We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Felt like Royalty driving through the gates, made to feel most welcome and enjoyed every moment of our stay. 8 friends together and we all had a great time, ate in hotel both nights and food superb. Room in Annex was massive and very comfortable, location wonderful for local area and easy access to Dublin, will definitely be back at Finnstown!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilipWright777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

PhilipWright777, What a wonderful review.

Thank you kindly from all the team for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you all back to Finnstown in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Terry O’ Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,004)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 1,004 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

What a surprise weekend I've just spend . Literally my family had bookedy husband in for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary.

From the moment we arrived we were made feel so special and all our needs catered for big and small .

Our meal was so tasty and the portions left me full to the brim!!

After a restful night we walked through the grounds after breakfast and could not believe we were actually so close to Dublin City.

Let's hope our family will remember all our special occasions .

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MaursLaoisIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear MaursLaoisIreland,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your surprise weekend with us at Finnstown and thank you for posting your review.

It’s lovely to read that we made you made you feel so special.

It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at Finnstown and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm regards,
Terry O’ Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Party of 4 arrived draging our bags into the reception area only to be told that the accomodations were accross the parking lot from where we had just come. The receptionist told us to walk back and find our rooms. We had no idea where the entrance way was located and when we got there we found 1 room on the first floor and the other on the second floor. There was not elevator and were forced to lug the baggage upstairs. The room was clean but very dated and the shower hardly worked and in fact would not shut off in the morning. When I called the front desk about I was told that no one would be available to take care of it until later in the morning. The shower ran all night.
The hallway in the upstairs had a pull down attic with a ladder coming down in the middle of the hall where it stayed all night and into the morning that you had to move around when walking to and from your room. The guest service book you have needs to be updated, as many of the services they offer are no longer being offered or have been discontinued. They offer a take away breakfast for those who check out early and we found that they no longer do that when we checked out the night before for our early morning flight.
The picture you see in their add is the Country House, and not in anyway the look of the dorm you will be staying.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tommy45467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here this weekend booked with a grabone deal.
Fantastic value for money.
The Hotel is set in peaceful and relaxing grounds .
The rooms are spacious and comfortable.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The food in the bar was outstanding.
This Hotel is a hidden gem on the outskirts of Dublin.
You can catch a bus into Dublin at the bottom of the drive.
Really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumer1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear sumer1967,

Thank you so much for your very complimentary review of our hotel, it is very much appreciated.

We welcome all feedback and to see you describe the hotel as a ‘hidden gem’ is just wonderful.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience here with us at Finnstown & we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best,
Terry O’ Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed for three nights at this gracious and charming hotel. Beautiful grounds and gardens surround an older, but well-maintained property. I had a nice large room with a new looking Euro-style bathroom. Nice selection of toiletries; adequate linens. Best feature of the room was a 6-by-10 greenhouse that looked out on a walled garden. Great place for morning coffee, but bring your own robe; they don't supply them. The included breakfast was okay, but bar food in both of their pubs was a cut above. All around, very good service, too.
The hotel is about a 25-30 minute bus ride from central Dublin; the 25B bus stops right at the end of the driveway.

Room Tip: Rooms 21,23,25,27 have the greenhouse. Worth asking for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saintlouisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Dear saintlousian,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us, it is very much so appreciated.

We hope you will return again soon to Finnstown Country House Hotel.

Warm regards
Terry O’ Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 day stay in finnstown country house. All the staff are so friendly and pleasant starting with reception through to bar staff and restaurant. Bedrooms are clean, large and well furnished. Plenty of sitting areas ie bars, drawing room, library etc. We loved the thousands of photos and pictures and bits and pieces of furniture on every wall and in every corner. The outside has some work happening at the moment in the gardens but the rest was lively to walk round. And the drive is so impressive. There is a smallish pool and well equipped gym although we did not use it this time.All the food we had there was absolutely delicious.
We did go there witha voucher but would definitely go back.
It is also close enough to get into Dublin for those shoppers. We did like Lucan village although we did not spend very long in it.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Linda S,

Thank you for your great review following your stay with us.

I am delighted to read that you had such a good experience with us and how you enjoyed your stay at Finnstown. This is what exactly what we strive to achieve for all our guests so it’s wonderful to get such lovely feedback.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review & we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Warm regards,
Terry O’ Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed here two nights for a friends wedding, the staff couldnt be more welcoming and friendly, lovely bar area with huge comfy seats and an open fire. I am a coeliac and had no problems ordering food, I got the beef and the chef made me a gluten free gravy, was beautiful. Room was huge, beds very cosy and room was lovely and warm, huge ensuite, hair dryer in room, tea/coffee facilities and a wee fridge which was very handy. Breakfast was great, everything you would need and staff went out of their way to help with gluten free toast and I even got gluten free pancakes one morning! Couldnt fault our stay at all, well done finnstown hotel.

Room Tip: No one in the wedding party had any complaints, lovely rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlesthobo1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the lovely review and for taking the time to tell us of your experience with us here at Finnstown Country House Hotel.

I look forward to sharing your kind words with the entire team here who will join me in thanking you.

I hope it is not too long before we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel for another memorable stay.

Thank you again for your kind words.

Warm regards,
Terry O’ Brien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucan
1.1 mi away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
339 reviews
10.7 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,104 reviews
4.0 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Castleknock Hotel
Castleknock Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castleknock
1,405 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
2.0 mi away
The Court Yard Hotel
The Court Yard Hotel
#1 of 4 in Leixlip
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnstown Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnstown Castle Hotel

Address: Newcastle Road, Lucan, Ireland (Formerly Finnstown Castle Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lucan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Price Range: £73 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Finnstown Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Finnstown Castle Hotel in Lucan, you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere and unique charm,set away in a tranquil setting of 45 acres of stunning mature grounds. Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Lucan, this four star castle hotel in Dublin can be located in the picturesque village of Lucan just 20 minutes from Dublin City centre and Dublin International Airport. Finnstown Castle Hotel is widely regarded as one of Dublin's most quintessentially beautiful period estates & one of the finest country house hotels near Dublin, Finnstown Castle Hotel is rich in heritage & history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Finnstown Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finnstown Country Hotel
Finnstown Country Lucan
Finnstown Castle Hotel Lucan, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing