We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Had a mid week break here with a voucher and was very impressed with the hotel. The staff on reception were excellent in their customer service. The room was a good size and very comfortable and warm. Breakfast was also good and we ate evening meals both nights in the hotel which was of a high standard. Didn't want to leave the hotel at night as it was so cosy and relaxing sitting on great comfy settees beside roaring fires. The grounds were lovely, we didnt use the pool but it looked nice, though small.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcklNorthernIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear bcklNorthernIreland,

Thank you for your review & kind words following your stay with us here at Finnstown Country House Hotel. It was a real pleasure to read.

At Finnstown Country House Hotel we do pride ourselves on Customer Care and as a Team we strive to provide the traditional Irish Hotel experience, offering each guest a warm and personal welcome.

We do believe once you’ve experienced our charm, you will never want to leave!

Thanks again for taking the time to post such a positive review & I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,
Terry O’ Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    292
    125
    40
    54
See reviews for
253
380
15
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. I had booked, (or at least thought I booked) an overnight stay for NYE 2013. However, upon arrival, I was told that unfortunately that I had made a booking for the wrong year. it was completely my fault, but the staff at the front desk even apologised for my error. After 3 minutes of thinking I had spoiled New Years for myself and my boyfriend, Ashling at the reception, was able to find another room and set us up immediately at the same rates that I booked for online. The room was beautiful, staff so welcoming and friendly, hotel cosy and comfortable and breakfast was delicious. All in all, what could have been a disaster was turned into the best NYE I had in a long time, and I have to thank Ashling for her help with that. I have recommended the hotel to everyone I know and will definitely be back in the future. Thank you so much to Ashling and all the staff for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Ciara1511,

Thank you for your fabulous review and kind words following your recent stay with us at Finnstown Country House Hotel.

I am delighted & also very proud that our team were able to assist you from the moment you arrived at the hotel.

It is a real pleasure to read that we impressed you so much & that you thought so highly of us and our service. I will certainly pass your comments on to all the team for them to enjoy, Aisling in particular.

Guest feedback is very important to the overall running of our hotel so thank you again for your most positive comments & for taking the time to post your review.

I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,
Terry O’ Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently with a group for a wedding. Hotel is amazing and food is too quality. Rooms have an old theme but are of high quality. Beds are comfortable and breakfast is a buffet

However the only down point was the hotel trying to over charge guests on check out

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Woodseyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Woodseyb,

Thank you for your review & kind words following your stay with us at Finnstown Country House Hotel.

We do appreciate such positive feedback. However, I am awfully sorry to hear that you felt the hotel was trying to overcharge guests upon check out. This is most certainly not standard practice here at Finnstown. I do trust this matter was sorted upon check out?
However, if you can advise me of the finer details, such as name & date of reservation I will look into this further and see where the error or misunderstanding was. You can contact me on 01-6010700 or terry@finnstown-hotel.ie

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel & thanks again for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.

Best,
Terry O' Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I will start with saying it is a beautiful hotel.We booked for new years eve in august for 13 people.when we got there we were told we could not book in so we had to wait two hours before they said they did not have enough rooms for us so they sent us to another hotel which we had to wait another hour and a half .So when we decided to have something to eat there was no food being served so we had KFC in our rooms.This is not what we wonted for our new years eve.This is the first time in ten years of going out on new years eve we had such a bad time and when we complained the manger vera was very nice but we were dealing with terry who could not be bothered so my uncle with picks had a very bad night and custumer care makes a hotel but one or two just dont care what they have spoiled or the way they deal with people

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us and for also corresponding with me directly.

It was regrettable that we could not accommodate your group at our beautiful hotel on December 31st . However, we did feel it was best to offer alternative accommodation to the entire family in order keep you together rather than separate you on this special night.

The outbooking of guests is most certainly not something we do by choice here at Finnstown Country House Hotel - unfortunately circumstances made this necessary on the day in question.

I was most surprised but disappointed to read about your experience in the neighboring hotel. Unfortunately I cannot control what takes place in another property. However, as discussed I am happy to learn that the management have been in touch with you to address this.

At Finnstown Country House Hotel we do pride ourselves on customer care and as a team we strive to offer each guest the traditional Irish Hotel experience offering a warm and personal welcome. I am disappointed to hear that you felt otherwise.

We do feel that we did offer the best solution and acted as best possible to accommodate your group on this particular occasion. However, should you wish to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate to contact me on 01-6010700 or via email directly on terry@finnstown-hotel.ie

Once again thank you for your feedback and subsequent time.

Warm Regards
Terry O' Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Cork
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We attended a wedding over Chrismas period and it was a beautiful venue for a winter wedding.
There were huge fires lighting in various areas which added to the romance of the day. I had spyed people having the good old fashioned afternoon tea in the drawing room (the 3 tier cake holders) and was delighted when we went into our welcome reception to find afternoon tea on all the tables (the tiny crustless sandwiches, mini vol au vents, macaroons etc).
Food was excellent, as was our room. We travelled from Cork, so needed an earlyish check in - this was no problem, even considering the hangerson from the previous day's wedding, rooms were quickly turned around after their check outs.
Our receptionist told us to go through door, up steps and down steps to the basement...I though oh crap - a dark room, but it was a lovely surprise to find it was actually ground floor and behind curtain was a sun room/sitting area (too cold to uses & not enough time!)
All in all, it was a great day/night and morning, thanks to the staff at Finnstown House.
If it's a peace and quiet you're looking for - grab the chance to visit

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I spent an evening at this hotel over the Xmas period. I have been there many times before and always enjoy it. The staff are friendly and the atmosphere is always nice and relaxing. Looking forward to my next night out there on my next visit to Dublin.

Room Tip: I didn't stay at the hotel just an evening out with friends.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 306William306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, .
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We went here for a family meal, to celebrate my Mum's 85th Birthday, a while back. There were 14 of us and we were looked after very well. The staff were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. The choice on the menu was excellent and the food was delicious. They have a beautiful dining room and it adds to the ambience. There was no rush in us finishing and when we did, we all retired to one of the reading rooms, where we had a drink and were able to while away some time, catching up with relatives. My mum enjoyed her experience so much that we have brought her back again.

I would highly recommend the hotel and it's restaurant. It has so many nooks and crannies where you can have a quiet drink and a bite to eat in the bar, if you so desire. It is a beautiful manor house with open fires and lots of atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chattysmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucan
10.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,804 reviews
4.0 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
413 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
2.0 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
647 reviews
3.5 mi away
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnstown Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnstown Castle Hotel

Property: Finnstown Castle Hotel
Address: Newcastle Road, Lucan, Ireland (Formerly Finnstown Castle Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lucan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Finnstown Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Finnstown Castle Hotel in Lucan, you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere and unique charm,set away in a tranquil setting of 45 acres of stunning mature grounds. Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Lucan, this four star castle hotel in Dublin can be located in the picturesque village of Lucan just 20 minutes from Dublin City centre and Dublin International Airport. Finnstown Castle Hotel is widely regarded as one of Dublin's most quintessentially beautiful period estates & one of the finest country house hotels near Dublin, Finnstown Castle Hotel is rich in heritage & history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Finnstown Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finnstown Country Hotel
Finnstown Country Lucan
Finnstown Castle Hotel Lucan, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing