We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not all what its made out to be!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Finnstown Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Finnstown Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not all what its made out to be!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at finnstown house for a wedding. We had stayed the night before the wedding and were due to stay the night of it which didnt happen due to the hotel being evacuated due to a bomb scare!!

On our first night we checked in and we were told our room was outside of the main building which was no issue at first untill we went to the room!! The room was a good size but the bathroom was a complete joke.The shower wheel to turn on the shower was practically impossible to turn on and twice as hard to turn off. There was mildew all over the seals of the bath tub and tiles. The room itself was full of dust on frames and the curtains were barely hanging on which may i add didnt close fully!

The food in the bar,restaurant and wedding was superb, compliments to the chefs as it was one of the only upsides of our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpfull but seemed as if they were under a lot of pressure, they were great workers and nothing was a problem for them. Under staffed is the word I would use. There was a very poor management pressence throughout our stay which tells its own story.

On the night of the wedding the entire party and hotel were evacuted to a local pub where we had to make our own transport or walk down the avenue. This in its own right was not acceptable or a good impression on the hotel! I have read articles in papers and on the internet but yet to hear any apology to guests or people who attended the wedding from management!!

I sure will not be returning here in a hurry and would not reccommend it to anyone.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank jenny794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Director of Sales at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Jenny794,

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to review your recent experience with us. It is only from the feedback of our guests that we may strive to constantly improve our levels of customer satisfaction.

On behalf of the hotel may I offer our sincere apologies your experience did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. We would be most grateful if you could email your details to sales@finnstown-hotel.ie to allow our senior management investigate this fully and contact you.

Please rest assure that your feedback has been forwarded to the relevant departments to ensure this is improved upon.

We look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards,

Tristan Jacob
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    281
    120
    36
    52
See reviews for
240
366
15
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Went to my cousins wedding a few weeks ago and the reception was in the Finnstown house. We didn't stay over as we live quite close by. My parents did and i don't think they were wowed.

When we all arrived they checked in the wedding party all arrived at a similar time so busy enough in reception. we went with them to their room. to get to the room you have to leave the main building. and enter another building. part of this building looks like its under construction. no apologies for the appearance or even some cleaning up of the hallways. in the room it was a nice big suite. bedroom bathroom and living room. all very nice.

the pre dinner reception was in a perfectly sized room for the number of quests. right beside the dining room. they had a prosecco reception but there wasn't sufficient glasses for the number of guests. which was odd seems they've known the requirements for quite some time.
Dinner was very good. Lots of food all very tasty. more food arrived later on for guests who couldn't make the full day.

the best part was after dinner we were all asked to go outside to the courtyard for a group photo and the hotel had arranged a firework display ( the couple didnt seem to know anything about this before hand ) it was a very good display not just a few rockets.

all in all a very nice place to go but hopefully the building work will be all complete before we go back

Room Tip: Main Building not in the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

It is a hotel, accessible from Dublin city center, the service is excellent, the Employees lovley.
Unfortunately my bathroom was not in good condition.
In our bathroom shower knob was not working well, we said it three times in reception and ignored.
We asked to change room and would not let us, it's a shame

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fjguer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Well I stayed there for two nights for a family wedding and I had the best experience from the moment I checked in the staff were excellent, the bar staff mel&dave were excellent food amazing I would highly recommend this place to anyone 5 star

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank M4dh4tter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel & for your very kind words. I will be sure to pass on your comments for all the team to enjoy, especially Mel & Dave.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Warm regards,
Terry O' Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights here on a business trip. Original building is traditional with classy features. Room was in annexe across car park and was large but a bit worn. Bar meal on first night was good but meal in restaurant on second night was excellent accompanied by a good wine. Found staff friendly and helpful. Unfortunately didn't have time to try out the gym facilities.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DS52000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear DS52000,

I'm very happy to see you enjoyed your 2 nights with us & I'll make sure to pass your compliments to our Restaurant Chef.

I hope to welcome you back soon where you can take time to try out the gym & the rest of our facilities.

Kind Regards,
Terry O’ Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed at finnstown in March we went for a party and stayed in the old part of the hotel while our room was basic it was very clean and comfortable the food was excellent the staff are very helpful yes I would recommend this hotel very reasonable priced

Room Tip: Try for a room in the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Hi Katherine L,

Thank you for taking time to post such a lovely review.

I hope to see you here again at Finnstown soon.

Warm regards,
Terry O’ Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

when we arrived at the hotel it looked so lovely .i was so looking for ward to staying there only to find out not so . has our room was in a out side building near it wen we got to it only to find lots of building work going on it was like a bomb site.lots of dust every were on the stairs that we had to use every day.black bin bags put up that didnt do there job trying to keep the dust down.not good for my partner she is very asthmatic .we werent told of this either by email or wen we a rived . we at to point this out to them at the desk .only to be told we could have a smaller room which we did not want.we should of never been put there in the first place i didnt pay a lot of money to stay on a building site. why couldnt they have been more honest it spolit our holiday wont stay there a gain

Room Tip: room would of been lovely and quieter if not for the building work going on got woke up at 8 every m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarymunslow987chels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FinnstownHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Finnstown Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and advising us on the details of your recent stay with us. We do appreciate all guest reviews and feedback.

I am awfully sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Finnstown Country House Hotel.

We are currently in the final phase of renovating some of our bedrooms. I do apologise that you were not advised of this upon check in & that these works impacted on your stay.

If you could contact me directly at the hotel we could discuss further. I would be delighted to have the opportunity for you to return to the hotel & experience the final results of our works here at Finnstown, which I do believe you will be extremely satisfied with.

Kind regards,
Terry O’ Brien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lucan
10.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,583 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lucan Spa Hotel
Lucan Spa Hotel
#2 of 2 in Lucan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
4.3 mi away
Celbridge Manor Hotel
Celbridge Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Celbridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Dublin - Blanchardstown
2.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Liffey Valley
3.2 mi away
Castleknock Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finnstown Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finnstown Castle Hotel

Property: Finnstown Castle Hotel
Address: Newcastle Road, Lucan, Ireland (Formerly Finnstown Castle Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Lucan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lucan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Finnstown Castle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Finnstown Castle Hotel in Lucan, you will enjoy a relaxed atmosphere and unique charm,set away in a tranquil setting of 45 acres of stunning mature grounds. Regarded as one of the finest hotels in Lucan, this four star castle hotel in Dublin can be located in the picturesque village of Lucan just 20 minutes from Dublin City centre and Dublin International Airport. Finnstown Castle Hotel is widely regarded as one of Dublin's most quintessentially beautiful period estates & one of the finest country house hotels near Dublin, Finnstown Castle Hotel is rich in heritage & history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Finnstown Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Finnstown Country Hotel
Finnstown Country Lucan
Finnstown Castle Hotel Lucan, Ireland - County Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing