We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

If you like a bit of character and not a chain hotel stay here.

Rooms are a bit dated and worn but have character.

Bar area is lovely and the food is good too, tried the restaurant but food tasted warmed up and was more expensive than the cooked to order bar food.

This was my third stay here and I'd told my Dad about the ice cooked to order breakfast only to find they have no swapped to buffet style. Although I was told only on our 2nd morning that I could get porridge or poached egg to order.

They have moved reception near the front which is more convenient but less opulent an area and not as nice a first impression.

Would go back as I'm not a fan of chain hotels as I travel a lot and like to have variety.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanneb933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hi Suzanneb933,

It was great to welcome you back to the hotel again & I am very happy to see that you had another enjoyable stay with us.

I do hope to see you back again at Finnstown in the not too distant future.

Warn regards,
Terry O’ Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    283
    121
    36
    54
See reviews for
246
370
15
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sint Anthonis, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
183 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Only about 30 minutes by car from the airport. Good food. Rooms quite modern. Rest of setting a little dated. Suitable venue for meetings - reasonable service as part of day rate. Fitness centre and pool.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheFrankens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanks for posting your review and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Best,
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

I enjoyed two evenings in the main building at the Finnstown Country House Hotel recently. The room was large, nicely appointed, immaculate and offered all the needed amenities. The lobby and lounges were lovely. Great service overall but for breakfast. The offerings were good and ample but each morning I arrived fifteen minutes or more after the noted opening hour for breakfast, to find that hot items were not yet available. I did enjoy a catered meal during my stay, which was excellent! The only misstep was the breakfast delay. For my stay in the main building and the helpful, personable staff, I give it high marks!

Room Tip: I highly recommend booking rooms in the main building, where the lounges and restaurants are located...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEFoodLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear DEFoodLover,

It gives me great pleasure to read such lovely review & it's always nice to see that our efforts don't go unnoticed.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and hopefully we can welcome you back to Finnstown upon your return to Dublin.

Warm regards,
Terry O’ Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Felt like Royalty driving through the gates, made to feel most welcome and enjoyed every moment of our stay. 8 friends together and we all had a great time, ate in hotel both nights and food superb. Room in Annex was massive and very comfortable, location wonderful for local area and easy access to Dublin, will definitely be back at Finnstown!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipWright777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
PhilipWright777, What a wonderful review.

Thank you kindly from all the team for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We look forward to welcoming you all back to Finnstown in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,
Terry O’ Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laois Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

What a surprise weekend I've just spend . Literally my family had bookedy husband in for the weekend to celebrate our anniversary.

From the moment we arrived we were made feel so special and all our needs catered for big and small .

Our meal was so tasty and the portions left me full to the brim!!

After a restful night we walked through the grounds after breakfast and could not believe we were actually so close to Dublin City.

Let's hope our family will remember all our special occasions .

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MaursLaoisIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear MaursLaoisIreland,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your surprise weekend with us at Finnstown and thank you for posting your review.

It’s lovely to read that we made you made you feel so special.

It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at Finnstown and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Warm regards,
Terry O’ Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

Party of 4 arrived draging our bags into the reception area only to be told that the accomodations were accross the parking lot from where we had just come. The receptionist told us to walk back and find our rooms. We had no idea where the entrance way was located and when we got there we found 1 room on the first floor and the other on the second floor. There was not elevator and were forced to lug the baggage upstairs. The room was clean but very dated and the shower hardly worked and in fact would not shut off in the morning. When I called the front desk about I was told that no one would be available to take care of it until later in the morning. The shower ran all night.
The hallway in the upstairs had a pull down attic with a ladder coming down in the middle of the hall where it stayed all night and into the morning that you had to move around when walking to and from your room. The guest service book you have needs to be updated, as many of the services they offer are no longer being offered or have been discontinued. They offer a take away breakfast for those who check out early and we found that they no longer do that when we checked out the night before for our early morning flight.
The picture you see in their add is the Country House, and not in anyway the look of the dorm you will be staying.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tommy45467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here this weekend booked with a grabone deal.
Fantastic value for money.
The Hotel is set in peaceful and relaxing grounds .
The rooms are spacious and comfortable.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
The food in the bar was outstanding.
This Hotel is a hidden gem on the outskirts of Dublin.
You can catch a bus into Dublin at the bottom of the drive.
Really enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sumer1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear sumer1967,

Thank you so much for your very complimentary review of our hotel, it is very much appreciated.

We welcome all feedback and to see you describe the hotel as a ‘hidden gem’ is just wonderful.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience here with us at Finnstown & we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best,
Terry O’ Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucan
10.6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,664 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
4.0 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
3.5 mi away
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
2.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnstown Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnstown Castle Hotel

Property: Finnstown Castle Hotel
Address: Newcastle Road, Lucan, Ireland (Formerly Finnstown Castle Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lucan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Finnstown Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Finnstown Castle Hotel in Lucan, you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere and unique charm,set away in a tranquil setting of 45 acres of stunning mature grounds. Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Lucan, this four star castle hotel in Dublin can be located in the picturesque village of Lucan just 20 minutes from Dublin City centre and Dublin International Airport. Finnstown Castle Hotel is widely regarded as one of Dublin's most quintessentially beautiful period estates & one of the finest country house hotels near Dublin, Finnstown Castle Hotel is rich in heritage & history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Finnstown Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finnstown Country Hotel
Finnstown Country Lucan
Finnstown Castle Hotel Lucan, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing