We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place and the grounds super” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finnstown Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place and the grounds super”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Staff where so nice hotel lovely and food was super

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tokeeffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    280
    120
    36
    52
See reviews for
240
364
15
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We both enjoyed our visit to Finnstown House last weekend. If you didn't know Lucan, you would swear this place was in the middle of the country. A short drive from the main gates and the peace and quiet of the surroundings hits you straight away. Although we just popped up here for a meal, it really was very relaxing to sit in this beautiful estate. We have stayed here many times before and if anything the place has got better. Staff were terrific and constantly on the move. Friends had given us a pressie of a voucher as they know we both love this hotel.
We enjoyed our meal and drinks in the lounge area even though we were invited to use the restaurant.Presentation was FAB.
Staff simply can't do enough for you here,(give them a rise Mr.manager) which in turn brings people back again and again.
Well it does for us anyway :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onceyourhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Myself and my husband enjoyed dinner in the bar in Finnstown house. We both had starters of chowder and filled potato skins both dishes were very tasty. I had the roast beef with potato and veg which I really enjoyed and the food was tasty and HOT.My husband had the roast pork steak which he said was beautiful. There is a lovely atmosphere and the staff were lovely. I will be telling my friends and family about Finnstown and the prices are very reasonable. Go try and see for yourself I don't think you will be dissapointed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liamoIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

I agree with others, this hotel is just a little gem. Everything positive said about the staff is true, they just can't help you enough. We had a few problems on check-in but everything was addressed immediately and we got upgraded to one of the little apartments, which was just lovely. My only slight negative would be that the leisure facilities do indeed need updating.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 422Scooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
444 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

Have just spent a super overnight in Finnstown Country House. We were assigned to one of the chalets, and although we were initially a bit disappointed at not getting a room in the main building, we forgot about that once we got inside the chalet. It was just gorgeous, like a little house, warm and cosy with our own front door and parking directly outside. The main road up to Finnstown is very busy, but yet when you drive in gates to the hotel you are instantly in the country, not a sound can be heard from the road outside and it feels so peaceful and quiet. We had booked in for dinner later in the evening, so went to the Leisure Centre for an hour beforehand to relax. It's not a very big facility but we enjoyed the time we spent there - a gentle swim and some time in the steam room. Our chalet was only a short 2 minute walk to the hotel for dinner, and what a meal we had. The dining room was cosy and warm, with an open fire and lots of atmosphere. The menu had plenty of choice and the food was excellent, both from a presentation point of view and quality of cooking. Service was top class and we were not rushed in any way. Couldn't fault a single thing about the meal. This was a special treat and not something we would be doing a lot, as this hotel isn't the cheapest place, but it was very well worth it and we would go again. We only have one cricitism, and that is the Leisure Centre. The dressing room showers and tiles need serious attention, and it would benefit from a freshen up with new paint. Having said that it didn't take from our very enjoyable stay in Finnstown.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DubTwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Well all i can say is Wow Wow Wow this hotel is beautiful... Ami At reception was so courteous and friendly all the staff are i must say. they also have lovely peacocks in the immaculate gardens how very cute. our bedroom was amazing nice and spacious.. we had dinner in the bar and it was really tasty i must say, we had a really lovely time at this hotel and we cant wait to come back...
Siobháin and Tom

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOLLY4902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Finnstown Country House Hotel is approached by a drive along a beautifully maintained avenue. The gardens are immaculate, though our visit was in Winter, I imagine spring colour with shrubs will be lovely. The peacocks meander in the grounds, and tables and chairs for outside eating, when the weather permits. The Hotel is very nice, rooms clean, comfortable and quite spacious. Our meals were good, though as the Hotel was very quiet, there was no atmosphere, only a few other diners in the Restaurant at Dinner or Breakfast. The Waiting Staff were courteous and friendly. Our lunch on arrival was delicious, and there seemed to be quite a number of people use the Drawing room / bar for mid day eating.

A very big disappointment was the Swiming Pool and Changing area. It really was "dire" To have such a wide range of gym equipment in full use, yet changing rooms with tiles falling off the walls and mildue covering the lockers, a refurbishment is urgently needed.

~We did enjoy our visit, but don't think we will be hurrying back.

Room Tip: Definitely book in the House, middle floor in winter anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucan
10.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,569 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
4.3 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
3.2 mi away
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
2.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnstown Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnstown Castle Hotel

Property: Finnstown Castle Hotel
Address: Newcastle Road, Lucan, Ireland (Formerly Finnstown Castle Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lucan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Finnstown Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Finnstown Castle Hotel in Lucan, you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere and unique charm,set away in a tranquil setting of 45 acres of stunning mature grounds. Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Lucan, this four star castle hotel in Dublin can be located in the picturesque village of Lucan just 20 minutes from Dublin City centre and Dublin International Airport. Finnstown Castle Hotel is widely regarded as one of Dublin's most quintessentially beautiful period estates & one of the finest country house hotels near Dublin, Finnstown Castle Hotel is rich in heritage & history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Superbreak UK so you can book your Finnstown Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finnstown Country Hotel
Finnstown Country Lucan
Finnstown Castle Hotel Lucan, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing