We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made to feel like home.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Made to feel like home.”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and myself have just returned from a three day break. It is our second time in Finnstown Country House Hotel and on both occasions we could not fault it. From our initial contact via phone call and Email to meeting the staff they were fabulous. I have a mobility disability and the staff on reception made sure I was given a room next to the lift. The restaurant staff were marvellous and the Chef is worth his/her weight in gold. I have a special diet yet it did not present a problem. Both my wife and myself highly recommend the Finnstown Country House Hotel. If you want a quiet relaxing stay or a base to tour Dublin (a short 15 minute drive) then this hotel would suit your needs admirably. Comfortable room, great food, helpful staff, ease of parking, excellent value, in a lovely tranquil setting. You could not ask for more.

Room Tip: Explain your requirements to the staff on reception by phone or Email and they will endeavour to cat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    288
    123
    38
    54
See reviews for
250
377
15
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at Finnstown Country House on our way to the Dublin airport and had rather mediocre expectations since it was a 3 star rated hotel and was incredibly well priced. What we found was much more than expected from the beautiful long entrance, to the lovely outdoor seating, to a most welcoming staff at the registration desk, to the wonder large bedroom with an American king bed, wonderful bar and parlor rooms, nice pool and fitness center and than a fantastic meal in their exquisite Victorian restaurant. For those that appreciate the charm of an old mansion with true Irish spirit this hotel and restaurant is worth a stop-over.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucan, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel just for two nights. The room was huge, well decorated and the bed fit for a queen. The hotel grounds were breathtaking - a perfect place for a wedding, I ' say. The hotels restaurant had a great ambiance with old paitings on the walls, and an impeccable service. The food served was OK / the desserts were fantastic. Actually, I have never been served better than by their Polish waiter Ewa (from her name tag), who not only made me feel welcome but truly also cared about my experience. I will certainly come back, and this time with friends and family. This place offers so much history, parks, ambience and employees that take such a good care of you. One of the best places I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maija2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This an excellent hotel to stay in if you are considering a city break to Dublin. Although it is only about 30 out of the city center by bus, it is set in the most beautiful grounds and the accommodation is second to none. We ate in the hotel on one night , taking the very well priced early bird menu, and i have to say it was a first class meal served up in beautiful surroundings. There is a fitness suite and swimming pool on site and I would certainly return again. Our bedroom was in an old building across from the mail hotel , but it was one of the largest rooms i have recently stayed in, and as well as the usual tv and tea making facilities it also had a fridge. Nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petermbusby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We took our 3 children with us on this trip and on arrival 12.30pm (as we drove from belfast)we were astounded by the sheer beauty of this property.the long driveway up and the grounds were breathtaking, there were even peacocks and peahens casually walking through the gardens.greeted warmly at reception and told our room would be ready shortly even though it advertised no check in before 2pm. We were brought free tea and hot chocolate for the kids as we waited the whole of 15mins on our room.First thumbs up for us! The hotel was so grand inside and the atmosphere so warm and friendly. Our family room was in a castle style out building across from the hotel and it was great.king size bed for us and two singles and a cot for our 5month old. The gym and pool were great and clean although alot of the lockers didn't work and we got a game of tennis in aswell in their outside court. We didn't eat dinner at the hotel as we headed into Dublin for the evening just 5mins drive away but on looking at the menu it was extensive and had alot of variety for everyone. We all slept well,comfortable beds and a great powerful shower.Breakfast the next morning was delicious. Full Irish,cereals,yogurts,fruit pancakes,croissants,Danish,wheaten bread!!!we were blown away by the choices. And again the service was top class even at 8am.Overall a beautiful welcoming friendly hotel.We definitely will be returning here!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Car0lineM35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

A beautiful old stately home rather than a modern hotel facility - with quirky wee rooms and grand old dining room and stately bar area and a hidden reception way down the back!

I loved that this hotel is different than the average functional family hotel but with all the friendliness and helpfulness for families. Large roomy bedrooms, lovely garden areas, a fountain to entertain little ones and a swimming pool just big enough to not be scared and to top it all a tennis court for endless fun :)

The staff especially the irish ones are so friendly and helpful and interested in how the day went or the plans for the next and they cant do enough to get the kids what they want at dinner or breakfast.

Would HiGHLY recommend this hotel for a fun family friendly holiday - the lovely staff made it 5 star for me :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2plus8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Recently stayed at the hotel prior to returning to the UK. Found the staff to be very friendly and efficient. Stayed in one of the golf suites, which was spacious and clean. Had room service which was very tasty, best chowder I had in a long time and the burger was also very good. Would recommend. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for golf suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucan
10.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,738 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
4.0 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
3.5 mi away
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnstown Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnstown Castle Hotel

Property: Finnstown Castle Hotel
Address: Newcastle Road, Lucan, Ireland (Formerly Finnstown Castle Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lucan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Finnstown Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Finnstown Castle Hotel in Lucan, you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere and unique charm,set away in a tranquil setting of 45 acres of stunning mature grounds. Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Lucan, this four star castle hotel in Dublin can be located in the picturesque village of Lucan just 20 minutes from Dublin City centre and Dublin International Airport. Finnstown Castle Hotel is widely regarded as one of Dublin's most quintessentially beautiful period estates & one of the finest country house hotels near Dublin, Finnstown Castle Hotel is rich in heritage & history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Finnstown Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finnstown Country Hotel
Finnstown Country Lucan
Finnstown Castle Hotel Lucan, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing