We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas night out”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Xmas night out”
Reviewed 10 December 2011

I stayed in Finnstown House midweek and booked for an overnight break with dinner included.

I loved that the hotel is in dublin with the feeling it is in the country due to the driveway up to the house and the surrounding grounds.

I had booked accomdation in the residence area and was amazed that it consisted of an apartment much nicer than a bedroom and it was huge with a sitting/dining room area and a separate bedroom with a bathroom in between. The water in the bathroom was lukewarm on the evening of our stay and the next morning despite having brought it to the hotel receptionist attention an apology was made and she said she would contact the maintenance department.

Dinner and breakfast were superb and the staff extremely friendly. The grounds and house were decorated for Xmas which added to the hotel charm. Will return

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amag4523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    297
    126
    44
    57
See reviews for
263
390
16
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Myself and my friend attended a wedding on 22nd October 2011 and stayed over for one night. Finnstown House is indeed beautiful. The grounds, the food and the staff are exceptional. However we were very disappointed with our room. We had one of the outside suites. When we went to our room it was very cold as the heating was off. The carpet was also dirty beside the outside door. We thought that the heating would be on when we came back to the room later that night. But the room was still cold and the heating still off. I slept in the single bed and had a sleepless night. The bed was cold and damp. I told the receptionist after breakfast and I have since sent an email, but have not had a reply.

Room Tip: Check that the heating is working!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAFEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2011
Dear LAFEN,

Thank you for taking the time to review Finnstown Country House Hotel, I am glad you found the food and service to be of a high standard. I apologize for the temperature of your room upon arrival, each room is independently controlled from within the room and is normally set before arrival. I am unable to locate a previous email about this problem but if you would like to contact me directly through the email address given below so I can go through the problems you experienced in more detail.

Regards

Barry Maher
General Maher
barrymaher@finnstown-hotel.ie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed in Finnstown 1 - 3 Nov with Supervalugetaway breaks, in a Residence Apartment. This was great for our family break at Halloween, with our 2 1/2 year old daughter.
The bedroom was divided from the living room area by the bathroom, so there was minimum noise disruption at night from the TV when she went to bed.
The food was great - full Irish with delicious pancakes and plenty of fruit.
We ate in the Peacock restaurant for our one included evening meal, which was amazing - both with choice, service and atmosphere. We also dined in the drawing room for a bar snack - another great meal!
The gym was well-equipped and the pool great fun for our daughter.
Lovely grounds to walk around in and far enough away from the city centre to feel that you're not crowded - great old-fashiond traditional house!
We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Residence Suites are amazing for families to provide some extra space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear robmer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Finnstown Country House Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel as several different blocks of rooms on the grounds with different facilities in each block depending on what the guest requirements are. The residence is the only block with a seperate living area so when you do book again make sure that you request these rooms if this is the choice that suits you best.

I look foward to seeing you on your next visit

Regards

Barry Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 night break at this Hotel. It had been recommended to us by friends and I can see why. From the moment we drove up the tree lined avenue to the house everything went well. The Staff were friendly, the grounds lovely and the food fantastic. We were on a 'Young at Hearts' break of 3 nights B&B, 2 dinners and 1 afternoon tea - all for 158 euro each. The house wine is 21 euro a bottle and a pint of Guinness 4.80 euro. There is a bus stop at the end of the Avenue, the 25B bus comes every 20 mins and it costs 2.30 euro each way into Dublin centre. When I asked about buses the receptionist printed us off a timetable to take with us and the waitress at breakfast recommended a tour of the Jameson Distillery while we were in Dublin. Although we were on the 'seasonal' menu the choice was excellent and the portions huge, all the waiting staff went out of their way to ensure the diners were happy and the breakfast kept us going all day. There is a small pool, gym and steam room on site although we were too busy to use them. The Hotel is very popular with weddings, there was one on the Saturday we stayed and most of the guests stayed overnight but the function room is removed from the main house and we experienced no problem with noise from the party. Our room was a good size, well furnished and comfortable with individual heat/air con., computer point etc. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newtownabbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Dear Newtownabbey,

Thank you for taking the time to give such an in-depth review of Finnstown Counrty House Hotel. I am delighted you and your friends before you enjoyed your stay with us. All the management and staff love to hear from guests and their experiences of the hotel, I will pass on your very kind words.

I look foward to welcoming you back again

Regards

Barry Maher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbellaw, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

My wife and I have just had a weekend break here, and are very impressed. This is a spotlessly clean hotel set in such large and well maintained grounds that it's a proper country hotel on the edge of Dublin.

The main building is beautifully furnished, cosy and characterful, with many fine pictures on the walls. The original ceilings and windows are a feature, while the rooms are modern, with air conditioning in the one we were shown. Having asked for a quiet room, we were put in the modern "Residence", an annexe consisting of large suites, with a little kitchenette included. This attracts a ten euro surcharge - great value!
During our stay the Swimming pool was out of use due to a burst pipe, a little disappointing for us.

The restaurant meal was first-class, as was the traditional breakfast. Wonderful piano music enhanced our enjoyment of dinner. There are open fires in the hallway and restaurant - a nice touch.

Best of all are the staff. From reception to the bar staff they are unfailingly helpful, enthusiastic and charming. We wish every hotel displayed such genuine hospitality. We promised to return!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 57Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Dear rodriguez_7,

Thank you for taking the time to review Finnstown Country House Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff are our main asset and they all work very hard to make sure all the guests leave with a positive impression of the hotel.

I will pass on your very kind comments to all staff and look foward to welcoming you back again in the future

Regards

Barry Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omagh, Co. Tyrone, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Just back from Finnstown House after a really enjoyable one night away break which included a beautiful four course meal for an unbeatable price of 149 Euro. The occasion was our 21 wedding anniversary and we had never been to this hotel before. The location was lovely with the period house set in its own grounds with a long country estate like drive from the main road. The staff were top drawer and the staff member on reception when he arrived took considerable time in assisting with explaining all the hotel had to offer including the best way to travel in and out of Dublin city centre.
The meal that night was great and served promptly. The large number of people arriving to dine was testimony to the cuisine on offer. There was also a rather large party being catered for in another part of the hotel but staff did not seem to be stretched.
The room was clean and tidy with good information and our room was especially quiet throughout the night. The breakfast was self service and had all the usual fayre on offer.
Overall the hotel is an excellent choice for a short break like the ones advertised on the hotel website at present. It is also handy for Dublin city centre which is about a twenty minute drive using the M50. We hope to return at some point in the future

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 November 2011
Dear Martin F,

Thank you for taking the time to review Finnstown Country House Hotel. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky that we have built up an excellent local reputation for our food and service so you will often find many regulars within the hotel mixing with our guests.

I look foward to welcoming you back in the future again

Regards

Eddie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

A glorious example of how good Irish hospitality can be. I stayed here with my partner during the spring and I have to say it was one of the most relaxed and romantic weekends that we have spent anywhere in not alone Dublin but anywhere in Ireland. The setting is beautiful, the rooms warm and filled with character, the staff exceptionally friendly and the food sublime. Whether your are simple strolling around the grounds, reading the paper beside a inviting log fire, or enjoying a hot whiskey at the bar, I defy anyone not to fall in love with Finnstown House, looking forward to going back for a nice winter reTreat

Room Tip: Try and book room facing out onto the beautiful grounds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarryMaher, General Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Dear Libra D,

Thank you for taking the time to review Finnstown Country House Hotel. Myself and the staff are 'bowled over' by your fantastic review of the hotel. The staff are our biggest asset at the hotel and have been with us for many years, they really care about each guest and what impression the guest is leaving with. I am delighted this has not gone unnoticed.

I look foward to welcoming you back during you next stay

Regards

Barry Maher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucan
10.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,965 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
4.0 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
330 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
667 reviews
3.5 mi away
Castleknock Hotel
Castleknock Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castleknock
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnstown Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnstown Castle Hotel

Property: Finnstown Castle Hotel
Address: Newcastle Road, Lucan, Ireland (Formerly Finnstown Castle Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lucan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Finnstown Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Finnstown Castle Hotel in Lucan, you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere and unique charm,set away in a tranquil setting of 45 acres of stunning mature grounds. Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Lucan, this four star castle hotel in Dublin can be located in the picturesque village of Lucan just 20 minutes from Dublin City centre and Dublin International Airport. Finnstown Castle Hotel is widely regarded as one of Dublin's most quintessentially beautiful period estates & one of the finest country house hotels near Dublin, Finnstown Castle Hotel is rich in heritage & history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Finnstown Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finnstown Country Hotel
Finnstown Country Lucan
Finnstown Castle Hotel Lucan, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing