We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel close to Dublin city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here this weekend booked with a grabone deal.
Fantastic value for money.
The Hotel is set in peaceful and relaxing grounds .
The rooms are spacious and comfortable.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The food in the bar was outstanding.
This Hotel is a hidden gem on the outskirts of Dublin.
You can catch a bus into Dublin at the bottom of the drive.
Really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumer1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear sumer1967,

Thank you so much for your very complimentary review of our hotel, it is very much appreciated.

We welcome all feedback and to see you describe the hotel as a ‘hidden gem’ is just wonderful.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience here with us at Finnstown & we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best,
Terry O’ Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

672 - 678 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed for three nights at this gracious and charming hotel. Beautiful grounds and gardens surround an older, but well-maintained property. I had a nice large room with a new looking Euro-style bathroom. Nice selection of toiletries; adequate linens. Best feature of the room was a 6-by-10 greenhouse that looked out on a walled garden. Great place for morning coffee, but bring your own robe; they don't supply them. The included breakfast was okay, but bar food in both of their pubs was a cut above. All around, very good service, too.
The hotel is about a 25-30 minute bus ride from central Dublin; the 25B bus stops right at the end of the driveway.

Room Tip: Rooms 21,23,25,27 have the greenhouse. Worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saintlouisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear saintlousian,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us, it is very much so appreciated.

We hope you will return again soon to Finnstown Country House Hotel.

Warm regards
Terry O’ Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 day stay in finnstown country house. All the staff are so friendly and pleasant starting with reception through to bar staff and restaurant. Bedrooms are clean, large and well furnished. Plenty of sitting areas ie bars, drawing room, library etc. We loved the thousands of photos and pictures and bits and pieces of furniture on every wall and in every corner. The outside has some work happening at the moment in the gardens but the rest was lively to walk round. And the drive is so impressive. There is a smallish pool and well equipped gym although we did not use it this time.All the food we had there was absolutely delicious.
We did go there witha voucher but would definitely go back.
It is also close enough to get into Dublin for those shoppers. We did like Lucan village although we did not spend very long in it.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Linda S,

Thank you for your great review following your stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you had such a good experience with us and how you enjoyed your stay at Finnstown. This is what exactly what we strive to achieve for all our guests so it’s wonderful to get such lovely feedback.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review & we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Terry O’ Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed here two nights for a friends wedding, the staff couldnt be more welcoming and friendly, lovely bar area with huge comfy seats and an open fire. I am a coeliac and had no problems ordering food, I got the beef and the chef made me a gluten free gravy, was beautiful. Room was huge, beds very cosy and room was lovely and warm, huge ensuite, hair dryer in room, tea/coffee facilities and a wee fridge which was very handy. Breakfast was great, everything you would need and staff went out of their way to help with gluten free toast and I even got gluten free pancakes one morning! Couldnt fault our stay at all, well done finnstown hotel.

Room Tip: No one in the wedding party had any complaints, lovely rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlesthobo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us here at Finnstown Country House Hotel.

I look forward to sharing your kind words with the entire team here who will join me in thanking you.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable stay.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Warm regards,
Terry O’ Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed here for an over night stay. Check in was fast and efficient and my room was ready. There was a big log fire in the enterence and it made the hotel very friendly. Room was big with a good size bed .Bathroom and shower are was small however it was clean Tea and coffee was available in the room as was a good size TV . Decided to have a meal from the bar food menu. I thought the main course selection was poor so I decided on the chef special of turkey and ham. Service was quick however the meal was not very well presented and was not value for money. The bar are is of old world style but was comfortable to have a drink . Breakfast was buffet style and there was a very good selection of hot food and cereal. The staff were very helpful when having breakfast even though they were busy.
Good things about this hotel includes free wifi in all areas ,and a free newspaper in the morning.
Improvements need around the presentation and value of the bar menu.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Berlitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Berlitz,

Thank you for taking the time to post your honest review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us at Finnstown.

I was very happy to read of your overall experience with us here at the hotel. I am glad to see that our open fire works well and does add to the warm welcome you receive upon arrival to the hotel. However, I will certainly pass on your comments regarding the Bar Menu and presentation to the kitchen for review.

I do hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Best,
Terry O’ Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We booked a family room on otel.com for 1 night at around 90€ breakfast included and the first disappointment was to find out the hotel site is offering 2 nights family room with breakfast at 99€!
the reception staff was friendly and told us our room was across the garden in a separate building. The room itself is spacious but dated and tired, bathroom is a bit substandard for a 3 stars hotel i.e. discolouration on bath joints, flickering light and toilets flush ready to collapse! Back to the bedroom the wallpaper was scratched at some places and some of the furniture stained.The TV channels are lacking children channels as my daughter of 3 find out she could only watch CBBC...We liked the kettle + tea + coffee but 3 biscuits is a bit cheap and its lacking the feeling we were taken care of. The beds are average quality and we slept quite good, don't forget to look for extra pillows as I found one only was not comfy
About the food, we had bar food on our arrival , the service was good the food too but nothing outstanding ,the menu is overpriced for what it is i.e. 4€ for a small bowl of onion rings, a total bill of 50€ for 2 adults and one child,main course only...
The breakfast in the morning was OK but again nothing outstanding with a few let-downs like over salty rashers or over cooked croissants
Overall the experience was fine, room for improvement, not value for money , situation of the hotel not great (i had to drive to Dublin city centre for 9:30 and it took me almost 1h!)
We will probably choose another hotel for a next stay

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dragibus2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Absolutely great value! Me and 2 friends got this hotel on hotelsireland for €30 each for an overnight stay and breakfast and it was so worth it. The triple room was really spacious and clean (apart from a little mark or two on the wall). The grounds are very well kept and lovely for a little stroll around. The staff are really friendly, accommodating and personable and so pleasant in the breakfast area in the morning. We got lovely fresh pancakes.. after we'd pigged out on a tasty buffet.
The rooms through the walls are a little noisy but we were drunk enough not to notice too much!
Will be back in May for round 2

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emcs06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Hi emcs06,

I hope this mail finds you well.

Thank you for taking time out to review your recent stay with us.

It’s very refreshing to read more positive comments about the staff. They really are the heart of the operation here at the hotel and I will be sure to pass on your comments for all to enjoy.

I am delighted to hear you will be back again & look forward to seeing you in May.

Warm regards,
Terry O’ Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucan
1.1 mi away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
339 reviews
10.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,105 reviews
4.0 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Castleknock Hotel
Castleknock Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castleknock
1,405 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
2.0 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnstown Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnstown Castle Hotel

Address: Newcastle Road, Lucan, Ireland (Formerly Finnstown Castle Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lucan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Price Range: £72 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Finnstown Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Finnstown Castle Hotel in Lucan, you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere and unique charm,set away in a tranquil setting of 45 acres of stunning mature grounds. Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Lucan, this four star castle hotel in Dublin can be located in the picturesque village of Lucan just 20 minutes from Dublin City centre and Dublin International Airport. Finnstown Castle Hotel is widely regarded as one of Dublin's most quintessentially beautiful period estates & one of the finest country house hotels near Dublin, Finnstown Castle Hotel is rich in heritage & history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Finnstown Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finnstown Country Hotel
Finnstown Country Lucan
Finnstown Castle Hotel Lucan, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing