We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location”
Review of Twelfth Lock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Twelfth Lock Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a party , rooms average enough. Clean, friendly staff & food lovely. Have come back a few times for the bar menu since.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbearfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    42
    33
    22
    32
See reviews for
32
52
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
N.IRELAND
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

had a lovely time here,granted the beds are not the greatest and the rooms do need a little more attention but for 49euro i cant really complain. The staff were very helpful and the food was great i had both dinner and breakfast in the hotel. 2 main draw backs (1st) the free wifi does not work in the bedrooms u have to be sitting in the bar to use it (2nd) when ur sitting in the bar using the free wifi u will probably buy a drink and the prices are huge (2 glasses of wine= 12euro)

Room Tip: get rooms 1-5 cause 6-10 are beside the railway line
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bert1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Where to start,
I booked a one night stay recently, when leaving the next morning I found my car had been broken into, I went to the desk explained my situation and asked for the cops to be called, I was not offered help , asked was I ok , nothing. and was charged 49.00 for the nights stay.
did not find the reception staff and manager helpful.
attitude of the staff is all wrong.
would seriously not recommend this place.
they say there is free Wi Fi but not in the room I stayed in

Room Tip: Do not stay here, nicer hotels around the area, noise from trains passing as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castleknock hotels

Great Yarmouth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

What a quaint hotel.
Staff very friendly and food very reasonably priced.

On entering th hotel the surrounding decor was very pleasant and quite modern. On being shown to our twin room, we were quite disippointed. The bedroom looked clean and was very comfortable But the smell of damp was unbareable. But then the smell of Lynnx Deodorant made it worse.
The bathroom looked very modern, but on closer inspection we found large damp patches on the ceiling and the wall was stained. Also there was smell of damp.
Would stay there again -But not in the room Singelgracht.

Room Tip: Stay away from the room - Singelgracht.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

Very clean and friendly hotel. Close to Dublin and Blanchards Town Shopping Centre. Probably a bit too close to the railway line but good accommodation for all that. Friendly bar and good food. Just the place for a short break. Close to railway station and M50. David Friend

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

on a recent business trip to Dublin my usual hotel was booked up. I found this hotel using directory inquiries and rang. They had 1 room left so I booked it. I had great difficulty finding this hotel as I kept ending up on the motorway and driving for over an hour for what should have been a 5 min journey from blanchrdstown centre. Arrived eventually and were directed to our room downstairs. Noticed the carpet on stairs was torn and very dirty. Our room was a wheelchair accessable room. Don't know how anyone in a wheelchair could move around the room! The first thing I noticed when entering the room was the smell of damp. The curtains were closed and when I looked out all I could see was a brick wall about a foot from the window. When I looked in bathroom there was a wheelchair shower with kind of gate and shower curtain. I have never seen anything so dirty in my life. Mould all over the tiles. We ate upstairs in the restaraunt it was fine.
I was extremely tired as was up from 5am and slept very well. The bed was clean and comfortable. I don't know if I would have slept as well if I had not been exhausted as could hear the trains running.
Breakfast was half irish and can't really fault it.
The location of this hotel is beautiful along the canal and very convenient for m50 and shopping centre.
Unfortunately the cleanliness really lets it down.
Rates are very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunshinegirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-upon-tyne
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The good: very close to the Dublin orbital motorway, in a secluded area by a canal. Decent bar and restaurant, which seemed crowded with locals (always a good sign). Pleasant decor and friendly staff. Large, clean, well-appointed rooms, with a spacious bathroom attached.

However: all the rooms are at basement level. My room was far away from the bar, so instead of being kept awake by bar noise, I was kept awake by the extremely loud extractor fans and by the trains rattling past for variety. The view was onto a brick wall alongside the railway track. Oh, and the bathroom door didn't close properly.

If only the hotel could have been picked up and put a little further away from the railway, and if only the extractors could somehow be quietened.... this would be an excellent hotel. Maybe for those who fall asleep easily, it is!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhysPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleknock
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
1.4 mi away
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Phoenix Park
Travelodge Phoenix Park
#2 of 3 in Castleknock
677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
6.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,881 reviews
2.6 mi away
Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown
Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown
#1 of 1 in Tyrrelstown
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twelfth Lock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twelfth Lock Hotel

Property: Twelfth Lock Hotel
Address: Castleknock Marina, Royal Canal, Castleknock 15, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Castleknock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Twelfth Lock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Twelfth Lock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twelfth Lock Hotel Castleknock, County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing