We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Twelfth Lock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Twelfth Lock Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

My partner n I stayed here last nite. We said we would try it because it was reasonable priced. We booked a double room over the phone last Wednesday. We arrived yesterday to find they had no booking from us even though they confirmed with us last week. So they found us a room an it looked good untill we looked around it was dusty and they last people's rubbish remained and the shower head was broke and the train drove us mad all night and started again at 6am. And the person next door woke us when they turned on their noisy shower. Never again

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeanddonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    37
    24
    18
    22
See reviews for
22
41
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

A group of us arrived for Sunday lunch, the starter was quite nice but the main course being the beef burger was very dry, mealy and unappetising so I left most of it on the plate. I was honestly expecting better than that. The service was very good however and the Baileys hot chocolate was very nice. Overall I enjoyed the atmosphere outside on the terrace but I don't think I would be returning but if I did I'd avoid the beef burger

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose_Bud_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed here for four nights with teenagers competing in the National Aquatic centre.
The hotel is very convenient to the NAC (10 mins max), and as we were just using it as a base, it really did what we needed it to do.
The staff were very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast doesn't start until 8am, but we needed to eat at 6am, so they put on a cold buffet.
We ate in the restaurant on three of the nights. This is very popular with the locals....a good sign, and rightly so, it was good food, reasonably priced. On our last night we returned late, the restaurant was busy so the staff brought our drinks and food down to our rooms. They were so pleasant and helpful.
Some rooms face to the canal side. Some at the back are close to the railway line. By night two, those sleeping at the railway side didn't notice the noise.

Room Tip: Rooms on the canal side will not get the railway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacqmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently and it was exceptionally good value for the room but also for the food in the restaurant which was really nice. Fantastic setting right beside the royal canal. Train runs right by it though so unless you are a very heavy sleeper ring the ear plugs!!!

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank McCarthyCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed here for four nights, I stayed in the room on the canal side as it was less noisy. Than the train side, I had picked this up for a previous review on the web. The rooms are a bit dark and it can get noisy at night. Initially our bathroom was not up to spec and as clean as it should be, but I brought it to the attention of the manager and it was perfect from then on. The bed was super comfortable. Breakfast was hit and missin it's quality , I had the half irish most days, the best day was sat morning, mushrooms perfect, not as greasy as the other days. Overall great value for money and definately would stay again.

Room Tip: Choose canal side, quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claregalwaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Room was lovely and clean and big. Bar was lively with great food. Entrance a little hard to fine on dark from car park. Train runs right past the window. Didn't cause us any trouble but might to others. Would definitely go back. GREAT value for money

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

Don't rate the grub after checking out breakfast on a couple of occasions but I think this is a grand spot for a couple of drinks on a summer evening!! plus the rooms are clean and fairly alright for €50 or thereabouts.

I wouldn't stay for a night of relaxation or luxury but if your having a couple of drinks and that i wouldn't mind staying there too much. A little noisy alright although if ya have had a few yourself its not too noticeable.

Put it this way.... I'd stay here again before I'd choose the Travellodge.

Room Tip: they are always booked out ahead of the weekend, get in early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SST11144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleknock
1.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
1.4 mi away
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Phoenix Park
Travelodge Phoenix Park
#2 of 3 in Castleknock
3.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown
Carlton Hotel Blanchardstown
#1 of 1 in Tyrrelstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
4.7 mi away
Louis Fitzgerald Hotel
Louis Fitzgerald Hotel
#1 of 7 in Clondalkin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twelfth Lock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twelfth Lock Hotel

Property: Twelfth Lock Hotel
Address: Castleknock Marina, Royal Canal, Castleknock 15, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Castleknock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Castleknock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Twelfth Lock Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Twelfth Lock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Twelfth Lock Hotel Castleknock, County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing