We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel for a wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Dublin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel for a wedding”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

We got married in August and had our reception in Finnstown House, and I can't fault one thing about it. It was absolutely perfect, down to every detail. The staff were amazing, no problem with the fact that we were delayed about 40 minutes due to my father in law's late arrival at the ceremony, meaning the dinner was delayed, but they made no deal of it which we really appreciated. The food was superb, really delicious, each course served in quick succession, and the wine glasses were always full. It was perfect. They even went to the trouble of going to a pub across the road to buy a case of rum when we finished what they had in the residents bar! The layout is perfect, with an adjoining room to the reception for when people want to talk rather than dance, with plenty couches and another bar. When the residents bar closed at 4am they allowed us to stay in the room and continue the sing song until we were ready for bed. We also reserved 2 sections of the cellar bar downstairs on the following day as most guests stayed the second night, we had a buffet dinner and again the staff were brilliant, making sure there was enough food, eager to help with anything we wanted, even bringing down sandwiches for us later in the evening. There was nothing they wouldn't do for us. We are so grateful, the hotel is perfect for what we wanted, it's private, small, and cosy, and set on lovely grounds away from the road, we may as well have had the whole place to ourselves, and everyone was more than happy with their accommodation. We could not have imagined it going better. A massive thank you to the manager and all the staff, it was a weekend we'll definitely never forget. Even after all that rum! Jane & Vinny

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2011
Dear Jane & Vinny,

Thank you for taking the time to review Finnstown Country House Hotel, The staff and I are blown away by your review. We pride ourselves on our food and service and have a great reputation for the way we run weddings. Alot of work goes into this from all the staff and am happy this work has not gone unoticed. I am delighted we were able to be such a big part of your big day and I wish you both well in the future

Regards

Barry Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    293
    125
    40
    54
See reviews for
253
381
15
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kildare
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

stayed at the finnstown on saturday the 24th of sept with my husband check in was very easy no waiting the room was very nice and clean we had lunch in the bar and it was very good a great choise on bar menu.We booked a table in the peacock restaurant for dinner and the meal was fantastic very good quality ingredients well worth a visit the staff are very friendly and made our stay great will stay here again

Room Tip: they cater for everyone they have rooms for the disabled guests also
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear jackie c,

Thank you for taking the time to review Finnstown Country House Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in the food we serve at the hotel and have recieved an AA rossette as a result of the hard work of our head chef. We are continually improving our food offering in all areas and have only recently changed the bar menu. I am delighted you liked the choice on the menu.

I look foward to welcoming you back again

Regards

Barry Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
livingston scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We came back today after a weeks stay in this fabulous hotel. We were upgraded to a suite in the residency. Fantastic!!! The staff are so helpful and friendly. We had a wee problem with the bath tap and the manager ensured it was fixed that day and he asked the next couple of days if it was still ok. The food is first class and the grounds are lovely. The best hotel we've ever stayed in. We had a lovely restful break. I recommend you go to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephieian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Was at this fine hotel at weekend as part of a group ...it was our second or third time we have used this hotel. The Staff are wonderful ....nothing is too much trouble for them ..My wife was feeling under the weather on Saturday morning, the head waiter brought her up a lovely breakfast....(even wrapping her toast in paper napkins)...lovely touch!!!...The very same staff since last year...one of them told me he had been there twenty years...he said many of them have as long service .......a very good sign....overall a great experience, we will be back as a Family Even though the dubs won the the all Ireland...they nearly were supporters......Great Banter

Room Tip: if you have family appartments are avileable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Celticfir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear Celticfir,

Thank you for taking the time to review Finnstown Country House Hotel. It is fantastic to hear from a repeat guest that has had several positive experiences. We try very hard to make sure we are always improving our services year on year so that guests like yourself does continue to stay with us. It is true alot of our staff have been here a long time some 20+ years, this gives the staff a large depth of knowledge and they take real pride in their jobs and an intrest in the customers who use the hotel.

I am delighted your wife was looked after so well and hope she has recovered.

I look fowawrd to seeing you again in the future

Regards

Barry Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We have just spent three wonderful nights at this hotel and could not find a fault in anything. From the minute we arrived until we departed the staff were helpful, friendly and professional so it made our stay so relaxing. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean (as was everything) and with all we needed for a perfect getaway. The bed was particularly good because it was supportive as well as comfortable. Finnstown is a beautiful house in a gorgeous setting and the food was so good we ended up eating there every night. This was our first visit but will definitely not be our last. Go here if you want to be pampered and like living the good life! There are lovely walks to be enjoyed, and the leisure facilities if you feel energetic.

Room Tip: Our room (37) was at the end of the corridor and was peaceful with a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotcurry2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear hotcurry2009,

Thank you for taking the time to review Finnstown Country House Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in making sure every guest is looked after and leaves with a positive impression of the hotel, staff and service. The staff were delighted with your review and that there hard work does not go unnoticed.

I look foward to seeing you again in the future

Regards

Barry Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Myself, husband and 2 children aged 9 and 7 stayed bank holiday weekend in August. What a wonderful break we had from start to finish. Arrived and had a wonderful lunch therefore ate there each evening. Our children just loved everthing about the hotel and therefore when they were happy so were we. Staff, food, friendliness, our rooms, cleaniness, swimming pool I certainly found all wonderful. Your staff are outstanding and as a mother of 2 children when they were made so welcome in every way possible this made it for us. We went to Dublin Zoo and Tayto Park and again staff were so, so helpful when we asked directions. Thank you for the wonderful holiday before the children went back to school. They are still talking about it. Hope to return in near future. Thank you so much.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juliemmckenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear juliemmckenzie,

Thank you for taking the time to review Finnstown Country House Hotel. The staff and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff work very hard to make sure all visitors are looked after and as we have alot of staff who have been here many years they are very knowledgable on the local area.

We look foward to welcoming you back again in the future

Regards

Barry Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Stayed in this country house/ hotel as part of an irish italian party for a wedding. Let me start by saying bar and waiting staff are excellent very friendly and hardworking. The grounds of the house are brilliant and perfect for a wedding.
Bad points : requested a room near the reception as we had a 1 month old baby, room we were given was in a seperate building from reception,hense come feeding time had to go out in the rain to get to our room.
Requested ground floor room because of prams and other equipment. No elevator to get to room. Never got ground floor room.
Charged for a family room which we did not get.
Requested a cot for the baby, instead we got a single bed.
Went to reception and got no satisfaction. Staff had no interest at reception to our complaints.
Complained again on checkout but was fobbed off.
Definatley customer does not come first.
Can only start to imagine how frustated the italian party were as the were over charged for accomadation as well.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derekp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear derekp68,

Thank you for taking the time to review Finnstown Country House Hotel. I was very dissappointed to hear of your problems. The hotel is made up of three seperate buildings which contain 3 different types of rooms. Unfortuently our family rooms are not in the main house by reception but in the Lawn suites across the courtyard. The other requests you had should have been ready for you an I can only apologize that we did not follow through on these as we do try our best to action any requests we do recieve.

We take all complaints very seriously, we have a manager on each shift and should any problem arise he/she should be called, I am sorry this was not followed through on this morning.

From your review we have carried out extra staff training on dealing with requests and complaint handling so this does not happen again. If you would like to contact me directly to go through your issues in detail please do so at the hotel

Regards

Barry Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucan
10.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,807 reviews
4.0 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
413 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
2.0 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
647 reviews
3.5 mi away
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnstown Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnstown Castle Hotel

Property: Finnstown Castle Hotel
Address: Newcastle Road, Lucan, Ireland (Formerly Finnstown Castle Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lucan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Finnstown Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Finnstown Castle Hotel in Lucan, you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere and unique charm,set away in a tranquil setting of 45 acres of stunning mature grounds. Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Lucan, this four star castle hotel in Dublin can be located in the picturesque village of Lucan just 20 minutes from Dublin City centre and Dublin International Airport. Finnstown Castle Hotel is widely regarded as one of Dublin's most quintessentially beautiful period estates & one of the finest country house hotels near Dublin, Finnstown Castle Hotel is rich in heritage & history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Finnstown Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finnstown Country Hotel
Finnstown Country Lucan
Finnstown Castle Hotel Lucan, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing