We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Springfield Hotel(Leixlip)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Castleknock Hotel(Castleknock)(Great Value!)
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$264
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspect Hotel Parkwest(Clondalkin)(Great Value!)
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmerstown Lodge(Palmerstown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,073)
Filter reviews
1,073 results
Traveller rating
477
327
147
57
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
477
327
147
57
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildinggarden suitelong drivewaycountry housepeacock restaurantleisure centredrawing roomwedding venuebar foodbeautiful hotelsteam roomfamily rooman overnight staydublin cityfollowing morningstayed here for one nightfull irish breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
955 - 960 of 1,073 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Situated in attractive gardens, the Finnstown country house hotel is within easy access of Dublin centre with a bus stop situated only a little way from the end of the drive. The lengthy walk from the hotel to the main road could be a challenge for someone with mobility problems (like my husband), so allow extra time for pausing en route if you don't walk so well.
All members staff were courteous and helpful, and the generous afternoon tea included in our three night break on arrival was delicious. The pool was clean and adequate for a leisurely swim, but the steam room had run out of puff on the day we visited, obviously in need of a serious update. Nevertheless, this did not detract from our overall enjoyment at the Finnstown hotel - atmospheric, slightly eccentric (the oil paintings in the dining room, some of the furniture), we would definitely recommend it as an alternative to city centre hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear Diane G,

Thank you for taking the time to review Finnstown Country House Hotel, The staff and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We have only recently started offering afternoon tea and it is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed it.

I look foward to welcoming you back again in the future

Regards

Barry Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This hotel is a very cozy hotel. Accesible to the city centre. People are so kind and the food was really good. If you are looking for a place to stay and feel at home, this is the place.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevina0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear Kevina0105,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Finnstown Country House Hotel, I look foward to welcoming you back again

Regards

Barry Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We had our wedding party/reception there in April 2010 and cannot fault Finnstown House. Staff were excellent, room for the party was excellent, bridal suite was lovely and I received only compliments about the food. Thank you all very much. Would certainly use the hotel for any other events I may have!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JinxieDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2011

Dear JinxieDub,

Thank you for taking the time to review Finnstown Country House Hotel. We have a fantastic reputation for weddings and am delighted that we lived up to this on your day.

I look foward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards

Barry Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This is a hidden gem of a hotel. We had a child under 10 with us and the staff went out of their way to help us where possible. They gave us a list of places to go for the day, some of which were free of charge. Offers of packed lunches were made for our days out. The hotel itself was just out of this world, the grounds were a great adventure place for our little girl. As for the food well what can I say, just fab. We were booked in for 5 nights and stayed an extra night would have stayed longer however we had promised family we would call to them on Sat. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Dear Mary T C,

Thank you for taking the time to review Finnstown Country House Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We have many families that stay in our hotel especially over the holiday period and we try to make sure we have enough to keep children of all ages entertained. Our staff have been with us for a long time and are very knowledgable about the local area and activities within it.

We look foward to welcoming you back again in the future

Regards

Barry Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We've just had our third stay at Finnstown House hotel. We love it! We stay here while visiting my family in Dublin. This hotel has many unique selling points. Firstly the staff.... Freda, Bernard and the rest of the team in the breakfast room are superb and we can't praise them enough. Breakfast is superb with a great selection and always hot and tasty. We've stayed once in the main hotel and twice in the ' Residency ' which we preferred as we had a separate living room and tea making facilities, fridge and microwave. You're guaranteed a peaceful nights sleep too as the location and grounds of the hotel are so peaceful. The rooms have been really clean and well stocked.
There are 2 small shopping centres within walking distance of the hotel for provisions too. Not sure how easy it would be for tourists to get from Lucan to Dublin centre if you didn't have a car though? To sum up, Finnstown offers a relaxing and welcoming stay with lovely food and a great team of staff. We'll always try to stay here for future trips back home to Dublin.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Dear Lorraine S
Thank you for taking the time to review Finnstown Country House Hotel, The staff and myself are delighted with your comments, especially the staff which you mentioned in your review. All the staff work extremely hard to make sure each guests enjoys there stay and we are constantly updating and improving the service we give. It is fantastic to here this is being noticed by a repeat guest.

I look foward to welcoming you back to the hotel in future

Regards

Barry Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews