any email correspondence, contracts or confirmation number, all of which would be available had this booking been made. As it was now 5 months later, the rates had increased as early booking discounts had ceased. In addition the restaurant was full so we only had the option of private dining which is more expensive. The next day, this man acknowledged this and said he “understood there was a mix up and no reply to confirm prices but if there was anything we could do because potentially people will not be happy with the new price when he puts it to his members.”

Due to our limited availability we were unable to reduce the rate and we received an email from the son asking to confirm the booking at the new rate. We sent out the contracts and the gentleman thanked us and said he would return by the 30th July. As a gesture of goodwill we agreed to offer a complimentary upgrade to this gentleman. We were then informed by a local hotel on the 29th July that the same group were trying to book with them as the group claimed Castleknock Hotel had "messed up the booking." Upon hearing this, we contacted the same gentleman who assured us in a friendly manner that they wished to still confirm our booking. Later that evening a call was made to cancel the booking.

We don't mind putting our hands up when we are at fault but it's very unfair when you have a situation where individuals are using powerful tools like Tripadvisor to damage our reputation for something that was not our fault. If you would like to discuss this matter further, please don't hesitate to contact the hotel.

Kind regards

Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

my self and my wife stayed on a one night deal ,B+B and an evening meal midweek.
check in at 3pm ,staff was helpful and pleasant,we had a double room which was really nice and modern.Headed to the leisure centre,Were given towels and you only need a one euro coin for the lockers,caps were three euro,were a little disappointed by the over all size of this facility due to the size of the hotel,changing rooms were small and the swimming pool was tiny,looked bigger on their website,was busy with kids and their was no swimming lane,so was impossible to do lengths,Jacuzzi was built for no more than four,even then you found yourself touching others legs.
Had our meal in the Brasserie Restaurant,really nice spot with views of the golf course,food was really good,just could have been more of it,were only given one slice of bread each ,had to ask for more and we had the steak for main which was gorgeous but sadly was only accompanied by one potato and some tomatoes,more veg and potato would have been nice,especially after having to pay an extra six euro each supplement for the steak,desserts were just ok,best part of the dinning experience was the nice staff.
found the bar very nice and relaxing but their prices a little high.
now for me the Breakfast was the major let down,all else could have been forgiven,waited in a queue to be seated which is fine,no problem with that as it was busy.when we were seated i was very disappointed as we were put in a small area outside of the main restaurant,which i could only describe as being a very badly run cafe,our table was on top of the food area with people bumping past you,not their fault ,area was too small.Had the full Irish breakfast which wasnt great,really dried out and not of great quality for a four star,didn't even have a full Irish really as some of the food trays were empty,when we eventually got tea and coffee after asking for it we still had to wait another five mins for the milk,what a joke and then you had to make your own toast which was another queue,it was positioned in the corner almost on top of people trying to eat,just wanted to leave ,was the worst experience for breakfast we ever had in a hotel,would but us off booking here again.

Room Tip: Dont have the breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank derek_garland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear derek_garland

Thank you for taking the time to pass on such detailed feedback. I am delighted to know you found our team of staff friendly and helpful. Just to mention, we limit the children’s hours in the swimming pool to between 9.00am and 6.00pm, so our adult members and guests can enjoy a quieter time in the leisure facility if they wish outside of the these hours.

I am greatly disappointed in your feedback in relation to the breakfast and I apologise for your inconvenience and dissatisfaction. This is not the breakfast standards we usually operate as we understand how important breakfast is to our guests. We always try to offer a wide range of choice, efficient & friendly service and freshly cooked hot food to ensure an excellent breakfast experience, so again I am truly sorry you did not feel this way. I will certainly look into the points you have mentioned.

Thank you again

Yours Sincerely
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed here for a family wedding in July 31st while the room was ok (only 2 teabags left in room) the breakfast was very poor the bar price r a joke and there is no kid's menu in the bar. The bar food menu is overpriced and the selection not great, service in the bar leaves a lot to b desired I wud stay again but I really think prices, bar services, menus and breakfast should be reviewed!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_Castleknock_Hotel, General Manager at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Elaine A

Many thanks for your feedback.

Please know for future reference, you can call reception and we would always be happy to bring up more teabags to your bedroom.I must mention, we do have a kids menu, this is available in the Brasserie restaurant & the lobby area, between 12noon and 10pm daily. I am sorry if you were not aware of this.

I hope we can welcome you back again.

Yours Sincerely
Guy Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
Level Contributor
138 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Attended a family party here and had a private dining room with a buffet service meal which was piping hot with generous portions. The drinks service was a little slow and by the end of the evening the 'hidden' bar was exposed and we were able to go the bar ourselves which was much better.
There was no pressure for us to leave the venue and we were even welcome to use the residents bar till the early hours and when we ordered a taxi from reception and they told us 5 mins it was there in 4!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExcaliberMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleknock
2.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
0.9 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
5.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,810 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 151 in Dublin
4,371 reviews
5.1 mi away
Dunboyne Castle Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleknock Hotel & Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleknock Hotel & Country Club

Property: Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
Address: 1 Porterstown Road, Castleknock Dublin 15, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Castleknock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castleknock Hotel & Country Club 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, the multi award winning 4 star hotel, right on the doorstep of Dublin City. Castleknock Hotel & Country Club is an award-winning modern 4 star hotel set in lush grounds with an onsite golf course, located beside the Phoenix Park, Dublin. Specialising in corporate stays, conferences, golf breaks, weekend weddings and relaxed family and leisure visits, the hotel is just 15 minutes from Dublin city centre and 20 minutes from Dublin Airport with easy access on the M50, but feels like a world away from the bustle of the city with its tranquil countryside setting. Just outside Castleknock village, the stylish but informal and relaxed Castleknock Hotel and Country Club is a spacious, modern hotel which, with its expansive views over the golf course and surrounding countryside, makes a delightfully pleasant base for both business and leisure guests. With an 18-hole golf course, a deluxe day spa, a well-equipped leisure centre, award-winning restaurants and welcoming bars, an innovative meeting and events offering, substantial sports screens, outdoor BBQ and children's playground, it's everything that could be required from a great resort hotel, all under one roof. Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, AA Ireland's Hotel of the Year 2014, has 138 guest bedrooms, most of which were recently refurbished in 2015. Some of our upgraded rooms offer amenities such as SMART TV's, Nespresso machines, premium sports channels and high speed WiFi. Bedrooms are spacious and bright, comfortably furnished, and many with charming views over the manicured greens and careful planting of the undulating 18-hole parkland course at Castleknock Hotel & Country Club, one of the closest golf hotels to Dublin city. Winner of over 32 local, national and international awards since 2009, Castleknock Hotel & Country Club is a luxury property designed to meet the needs of the most discerning guest, whether staying for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Castleknock Hotel & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castleknock Hotel And Country Club
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing