We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time & romance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Certificate of Excellence
Co Cork
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Step back in time & romance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We attended a wedding over Chrismas period and it was a beautiful venue for a winter wedding.
There were huge fires lighting in various areas which added to the romance of the day. I had spyed people having the good old fashioned afternoon tea in the drawing room (the 3 tier cake holders) and was delighted when we went into our welcome reception to find afternoon tea on all the tables (the tiny crustless sandwiches, mini vol au vents, macaroons etc).
Food was excellent, as was our room. We travelled from Cork, so needed an earlyish check in - this was no problem, even considering the hangerson from the previous day's wedding, rooms were quickly turned around after their check outs.
Our receptionist told us to go through door, up steps and down steps to the basement...I though oh crap - a dark room, but it was a lovely surprise to find it was actually ground floor and behind curtain was a sun room/sitting area (too cold to uses & not enough time!)
All in all, it was a great day/night and morning, thanks to the staff at Finnstown House.
If it's a peace and quiet you're looking for - grab the chance to visit

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    283
    121
    36
    54
See reviews for
246
370
15
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I spent an evening at this hotel over the Xmas period. I have been there many times before and always enjoy it. The staff are friendly and the atmosphere is always nice and relaxing. Looking forward to my next night out there on my next visit to Dublin.

Room Tip: I didn't stay at the hotel just an evening out with friends.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 306William306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, .
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We went here for a family meal, to celebrate my Mum's 85th Birthday, a while back. There were 14 of us and we were looked after very well. The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The choice on the menu was excellent and the food was delicious. They have a beautiful dining room and it adds to the ambience. There was no rush in us finishing and when we did, we all retired to one of the reading rooms, where we had a drink and were able to while away some time, catching up with relatives. My mum enjoyed her experience so much that we have brought her back again.

I would highly recommend the hotel and it's restaurant. It has so many nooks and crannies where you can have a quiet drink and a bite to eat in the bar, if you so desire. It is a beautiful manor house with open fires and lots of atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chattysmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

A car is a must as the hotel is not really near anywhere else but the hotel takes care of all of your needs for a short trip.

I stayed in the annex where the rooms are quite modern so I cannot vouch for the rooms in the main hotel

The evening meal was very good and the full Irish breakfast even better. A great alternative is the Arbroath Smokie. Staff areattentive and friendly

Spa/ fitness centre looked good but I did not use there facilities

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlinthemage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

What a charming, friendly and atmospheric hotel. We stayed here over a weekend, when attending a friends wedding at the hotel. The whole weekend was excellent. The majority of staff were friendly and highly professional throughout our stay, nothing was too much trouble. Our rate included a full Irish breakfast each morning and accommodation in a standard room. The level of cleanliness thought the hotel was excellent, and the room was of a generous size. It is a beautiful manor house with open fires and lots of different rooms and lounges accessible to all residents. This creates a very cozy and warm atmosphere. The hotel was busy but had a nice buzz about the place. I would definitely stay here again. A great weekend :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jobeans90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

My best friend's wedding was a special occasion and Finnstown made it even better. The service was brilliant, the food was fabulous and the rooms were really comfortable. Breakfast was very tasty which was a good end to the weekend. I would definitely recommend this hot.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ciara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed here with my husband, my sister and my parents in October 2013. We had travelled from UK to all meet up. Wonderful hotel in beautiful surroundings. The staff were fantastic nothing was too much trouble. Food was good and the bedrooms were nice.

We were delighted to find a good hotel which allows dogs. Not too many of them in Ireland

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucan
10.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,664 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
4.0 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
3.5 mi away
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnstown Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnstown Castle Hotel

Property: Finnstown Castle Hotel
Address: Newcastle Road, Lucan, Ireland (Formerly Finnstown Castle Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lucan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Finnstown Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Finnstown Castle Hotel in Lucan, you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere and unique charm,set away in a tranquil setting of 45 acres of stunning mature grounds. Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Lucan, this four star castle hotel in Dublin can be located in the picturesque village of Lucan just 20 minutes from Dublin City centre and Dublin International Airport. Finnstown Castle Hotel is widely regarded as one of Dublin's most quintessentially beautiful period estates & one of the finest country house hotels near Dublin, Finnstown Castle Hotel is rich in heritage & history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Finnstown Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finnstown Country Hotel
Finnstown Country Lucan
Finnstown Castle Hotel Lucan, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing