We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girly night away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Girly night away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Absolutely great value! Me and 2 friends got this hotel on hotelsireland for €30 each for an overnight stay and breakfast and it was so worth it. The triple room was really spacious and clean (apart from a little mark or two on the wall). The grounds are very well kept and lovely for a little stroll around. The staff are really friendly, accommodating and personable and so pleasant in the breakfast area in the morning. We got lovely fresh pancakes.. after we'd pigged out on a tasty buffet.
The rooms through the walls are a little noisy but we were drunk enough not to notice too much!
Will be back in May for round 2

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emcs06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi emcs06,

I hope this mail finds you well.

Thank you for taking time out to review your recent stay with us.

It’s very refreshing to read more positive comments about the staff. They really are the heart of the operation here at the hotel and I will be sure to pass on your comments for all to enjoy.

I am delighted to hear you will be back again & look forward to seeing you in May.

Warm regards,
Terry O’ Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    282
    120
    36
    53
See reviews for
244
367
15
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Cant say Ive ever stayed here but I did try to book a room for my friends birthday which was booked in here. We don't live in the area so we needed a room.

I called up and was told there were 2 rooms still available but I needed to call back at 7.00am. I duly called back and was told there was only one room left, I said thats fine I only need one, I was asked for the name of the bride, I had already explained it was a birthday event. When I repeated that he said they had no rooms.

I can take an honest no rooms but this was neither honest or polite, so I can honestly say I will never stay here. I have favourite hotels in Dublin anyway and I will stay there. The Merrion is an outstanding hotel with marvellous staff, both polite and honest.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank labella102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear labella102,

Thank you for your mail.

I am very sorry but also surprised to learn of your experience when you attempted to make a reservation here with us at Finnstown Country House Hotel. This is most certainly not standard procedure at the hotel.

If you would be so kind as to contact me directly I can get the finer details from you, such as the date you were looking to book in for etc. I can then investigate this matter. You can contact me directly on terry@finnstown-hotel.ie

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

We do look forward to welcoming you to the hotel for your friend’s birthday event.

Regards,
Terry O’ Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed here a long time ago for a wedding, so when the opportunity came up to stay again I took it. We were organising a business event that spread meetings out over two days and involved about a dozen of us staying overnight.

The rates initially quoted were only ok, but we negotiated them down a little to a reasonable price. They were happy to negotiate, which is always welcome.

Reception is only ok; I had a couple of occasions where I required assistance and there was always a queue. The bar is very nice, and well stocked, although the tap display is enormous and actually makes drinking at the bar unpleasant. We used the restaurant for an event dinner, and everyone complimented the food, and again for breakfast, which was excellent. The rooms were very good, spacious and comfortable, although the TV channel choice was poor. The bed and bathroom were excellent. the halls and corridors, and general decor throughout, are ever-so-slightly-faded, but still very good. Paintings on the walls are often hung at odd angles, or juxtaposed bizarrely, so the overall impression is one of contained chaos. The grounds are very pleasant, better than most, with an impressive entrance and avenue that makes you feel you have actually arrived somewhere. There was a pool and gym, I didnt use either, but was told by many colleagues that while they were delighted to get the chance of a dip, the pool was too small to exercise properly.

Staff were helpful, if occasionally a little abrupt on the phone when making arrangements. Overall, I would certainly recommend Finnstown, but be prepared to negotiate on the price first.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathalr_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Cathalr_99,

Thanks for taking the time to share your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.

It is very refreshing to read your positive comments and I will be sure to pass onto them team for all to enjoy. However, I am disappointed to learn that there were some points in which you were unhappy with. I will certainly highlight these comments for the different departments to review.

You will be please to know that we do have some exciting plans for the hotel in the coming months to include an upgrade of our Leisure Centre and Swimming Pool.

I do hope we can welcome you back as a guest of Finnstown in the near future.

Warm regards,
Terry O’ Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Hotel is pricey for what it is, if you are planning on heading into Dublin then this is not the place. It's a good but out and not on the Luas (tram line). Restaurant is nothing special, bar food looked fine, possibly a better option. Breakfast was good with a proper waiter service and good choose of hot plates.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FilCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Hi FilCork,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Finnstown Country House Hotel.

I hope you weren’t disappointed with the hotel’s location. We are based in Lucan, Co Dublin so yes, we are outside of the city. However, we have access to great public transport to take you directly into Dublin city centre. We have a Dublin Bus stop right outside the entrance to the grounds of the hotel & were also within walking distance to Adamstown Train Station which takes you into the city within minutes.

We feel you get the best of both worlds here at Finnstown - being close to Dublin City we are a great base for shopping & sightseeing yet at the same time we provide a private paradise, away from the capital for some good old fashioned R&R.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Best,
Terry O’ Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Having frequented finnstown for meals and afternoon tea on many occasions it's a place I've always enjoyed to go. We recently booked in for a night B&B and whilst the stay was ok there could be some improvements.

The hotel staff are all friendly and great and obliged to any of our requests, but our main gripe was with the breakfast. We decided due to a late night that we would get it to the room, but at 8 euro extra per person we felt it was a bit steep in comparison to other hotels we have visited with not as great a selection on menu eg no fruits pastries limited cereals ect given the price . Our main gripe was that half of what we did select on the menu eg brown bread cranberry juice cereal didn't arrive and the rashers had been cremated. Having eaten so many times before in the hotel and from other reviews we just felt that our expectations were a lot higher than what we received and that there was room for improvement.

another thing to note is the hotel has a pool table and dart board in the bar. The pool table is 2 euro per game but no chalk to be found, and but upon asking the bar man had he any darts he shrugged his shoulders and said you just bring your own. For the sake of a couple of euro to buy a set of darts and leave them behind the bar would be a good investment considering we would have happily stead and played for the night.

Another pointer is that despite the hotels off the road location, we had a sense of unsecurity within the car park and grounds at night as it's quite dimly lit if at all in some areas, so perhaps it's something else that can be looked at

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Isteachsateach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Dragibus2014,

Thank you for your mail & for taking the time to review your recent experience with us at Finnstown Country House Hotel.

For best offers and specials throughout the year it’s always best to visit the hotel website.
It’s disappointing to read that you were unhappy with the standard of accommodation & I do apologise if this impacted on your stay. I will make note of the different points and pass these onto maintenance for review.

We do pride ourselves on our food offering at the hotel and believe that everything is suitably priced.

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with the hotel’s location. We are based in Lucan, Co Dublin so yes, we are outside of the city. However, we do have access to some great public transport to take you directly into Dublin City Centre to avoid taking the car. With morning traffic a commute into the city can take some time.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Thank you again for your review.

Best,
Terry O’ Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely features in the hotel. Fire in the bar gives it a cosy feeling. Good bar food but breakfast was outstanding. Used the gym, but forgot the costume to try the pool which looked very inviting. Stayed for business so the location out of the centre was not an issue.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank suzanneb933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear suzanneb933,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to hear your valued comments & will certainly pass on your kind words to the breakfast chef and his team.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Terry O' Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I booked a Christmas break for myself and my husband the weekend of the 28th December. A few hiccups concerning dining experience arose - firstly on the Saturday morning we encountered quite a cold, unapologetic waitress as I kindly brought her attention to the out of date (by a week) yoghurts being served. This situation was subsequently rectified by management as I reported this to reception. Second evening dining experience in the Peacock Restaurant - we were shown to the back room, even though a table was available in the front area (at which another couple who arrived after us were seated, despite the fact the we had reserved). This was a dimly lit, cold, un atmospheric room with an almost abandoned feel - the other tables were not set and thrown together as though this room was unused - not a pleasant experience. On Sunday morning when we brought our bags to the car before checkout we were stunned to find that the car had been broken into - the back side window was smashed. We reported this to reception (a very kind and professional girl called Karen) who called the guards. At this stage we realised from another man that his car had also been broken into. We were told that the lady who had access to the CCTV wouldn't be in until the following morning upon whose return, we were promised, we would receive a call...Never happened. We lost a day of our holidays waiting around the lobby, patching up the back window for the long drive back to Cork in the wind and rain - we couldn't do what we had planned that day as the car couldn't be left unattended. We also had to stop en route numerous times to readjust the bags/tape etc on the window. The guard was the only person who contacted us on our return. Some investment would want to be made regarding security on these premises - perhaps a 24 hour security guard, especially as there seems to be no point here having cameras. All in all, a very disappointing weekend away and a place to which we won't be returning in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaptainBlue76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear Deb B,

Thank you for your mail & for taking the time to review your recent experience with us at Finnstown Country House Hotel.

I am sorry that you did not get to enjoy the true Finnstown Dining offer at its best. We do strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and it’s disappointing that we failed to do so on this occasion. I do hope we can welcome you back to the Peacock Restaurant in the future where we can offer you a warm & personal welcome along with a wonderful dining experience.

I am shocked to learn of the incident with your car. This is most certainly not the norm here at the hotel. I am happy to advise that we have recently carried out some additional upgrades at the hotel to include increased outside lighting along with additional CCTC cameras which I trust should help eliminate such incidents from occurring in the future.

If you wish to pass over your details I would be most happy to contact you directly to discuss further.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Finnstown as our guest to redeem your faith in our hotel and experience the finest from the Finnstown family.

Warm regards,
Terry O’ Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucan
10.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,649 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
4.0 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
3.5 mi away
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnstown Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnstown Castle Hotel

Property: Finnstown Castle Hotel
Address: Newcastle Road, Lucan, Ireland (Formerly Finnstown Castle Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lucan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Finnstown Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Finnstown Castle Hotel in Lucan, you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere and unique charm,set away in a tranquil setting of 45 acres of stunning mature grounds. Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Lucan, this four star castle hotel in Dublin can be located in the picturesque village of Lucan just 20 minutes from Dublin City centre and Dublin International Airport. Finnstown Castle Hotel is widely regarded as one of Dublin's most quintessentially beautiful period estates & one of the finest country house hotels near Dublin, Finnstown Castle Hotel is rich in heritage & history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Finnstown Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finnstown Country Hotel
Finnstown Country Lucan
Finnstown Castle Hotel Lucan, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing