We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some work”
Review of Twelfth Lock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Twelfth Lock Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This place needs some work. Yeah, it's cheap, but the annoyance factor isn't worth the money saved. The rooms are on the ground floor which gives them a subterranean feel. The rooms on the back of the hotel are right against a railroad and it sounds like the trains hurtling through are coming right through your window, which they practically are! You're so close you can see inside the passenger cars.

Wifi is not available in the rooms, only in the lobby and bar, and even there it's a very weak signal. The restaurant food is ok and decently priced and the staff were friendly. The hotel reception is constantly unmanned which was very annoying when we tried to organize how to get to the airport.

Bedroom looked worn and dingy. Sheets had holes and stains and the bathroom had water damage and some mildew.

Usually I am very forgiving when it comes to budget hotels, but this one had so many issues I had to call it like I see it. If you're looking to save money this is a good bet, but be prepared for e inconveniences!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeadaCailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Twelfth Lock Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

As a regular customer I was extremely disappointed in the service we received on our last visit. The staff could not get us out the door quick enough. While ordering last orders our party ordered 5 drinks there was 4 in the party. We were rudely told that the bar had a policy of one last drink per customer. When we questioned this policy as regulars who have never had an issue when ordering last orders were rudely told that this has always been their policy and either order or get out. We left and I emailed the hotel to express our disappointment regarding their customer service and to clarify if this intact their policy. I have to date over 3 weeks later not received an acknowledgment for this email or any explanation. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Wildwood99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Never stayed in the hotel but eat regularly in the bar.
Really nice relaxed atmosphere.
Good menu with plenty to choose from for all tastes.
Very reasonably priced.
Highly recommend the All Day Breakfast, Thai curry and lasagne

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine-Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I had booked this hotel before finding the reviews on TripAdvisor and I was quite nervous that my experience here was going to be really bad after reading the negative posts. Well, let me just say that the horrible reviews are way overstated!! First off, the price is really great!! Yeah, it's not the Ritz Carlton, but you are paying 1/4 the price! The rooms are not quiet; so if you are okay with this are like to join the party (and have a few beers); you will be fine. Room was clean. Only sight oddity was that two twins beds pushed together to make a queen, but that was okay with me. Location really was 10 minutes from downtown Dublin. And location could not be found on GPS device, I had to use mobile for Google Maps - so with just a little planning ahead with directions...you won't have any problems. Also, being right next to the locks gave the hotel a great deal of unique character. I will definitely go back next time I visit Dublin.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Ate here with other half last night. Really like this place. Good atmosphere and lots of great staff. Service very good. I ate the red Thai curry. It was good. Only downside was they put it into a bowl and the small portion of rice slid straight into the curry, so felt like I was eating just a plate of curry ! A plate be good the next time :) OH had fish and chips which he said was good. Will defo be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koolgirllynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

the good
lovely rooms
food is amazing
great location 10 min walk from shopping center

the bad
the rooms are under the kitchen very warm at times

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluemoose4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a party , rooms average enough. Clean, friendly staff & food lovely. Have come back a few times for the bar menu since.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbearfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleknock
1.4 mi away
Castleknock Hotel
Castleknock Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castleknock
1,398 reviews
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Dublin Phoenix Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
2.6 mi away
Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown
Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown
#1 of 1 in Tyrrelstown
805 reviews
4.8 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twelfth Lock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twelfth Lock Hotel

Address: Castleknock Marina, Royal Canal, Castleknock 15, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Castleknock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Price Range: £100 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Twelfth Lock Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Twelfth Lock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twelfth Lock Hotel Castleknock, County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing