We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My wife and I have just had a weekend break here, and are very impressed. This is a spotlessly clean hotel set in such large and well maintained grounds that it's a proper country hotel on the edge of Dublin.

The main building is beautifully furnished, cosy and characterful, with many fine pictures on the walls. The original ceilings and windows are a feature, while the rooms are modern, with air conditioning in the one we were shown. Having asked for a quiet room, we were put in the modern "Residence", an annexe consisting of large suites, with a little kitchenette included. This attracts a ten euro surcharge - great value!
During our stay the Swimming pool was out of use due to a burst pipe, a little disappointing for us.

The restaurant meal was first-class, as was the traditional breakfast. Wonderful piano music enhanced our enjoyment of dinner. There are open fires in the hallway and restaurant - a nice touch.

Best of all are the staff. From reception to the bar staff they are unfailingly helpful, enthusiastic and charming. We wish every hotel displayed such genuine hospitality. We promised to return!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 57Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Dear rodriguez_7,

Thank you for taking the time to review Finnstown Country House Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff are our main asset and they all work very hard to make sure all the guests leave with a positive impression of the hotel.

I will pass on your very kind comments to all staff and look foward to welcoming you back again in the future

Regards

Barry Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

901 - 907 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

Just back from Finnstown House after a really enjoyable one night away break which included a beautiful four course meal for an unbeatable price of 149 Euro. The occasion was our 21 wedding anniversary and we had never been to this hotel before. The location was lovely with the period house set in its own grounds with a long country estate like drive from the main road. The staff were top drawer and the staff member on reception when he arrived took considerable time in assisting with explaining all the hotel had to offer including the best way to travel in and out of Dublin city centre.
The meal that night was great and served promptly. The large number of people arriving to dine was testimony to the cuisine on offer. There was also a rather large party being catered for in another part of the hotel but staff did not seem to be stretched.
The room was clean and tidy with good information and our room was especially quiet throughout the night. The breakfast was self service and had all the usual fayre on offer.
Overall the hotel is an excellent choice for a short break like the ones advertised on the hotel website at present. It is also handy for Dublin city centre which is about a twenty minute drive using the M50. We hope to return at some point in the future

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Dear Martin F,

Thank you for taking the time to review Finnstown Country House Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky that we have built up an excellent local reputation for our food and service so you will often find many regulars within the hotel mixing with our guests.

I look foward to welcoming you back in the future again

Regards

Eddie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

A glorious example of how good Irish hospitality can be. I stayed here with my partner during the spring and I have to say it was one of the most relaxed and romantic weekends that we have spent anywhere in not alone Dublin but anywhere in Ireland. The setting is beautiful, the rooms warm and filled with character, the staff exceptionally friendly and the food sublime. Whether your are simple strolling around the grounds, reading the paper beside a inviting log fire, or enjoying a hot whiskey at the bar, I defy anyone not to fall in love with Finnstown House, looking forward to going back for a nice winter reTreat

Room Tip: Try and book room facing out onto the beautiful grounds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Libra D,

Thank you for taking the time to review Finnstown Country House Hotel. Myself and the staff are 'bowled over' by your fantastic review of the hotel. The staff are our biggest asset at the hotel and have been with us for many years, they really care about each guest and what impression the guest is leaving with. I am delighted this has not gone unnoticed.

I look foward to welcoming you back during you next stay

Regards

Barry Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night during September and I had such a nice time I'd love to go back! The hotel is at the end of a long(ish) driveway lined with trees, people walking their dogs and genearl first impressions were good. There was a wedding on the day we were there but the place wasn't packed and it seems the weddings are seperated to some extent from the main area which is good! The hotel looks great the garden was being tended to by a groundskeeper as we came in and the amount of care was clear to see - the place is gorgeous! inside the hall / reception area is oldie worldie... nice decor. guy on reception was super friendly, very chatty and geniunely nice. The rooms are spacious and I really liked that they had a selection of albums on the TV that you could listen to - nice touch while getting ready for dinner etc. We ate dinner in the bar, had a nice seat beside the window looking out into the gardens. food was yum. Breakfast was served in the restaurant part and the cereals / breads are self service with a full irish served to the table. One of the ladies serving was chatting away to other visitors recommending things to do in the area... lovely place to stay with a nice atmosphere I think the place has a lot of repeat customers and I can tell why :)

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElCoburno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear ElCoburno,

Thank you for taking the time to review Finnstown Country House Hotel, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff and myself take alot of pride in the hotel and we we spend alot of time on keeping the grounds in good order for our guests to enjoy. We do hold alot of weddings in the hotel during the year and are blessed with the layout of the hotel that the weddings do not need to clash with other guests stays as you have pointed out.

I have passed on your fantastic comments to all staff and look foward to welcoming you back on your next trip

Regards

Barry Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at Finnstown House and really wish we could have stayed longer. My husband and I stayed some years ago and thoroughly enjoyed it and decided to take the children along this time. We were not disappointed. The Family room was very spacious even with an extra bed in it and was right beside the small fitness suite. We took a lovely walk in the sunshine and then used the pool. Our evening meal was superb and the children were well catered for. Breakfast again was very good and all the restaurant staff were so friendly. It was refreshing to stay in a hotel which was not ultra modern but instead full of character with the added bonus of having a relaxing ambience. I hope that in time the hotel will update its pool facilities as they are a tad dated now and this would greatly enhance the wonderful facilities here. The hotel isn't that far from the Irish National Stud and Japanese Gardens which is well worth a visit and also the Kildare Outlet Village.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizG070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear LizG070,

Thank you for taking the time to review Finnstown Country House Hotel. I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We have all sorts of guests that visit our hotel for all different reasons and we try our best to cater for all types of guests, during school holidays we do have alot of families that stay with us and our chef really goes out of his way to make a balanced, full and tasty childrens menu.

I look foward to welcoming you back for a longer break in the future

Regards

Barry Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Just spent the weekend with my family at the hotel. Self, wife and our four children in two adjoining rooms. Each room was spacious with a lounge area and joined via a 'mini conservatory area'.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Restaurant food is great and nice wine selection too. Breakfasts superb. Kids (19, 5, 3 and baby) absolutely loved it, albeit two little ones didn't get to see the peacocks unfortunately! Set in great grounds and really is like being in the country. Excellent space for kids to explore.
Well done to the hotel and all the staff who were excellent! Oh and as the wife thought the same and found nothing to complain about, well it's gotta be great!

Room Tip: if a family, go for a 'Golf room'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zebedee1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear Zebedee1966,

Thank you for taking the time to review Finnstown Country House Hotel, I am delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. The staff really go out of their way to ensure every guest is looked after and I am glad this did not go unnoticed.

I look foward to welcoming you back again in the future when I hope you will find the peacocks!

Regards

Barry Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

We have been going to the Finnstown for 12 years and nothing else compares with it. The rooms have everything - the grounds are beautiful and peaceful - the food is excellent and the staff are friendly and helpful and remember us each time. We feel so at home - back again next year can't wait!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaddyCrean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Dear PaddyCrean,

Thank you for taking the time to review Finnstown Country House Hotel. It is always fantastic to hear from a repeat guest, especially when the comments are so good. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and it lived up to your expectations from previous years. I look foward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards

Barry Maher
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucan
1.1 mi away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
355 reviews
4 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
479 reviews
2 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#2 of 4 in Leixlip
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Castleknock Hotel
Castleknock Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castleknock
1,461 reviews
3.4 mi away
Maldron Hotel Newlands Cross
1.6 mi away
Springfield Hotel
Springfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnstown Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnstown Castle Hotel

Address: Newcastle Road, Lucan, Ireland (Formerly Finnstown Castle Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lucan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Price Range: £69 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Finnstown Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Finnstown Castle Hotel in Lucan, you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere and unique charm,set away in a tranquil setting of 45 acres of stunning mature grounds. Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Lucan, this four star castle hotel in Dublin can be located in the picturesque village of Lucan just 20 minutes from Dublin City centre and Dublin International Airport. Finnstown Castle Hotel is widely regarded as one of Dublin's most quintessentially beautiful period estates & one of the finest country house hotels near Dublin, Finnstown Castle Hotel is rich in heritage & history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Stayforlong S.L., Superbreak UK, getaroom.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Finnstown Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finnstown Country Hotel
Finnstown Country Lucan
Finnstown Castle Hotel Lucan, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing