We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil Relaxing Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Tranquil Relaxing Hotel”
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here on business and what a stunning location to hold a meeting. Throughout the time I was there which included an overnight stay the customer service was outstanding. A specail mention to the lovely lady on reception called Aishling who went out of her way to help me, she is a credit to this hotel. Everything from the conference room to the bedroom I was allocated was just perfect. The hotel itself is only a few miles from Dublin City Centre but it feels like you are out in the country. It is set in its own grounds which evern had a few peacocks and other interesting birds in its grounds. The food in the restaurant is outstanding plus the staff again who give everyone a warm welcome and make you feel so comfortable. I will definitely return here at some stage for a holiday. I would recommend this hotel to anyone its just fabulous!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marian40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    292
    125
    40
    54
See reviews for
253
380
15
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We stayed at Finnstown for a full month and found it a very comfortable, pleasant and a great experience. All the staff were so very helpful, especially Freida and Sean who were there to serve breakfast with a smile and warm welcome. We felt like we were amongst family. The Irish breakfast and Peter's pancakes were the best! The grounds were beautiful and the location great for getting into Dublin or just a daily walk. We arrived at 10:00am on a Sunday and were served coffee as well as invited to the buffet breakfast which we enjoyed out in the sun on the front patio while we recuperated from a long journey. We appreciated having the gym and pool right there even though the gym equipment could be updated a bit. Any maintenance issues were addressed quickly. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the long-term suites in "The Residence" building. Quite comfortable but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California, USA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Magnificent surroundings, old Irish furniture and glamour, make this hotel truly unique. The staff is very pleasant and courteous. I arrived at 7 am in the morning and they arrange a room for me to quickly take a shower and head to the room. Full irish breakfast is a must.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My husband and I spent three nights here last week, just before Easter. We had booked a double room but the guy on reception put us in one of the suites, in an annex building. This was our first time here so we don't know what the rooms in the main building are like. However, we were really pleased with our suite: a big bedroom, spacious bathroom and comfortable sitting room with little kitchenette. The shower was great - plenty of hot water and powerful enough to rinse long hair quickly. The rooms were very clean and it was lovely and warm, as there was a chill wind outside.
Breakfast was plentiful and delicious, with lots of choice. We ate in the bar in the evenings and the food was always great.
We have two negatives. Firstly, the bed was a bit too soft for our liking. It wasn't "rolling-into-the-middle" soft but just not supportive enough to be comfortable for more than a night. By the second morning my back was a bit sore upon waking. Secondly, if you wanted wifi you had to pay for it. I really can't understand why a super hotel like this just doesn't build free wifi into the price of the room.
However, that apart, we really enjoyed our stay. It was a restful choice of hotel, instead of being in the hustle and bustle of the city centre where we have stayed before. We got the 25b bus just outside the driveway of the hotel and it took us right into O’Connell Street. Then we got the 25b back out again. (For anyone who might want to know, you need coins to pay for the bus and the bus stop to come back from the city centre is in Aston Quay.)
Without exception, all the staff we encountered were friendly and communicative. Thanks to Sean for his pleasant chat and helpful suggestions at breakfast time. We took his advice and went to the Sally Gap on the Thursday. The Wicklow mountains were at their best: it was a bright, clear, sunny day with good visibility and we have some lovely photos. And then, on our last morning, my husband had one of those ultra nostalgic “walk-down-memory-lane” moments, when he encountered a former teenage girlfriend (from 40 years ago!) working in the hotel. (She knows who she is!)
We had a lovely time here and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank giotto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Amazing hotel, amazing staff. My wife described it as something out of a magazine

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Woodseyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We have just spent 2 nights at Finnstown Country House Hotel and would like to thank all the staff for making this such an enjoyable stay, from our arrival to leaving we were made so welcome and nothing was too much trouble, our room was so comfortable and quiet, the food was fantastic,the gardens were so well kept and a pleasure to walk around, we will certainly be back in the near future to go through the experience once again, well done to you all and many thanks for looking after us so well. Martha Brown

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martha973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worcestershire
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2012

we just spent 5 nights in this lovely hotel, ( two adults, one 7yr old & 3 yrs old twins ) and found it to be as lovely to stay in as it is to view from the outside. the staff are truly very helpful and nothing is to much effort, they are a credit to the smooth running of this hotel.

The accomodation is excellent, everything clean and fresh and no problems whatsoever, the breakfast was superb ( as someone who loves his full irish in the morning i was not disappointed ) there was everything for everyone and we all left each morning very satisfied indeed.

The grounds are a joy to walk around, great care and effort is taken to maintain them to such a high standard and its a credit to all those that do so, just to sit down outside you'd be hard pressed to realise your not in the middle of the country as the peace and serenity is there for all to feel

overall a really great trip, truly enjoyed by us all and would highly recommend this cracking hotel to anyone seeking, high quality accomodation/food/ and service, a real treasure and cant wait till we make a return journey...

p.s the peacocks were a great hit with the kids, the loved seeing them.

the Mahon clan

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucan
10.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,802 reviews
4.0 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
413 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
2.0 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
647 reviews
3.5 mi away
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnstown Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnstown Castle Hotel

Property: Finnstown Castle Hotel
Address: Newcastle Road, Lucan, Ireland (Formerly Finnstown Castle Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lucan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Finnstown Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Finnstown Castle Hotel in Lucan, you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere and unique charm,set away in a tranquil setting of 45 acres of stunning mature grounds. Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Lucan, this four star castle hotel in Dublin can be located in the picturesque village of Lucan just 20 minutes from Dublin City centre and Dublin International Airport. Finnstown Castle Hotel is widely regarded as one of Dublin's most quintessentially beautiful period estates & one of the finest country house hotels near Dublin, Finnstown Castle Hotel is rich in heritage & history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Finnstown Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finnstown Country Hotel
Finnstown Country Lucan
Finnstown Castle Hotel Lucan, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing